Globular Cluster Messier 62

Messier 62
Messier 62: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160]

History

The globular cluster Messier 62 is one of the discoveries that can be ascribed to Charles Messier. He stated 4 June 1779 as the date of discovery and wrote: «Very beautiful nebula, discovered in Scorpio, it resembles a small comet, the center is brilliant and is surrounded by a weak light. Position determined in relation to the star τ in Scorpion. M. Messier had already seen the nebula on 7 June 1771, without having precisely determined its location. Checked on 22 March 1781.» [281]

Wilhelm Herschel recognized a star cluster for the first time in M ​​62 and saw in it a miniature version of the globular star cluster Messier 3 in Canes Venatici.

Physical Properties

The globular cluster lies in the direction of a star-rich area of ​​the Milky Way, so that the vicinity of the cluster is speckled with small stars. It appears that N 62 actually lies in the star-rich central region of the galaxy. The loss of light by absorption in the area is estimated to be 2.4 magnitudes.

M 62 is one of the most asymmetrical globular clusters. The non-spherical shape was probably first noticed by John Herschel in 1847. The scattering of faint stars is greater on the north side of the globular cluster than on the south side. It is also possible that only the darkening of the south side by foreground matter is greater. M 62 seems to be the most comet-like of the objects recorded by Messier.

By 1973, 89 variables were counted in the globular cluster. There is also an asymmetry in their distribution: the number is greater in the northern part. Almost all variables are short-period of the RR Lyrae type. The distance of 26'000 light years derived from this is still considered uncertain, as measurement errors due to the darkening are unavoidable. The cluster shows a radial velocity of 74 km/s. [4]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 6266
TypeGCL (IV)
Right Ascension17h 01m 12.6s
Declination-30° 06' 42"
Diameter15 arcmin
Visual magnitude6.4 mag
Metric Distance6.800 kpc
Dreyer Description! globular, vB, L, gmbM, rrr, st 14…16
Identification, RemarksM 62, GCL 51, ESO 453-SC14

Finder Chart for Messier 62

The globular cluster M 62 is located in the constellation Ophiuchus (Serpent Bearer), roughly between the stars θ Ophiuchi and ε Scorpii, about a third closer to ε Scorpii. In the months of May to July it is favorable for observation.

Chart Globular Cluster Messier 62
Globular Cluster Messier 62 in constellation Ophiuchus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 62

Messier 62
Messier 62: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160]

Geschichte

Der Kugelsternhaufen Messier 62 gehört zu den Entdeckungen, die Charles Messier zuzuschreiben sind. Er gab als Entdeckungsdatum den 4. Juni 1779 an und schrieb dazu: «Sehr schöner Nebel, entdeckt im Skorpion, er gleicht einem kleinen Kometen, das Zentrum ist brilliant und ist von einem schwachen Licht umgeben. Position bestimt im Vergleich zum Stern τ im Scorpion. M. Messier hatte den Nebel bereits am 7. Juni 1771 gesehen, ohne dessen Ort genau bestimmt zu haben. Überprüft am 22. März 1781.» [281]

Wilhelm Herschel erkannte in M 62 erstmalig einen Sternhaufen und sah darin eine Miniaturausgabe des Kugelsternhaufens Messier 3 in Canes Venatici.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Kugelsternhaufen liegt in Richtung einer sternenreichen Gebietes der Milchstraße, so dass die nähere Umgebung des Haufens gesprenkelt mit kleinen Sternchn ist. Allem Anschein nach liegt N 62 tatsächlich in der sternenreichen Zentralregion der Galaxis. Der Lichtverlust durch Absorption in der Gegend wird auf 2.4 Magnituden geschätzt.

M 62 gehört zu den unsymmetrischsten Kugelsternhaufen. Die nicht-sphärische Form wurde vermutlich als erster von John Herschel im Jahre 1847 bemerkt. Die Zerstreuung von schwachen Sternen ist auf der Nordseite des Kugelsternhaufens größer als auf der Südseite. Möglicherweise ist auch nur die Verdunkelung der Südseite durch Vordergrundmaterie größer. M 62 scheint das kometenähnlichste der von Messier verzeichneten Objekte.

Bis 1973 wurden 89 Variable in dem Kugelsternhaufen gezählt. Auch bei deren Verteilung liegt eine Unsymmetrie vor: im nördlichen Teil ist die Zahl größer. Bei fast allen Variablen handelt es sich um kurzperiodische des RR Lyrae Typs. Die daraus abgeleitete Distanz von 26'000 Lichtjahren gilt noch als unsicher, da Messfehler aufgrund der Verdunklung unvermeidbar sind. Der Haufen zeigt eine Radialgeschwindigkeit von 74 km/s. [4]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 6266
TypGCL (IV)
Rektaszension17h 01m 12.6s
Deklination-30° 06' 42"
Durchmesser15 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit6.4 mag
Metrische Entfernung6.800 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung! globular, vB, L, gmbM, rrr, st 14…16
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 62, GCL 51, ESO 453-SC14

Auffindkarte für Messier 62

Der Kugelsternhaufen M 62 befindet sich im Sternbild Ophiuchus (Schlangenträger), etwa zwischen den Sternen θ Ophiuchi und ε Scorpii, etwa ein Drittel näher bei ε Scorpii. In den Monaten Mai bis Juli steht er günstig für die Beobachtung.

Karte Kugelsternhaufen Messier 62
Kugelsternhaufen Messier 62 im Sternbild Ophiuchus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)