Flaming Star Nebula (IC 405)

IC 405
IC 405: Flaming Star Nebula in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2, SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Object Description

IC 405 was discovered on 21 March 1892 by the German-American astronomer Johann Martin Schäberle and in the same year was spotted by the German astronomer Max Wolf and in October by the Hungarian astronomer Eugen von Gothard.

IC 405 is an emission and reflection nebula. The strong UV radiation of the irregular Orion variable, about six magnitudes bright star star AE Aurigae (HR 1712, HIP 24575) is responsible for the glow. This star, however, had not formed in the nebula. AE Aurigae is a runaway star, which is noticeable due to its high space movement of 113 km/s. This could be traced back to the Orion Nebula, from which it is about 60 degrees separated today. About 2.6 million years ago, a near collision of two binary star systems caused AE Aurigae to be ejected from the trapezoid cluster in the Orion Nebula. Other stars that are believed to have originated from this event are μ Columbae and 53 Arietis. The binary star system ι Orionis could have been the other half of this near-collision. According to another theory, a supernova explosion could have been responsible for this. [196, 298] The distance from the star AE Aurigae is given as 405 to 548 parsecs (approx. 1300 to 1800 light years). [145]

IC 405, IC 410, IC 417
IC 405, IC 410, IC 417: H-II Region in Auriga. STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Other objects that seem to belong to the same molecular cloud are: NGC 1931, IC 410 and IC 417. The distance from IC 417 to Earth is about 2.19 kpc, around 7100 light years. The distance from the star AE Aurigae, which is responsible for the flame star nebula IC 405, is given as 405 to 548 parsecs (approx. 1300 to 1800 light years) and is therefore much closer. [145] Either the distance information is incorrect, the nebula area is much larger, or it is a matter of different nebulae that lie in the same viewing direction.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationIC 405
TypeEN
Right Ascension05h 16m 29.4s
Declination+34° 21' 22"
Diameter30 × 20 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude10.0 mag
Metric Distance0.460 kpc
Dreyer Description* 6.7 with pB, vL neb
Identification, RemarksLBN 795, CED 42, in Sh2-229 (Flaming Star nebula)

Finder Chart

IC 405 is located in the southern part of the Auriga pentagon. The best observation time is September to April.

Chart Flaming Star Nebula (IC 405)
Flaming Star Nebula (IC 405) in constellation Auriga. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
298«On the origin of the O and B-type stars with high velocities II Runaway stars and pulsars ejected from the nearby young stellar groups» R. Hoogerwerf, J.H.J. de Bruijne, P.T. de Zeeuw; arXiv:astro-ph/0010057; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20000014

Flammenstern-Nebel (IC 405)

IC 405
IC 405: Flammenstern-Nebel in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2, SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

IC 405 wurde am 21. März 1892 vom deutsch-amerikanischen Astronomen Johann Martin Schäberle fotografisch entdeckt und im gleichen Jahr im September vom deutschen Astronomen Max Wolf und im Oktober vom ungarischen Astronomen Eugen von Gothard fotografiert.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Es handelt sich bei IC 405 um einen Emissions- und Reflexionsnebel. Verantwortlich für das Leuchten ist die starke UV-Strahlung des unregelmässig Orion-Veränderlichen, etwa sechs Magnituden hellen Sterns Sterns AE Aurigae (HR 1712, HIP 24575). Dieser Stern hatte sich allerdings nicht in dem Nebel gebildet. AE Aurigae ist ein Runaway-Stern, welcher durch seine hohen Raumbewegung von 113 km/s auffällt. Diese konnte zum Orionnebel zurückverfolgt werden, von dem er heute etwa 60 Grad entfernt ist. Vor etwa 2.6 Millionen Jahre führte eine Beinahe-Kollision von zwei Doppelsternsystemen dazu, dass AE Aurigae aus dem Trapez-Haufen im Orionnebel heraus geschleudert wurden. Andere Sterne, welche vermutlich diesem Ereignis entstammen sind μ Columbae und 53 Arietis. Das Doppelsternsystem ι Orionis könnte die andere Hälfte dieser Beinahe-Kollision gewesen sein. Einer anderen Theorie zufolge könnte hierfür eine Supernova-Explosion verantwortlich gewesen sein. [196, 298] Die Entfernung vom Stern AE Aurigae wird mit 405 bis 548 Parsec (ca. 1300 bis 1800 Lichtjahre) angegeben. [145]

IC 405, IC 410, IC 417
IC 405, IC 410, IC 417: H-II Region in Auriga. STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Weitere Objekte, die zur selben Molekülwolke zu gehören scheinen, sind: NGC 1931, IC 410 und IC 417. Die Entfernung von IC 417 zur Erde beträgt etwa 2.19 kpc, rund 7100 Lichtjahre. Die Entfernung vom Stern AE Aurigae, welcher für den Flammensternnebel IC 405 verantwortlich ist, wird jedoch nur mit 405 bis 548 Parsec (ca. 1300 bis 1800 Lichtjahre) angegeben, liegt demzufolge viel näher. [145] Entweder stimmen die Entfernungsangaben nicht, das Nebelgebiet ist viel größer oder handelt sich um unterschiedliche Nebel, die in derselben Blickrichtung liegen.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungIC 405
TypEN
Rektaszension (J2000.0)05h 16m 29.4s
Deklination (J2000.0)+34° 21' 22"
Durchmesser30 × 20 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit10.0 mag
Metrische Entfernung0.460 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung* 6.7 with pB, vL neb
Identifikation, AnmerkungenLBN 795, CED 42, in Sh2-229 (Flaming Star nebula)

Auffindkarte

IC 405 befindet sich im südlichen Teil des Auriga-Fünfecks. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis April.

Auffindkarte Flammenstern-Nebel (IC 405)
Flammenstern-Nebel (IC 405) im Sternbild Auriga. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

300 mm Öffnung: Obwohl IC 405 auf Fotos etwa gleich hell wie der benachbarte Nebel IC 410 erscheint, war an der Stelle weder mit noch ohne O-III Filter ein Nebel auszumachen. — 300 mm f/4 Popp Newton, Titlis 3020 m above sea level, SQM 21.25, 29. Oktober 2022, 23:45, Bernd Nies

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben