Globular Cluster Messier 19

History

The globular cluster Messier 19 was added to his list of «diffuse stars» by Charles Messier in June 1764, four days after the discovery of M 14. In 1784 Sir William Herschell was probably the first, who was able to resolve Messier's diffuse star with his large reflecting telescope into single stars and who recognized the true nature of M 19.

Physical Properties

The vicinity of M 19 as seen by us is very rich in stars and appears peppered with countless small stars in our Milky Way. The globular cluster is located near the central bulge of our galaxy. The distance from the galactic center is estimated to be around 3000 light years. The cluster appears to be a little further away than M 10 or M 12. The light is also weakened by interstellar dark dust, which makes exact distance measurements difficult. Published distances vary from 20'000 to 30'000 light years. M 19 moves away from the solar system at a radial speed of about 100 km/s.

M 19 belongs to the flattened globular clusters. It shows an elliptical outline. H. Shapley estimated that there are about twice as many stars along the long axis as there are along the short axis. The integrated spectral type is indicated with F5. [4]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 6273
TypeGCL (VIII)
Right Ascension17h 02m 37.7s
Declination-26° 16' 03"
Diameter17 arcmin
Visual magnitude6.8 mag
Metric Distance8.800 kpc
Dreyer Descriptionglobular, vB, L, R, vCM, rrr, st 16
Identification, RemarksM 19, GCL 52, ESO 518-SC7

Finder Chart

The globular cluster Messier 19 is located in the constellation Serpent Bearer (Ophiuchus) and is best observed in the months May to July.

Chart Globular Cluster Messier 19
Globular Cluster Messier 19 in constellation Ophiuchus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 19

Geschichte

Der Kugelsternhaufen Messier 19 wurde im Juni 1764, vier Tage nach der Entdeckung von M 14, von Charles Messier in seine Liste «diffuser Gestirne» aufgenommen. Sir Wilhelm Herschell war vermutlich der erste, der im Jahre 1784 Messiers diffuses Gestirn mit seinem großen Spiegelteleskop in Einzelsterne aufzulösen vermochte und die wahre Natur von M 19 erkannte.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Die von uns aus gesehene nahe Umgebung von M 19 ist sehr reich an Sternen und erscheint wie gepfeffert mit unzähligen klein erscheinenden Sternen unserer Milchstraße. Der Kugelsternhaufen liegt nahe der zentralen Ausbuchtung unserer Galaxis. Die Entfernung vom galaktischen Zentrum wird auf etwa 3000 Lichtjahre geschätzt. Der Haufen scheint etwas weiter entfernt als M 10 oder M 12 zu liegen. Das Licht wird ebenfalls von dazwischenliegender interstellarer dunklem Staub geschwächt, wodurch sich exakte Entfernungsbestimmungen schwierig gestalten. Veröffentliche Entfernungen variieren von 20'000 bis 30'000 Lichtjahren. M 19 bewegt sich mit einer Radialgeschwindigkeit von etwa 100 km/s vom Sonnensystem weg.

M 19 gehört zu den abgeplatteten Kugelsternhaufen. Er zeigt einen elliptischen Umriss. H. Shapley schätzte, dass entlang der langen Achse etwa doppelt soviele Sterne wie entlang der kurzen Achse liegen. Der integrierte Spektraltyp wird mit F5 angegeben. [4]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 6273
TypGCL (VIII)
Rektaszension17h 02m 37.7s
Deklination-26° 16' 03"
Durchmesser17 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit6.8 mag
Metrische Entfernung8.800 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibungglobular, vB, L, R, vCM, rrr, st 16
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 19, GCL 52, ESO 518-SC7

Auffindkarte für Messier 19

Der Kugelsternhaufen Messier 19 befindet sich im Sternbild Schlangenträger (Ophiuchus) und kann in den Monaten Mai bis Juli am besten beobachtet werden.

Karte Kugelsternhaufen Messier 19
Kugelsternhaufen Messier 19 im Sternbild Ophiuchus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)