Dew Nebula (NGC 1514)

History

The object was discovered by William Herschel on 13 November 1790 and cataloged as IV 69. It marked a turning point in his astronomical thinking, because until then astronomers believed that all nebulae were composed of faint single stars that could not be resolved with the devices of the time. Herschel described NGC 1514 as follows: «A most singular phenomenon; A star 8m with a faint luminous atmosphere of a circular form, about 3' in diameter. The star is perfectly in the centre, and the atmosphere is so diluted, faint and equal throughout, that there can be no surmise of its consisting of stars, nor can there be a doubt of the evident connection between the atmosphere and the star. Another star, not much less in brightness, an in the same field with the above, ws perfectly free from any such appearance.» [465]

NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Dew Nebula in Taurus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 75+20+20+20 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik
NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Dew Nebula in Taurus; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR, Reducer CR 0.73 (f=1800mm / f7.25), SBIG ST-8300; 11L x 600sec 1×1, 10R, 5G, 4B 2×2 x 600sec; Bernese Highlands; © 2020 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Vogel

Physical Properties

NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Images in visible light (left) and infrared (right). Excerpts from PanSTARRS DR1 color and allWISE color [147]

NGC 1514 is a 114 to 132 arc seconds sized planetary nebula 2000 light years away. It has an integrated visual brightness of 10.9 mag and a central star that is considerably bright at 9.4 mag. The nebula shines very strongly in the O-III range (doubly ionized oxygen), but also in the H-alpha and H-beta range (light of neutral hydrogen at 656.3 nm and 486.1 nm, respectively). In the O-III range, an expansion speed of the nebula of 25,000 m/s has been calculated, while the nebula as a whole including the central star is moving away from us at 60,000 m/s. The central star of NGC 1514 is particularly interesting. It is a very narrow double star that cannot be separated in telescopes. An A-star and an O-subdwarf star orbit their common center of gravity in just 9h 50m.

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G165.5-15.2: NGC 1514, PK 165-15.1, ARO 21, VV 17, VV' 23
Right Ascension (J2000.0)04h 09m 17s
Declination (J2000.0)+30° 46' 35"
Dimensions 132." (optical), 160." (radio)
Distance 0.66 kpc
Radial Velocity+59.8 km/s ± 4.4 km/s
Expansion Velocity 25.0 km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG +30 402, AG82 28, BD +30 623, FB 33, FB 34, HD 281679, PLX 915, SAO 57020
C-Star Magnitude9.87 mag (U filter), 9.93 mag (B filter), 9.42 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypesdO + A0 III
DiscovererPICKERING 1879

Finder Chart

NGC 1514 is located in the constellation Taurus on the border with the constellation Perseus. If you extend the connection between the two stars ο - ζ Persei by about 1.5 times, the PN should already be visible in a large field eyepiece.

If you don't know what kind of sight to expect at NGC 1514, the search for this PN can sometimes be quite lengthy, even though the nebula is in a familiar area of the sky. Without the O-III filter, the nebula around the bright central star looks as if the eyepiece were slightly fogged up. Hence it was nicknamed «Dew Nebula». If there is no O-III filter available, you should primarily look out for the distinctive star pattern in the 1° closeup. Of the three stars north/south direction, the middle central star is NGC 1514.

Chart Dew Nebula (NGC 1514)
Dew Nebula (NGC 1514) in constellation Taurus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021

Taunebel (NGC 1514)

Geschichte

Das Objekt wurde am 13. November 1790 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt und als IV 69 katalogisiert. Es markierte einen Wendepunkt in seinem astronomischen Denken, denn bis anhin glaubten Astronomen, dass sich alle Nebel aus schwachen Einzelsternen zusammensetzten, die mit den damaligen Geräten nicht aufzulösen wären. Herschel beschrieb NGC 1514 wie folgt: «Ein höchst einzigartiges Phänomen; Ein 8 m heller Stern mit einer schwach leuchtenden Atmosphäre in Kreisform mit einem Durchmesser von etwa 3'. Der Stern steht vollkommen in der Mitte, und die Atmosphäre ist durchweg so verdünnt, schwach und gleichmäßig, dass kein Zweifel an einer offensichtlichen Verbindung zwischen der Atmosphäre und dem Stern bestehen kann. Ein anderer Stern, nicht viel weniger hell, und im gleichen Feld wie der obige, war vollkommen frei von solchen Erscheinungen.» [465]

NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Taunebel in Taurus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 75+20+20+20 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik
NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Taunebel in Taurus; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR, Reducer CR 0.73 (f=1800mm / f7.25), SBIG ST-8300; 11L x 600sec 1×1, 10R, 5G, 4B 2×2 x 600sec; Berner Oberland; © 2020 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Vogel

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 1514
NGC 1514: Aufnahmen in sichtbarem Licht (links) und Infrarot (rechts). Ausschnitte aus PanSTARRS DR1 color und allWISE color [147]

NGC 1514 ist ein 114" bis 132" grosser planetarischer Nebel in 2000 Lichtjahren Entfernung. Er besitzt eine integrierte visuelle Helligkeit von 10.9 mag und einen mit 9.4 mag beachtlich hellen Zentralstern. Der Nebel leuchtet sehr stark im O-III Bereich (zweifach ionisierter Sauerstoff), aber auch im H-alpha und H-beta Bereich (Licht des neutralen Wasserstoffs bei 656.3 bzw. 486.1 nm). Im O-III Bereich hat man eine Expansionsgeschwindigkeit des Nebels von 25'000 m/s berechnet, während sich der Nebel als Ganzes samt Zentralstern mit 60'000 m/s von uns wegbewegt. Interessant ist bei NGC 1514 vor allem der Zentralstern. Es handelt sich dabei um einen sehr engen, in Teleskopen nicht trennbaren Doppelstern. Ein A-Stern und ein O-Subzwerg-Stern umkreisen ihren gemeinsamen Schwerpunkt in nur 9h 50m.

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G165.5-15.2: NGC 1514, PK 165-15.1, ARO 21, VV 17, VV' 23
Rektaszension (J2000.0)04h 09m 17s
Deklination (J2000.0)+30° 46' 35"
Abmessungen 132." (optisch), 160." (radio)
Entfernung 0.66 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit+59.8 km/s ± 4.4 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 25.0 km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG +30 402, AG82 28, BD +30 623, FB 33, FB 34, HD 281679, PLX 915, SAO 57020
Z-Stern Magnitude9.87 mag (U filter), 9.93 mag (B filter), 9.42 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypsdO + A0 III
EntdeckerPICKERING 1879

Auffindtipp für den Taunebel

NGC 1514 befindet sich im Sternbild Stier an der Grenze zum Sternbild Perseus. Verlängert man die Verbindung der beiden Sterne ο — ζ Persei um etwa das 1.5-fache, sollte der PN bereits in einem Grossfeldokular sichtbar sein.

Wenn man nicht weiss, was einen bei NGC 1514 für einen Anblick erwartet, dann kann sich die Suche nach diesem PN unter Umständen recht langwierig gestalten, obwohl der Nebel in vertrautem Himmelsgebiet liegt. Ohne O-III Filter sieht der Nebel um den hellen Zentralstern so aus, als wäre das Okular leicht beschlagen. Daher erhielt er den Spitznamen "Taunebel". Steht kein O-III Filter zur Verfügung, dann soll in erster Linie nach dem markanten Sternmuster im 1° Closeup Ausschau gehalten werden. Von den drei Sternen Nord/Süd-Richtung ist der mittlere Zentralstern von NGC 1514.

Karte Taunebel (NGC 1514)
Taunebel (NGC 1514) im Sternbild Taurus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021