Galactic Nebula IC 2120

IC 2120
IC 2120: H-II region, no PN in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 105+3*30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

History

The French astronomer Camille Guillaume Bigourdan discovered this nebula on 8 December 1890 using the 12.4 inch refractor at Paris Observatory. He cataloged the nebula as number 262 and noted: «Magnitude 13.4-13.5, clearly nebulous. It was found on 8 December 1890 and was originally thought to be the comet Spitaler (1890 VII).» [363] John L. E. Dreyer included the nebula 1910 as IC 2120 in his «Second Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars». [315]

IC 2120
IC 2120: Same image section in four different photographic surveys [147]

Physical Properties

This object caused a bit of confusion: The «Strasbourg-ESO Catalog of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» published in 1992 lists IC 2120 as a possible planetary nebula under the designation PK 169-0.1. [141] In the 2001 edition of the same IC is listed as a misclassified PN with the note «compact H-II region». [146] Simbad also offers this version. [145] The «NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database» (NED) still explains IC 2120 as a sighting of comet 113P/Spitaler, which was mistakenly mistaken for a nebula. [194]

As you can see in the pictures, the small, round shape of IC 2120 with the star in the middle really looks like a planetary nebula, but it is a compact H-II region. Simbad gives 1388 parsecs (about 4500 light years) as the distance. [145] Other sources give 0.9 kpc to 1.86 kpc. [365]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation IC 2120
Type NF
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 05h 19m 10.3s
Declination (J2000.0) +38° 11' 06"
Identification, Remarks Comet Spitaler 1890!

Finder Chart

The galactic nebula IC 2120 is located in the constellation Auriga, which is best visible from August to April.

Finder Chart Galactic Nebula IC 2120
Galactic Nebula IC 2120 in constellation Auriga. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Galaktischer Nebel IC 2120

IC 2120
IC 2120: H-II Region, kein PN in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 105+3*30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

Geschichte

Der französische Astronom Camille Guillaume Bigourdan entdeckte diesen Nebel am 8. Dezember 1890 mit dem 12.4 Zoll Refraktor der Sternwarte von Paris. Er katalogisierte das Objekt unter der Nummer 262 und notierte dazu: «Größe 13.4-13.5, deutlich nebulös. Er wurde am 8. Dezember 1890 gefunden und zunächst für den Kometen Spitaler (1890 VII) gehalten.» [363] Dieser Nebel wurde später als IC 2120 von John L. E. Dreyer in seinen 1910 erschienenen «Second Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» aufgenommen. [315]

IC 2120
IC 2120: Gleicher Bildausschnitt in vier verschiedenen fotografischen Surveys [147]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Dieses Objekt sorgte für etwas Verwirrung: Der 1992 herausgegebene «Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» listet IC 2120 unter der Bezeichnung PK 169-0.1 als möglichen planetarischen Nebel. [141] Im 2001 erschienenen «Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» wird IC als misklassifizierter PN aufgeführt mit dem Vermerk «kompakte H-II Region». [146] Simbad bietet auch diese Version. [145] Die «NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database» (NED) erklärt IC 2120 immer noch als eine Sichtung vom Kometen 113P/Spitaler, der irrtümlicherweise für einen Nebel gehalten wurde. [194]

Wie man auf den Abbildungen unschwer erkennen kann, sieht die kleine, runde Form von IC 2120 mit dem Stern in der Mitte wirklich wie ein planetarischer Nebel aus, doch handelt es sich um eine kompakte H-II Region. Als Entfernung gibt Simbad 1388 Parsec (etwa 4500 Lichtjahre) an. [145] Andere Quellen nennen 0.9 kpc bis 1.86 kpc. [365]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung IC 2120
Typ NF
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 05h 19m 10.3s
Deklination (J2000.0) +38° 11' 06"
Identifikation, Anmerkungen Comet Spitaler 1890!

Auffindkarte

Der galaktische Nebel IC 2120 befindet sich im Sternbild Auriga (Fuhrmann), welches von August bis April am besten sichtbar ist.

Auffindkarte Galaktischer Nebel IC 2120
Galaktischer Nebel IC 2120 im Sternbild Auriga. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben