Open Cluster Messier 37

Object Description

Messier 37
Messier 37: Open cluster in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 10+10+10+10 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2009 Radek Chromik

M 37 (NGC 2099) is the most beautiful of the three bright Messier star clusters in the constellation Auriga (Fuhrmann). The other two are Messier 36 and Messier 38. It was first found in 1654 by Giovanni Hodierna and then rediscovered on 2 September 1764 by Charles Messier. Messier wrote: «Cluster of small stars, not far from the previous one, on the parallel of χ Aurigae; the stars are smaller, closer together, and contain nebulae; It is difficult to see the stars with an ordinary 3.5-foot telescope: this cluster is inscribed on the map of the second comet from 1771, Mem. Akad. 1777.» [281]

The star cluster contains about 150 stars up to 12.5 magnitudes. In total, it should have more than 500 stars. The stellar population differs from that of M 36 and is believed to be older. The age is estimated to be just over 200 million years. The youngest stars are of type B9V and most of the other bright stars are main sequence A stars. The cluster also contains at least a dozen red giants. The brightest of these is 9.5 mag bright and stands out near the center like a red ruby ​​in a field of diamonds. The distance of the star cluster is at 1383 pc to 1400 pc, slightly more than M 36. [4, 145, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 2099
TypeOCL (II1r)
Right Ascension05h 52m 18.3s
Declination+32° 33' 11"
Diameter15 arcmin
Visual magnitude5.6 mag
Metric Distance1.383 kpc
Dreyer DescriptionCl, Ri, pCM, st L & S
Identification, RemarksM 37, OCL 451

Finder Chart

The open star cluster is located east of the pentagon in the constellation Auriga (Charioteer) and is visible to the naked eye on a dark night. The best observation time is September to April.

Chart Open Cluster Messier 37
Open Cluster Messier 37 in constellation Auriga. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Offener Sternhaufen Messier 37

Messier 37
Messier 37: Offener Sternhaufen in Auriga; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 10+10+10+10 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2009 Radek Chromik [32]

Geschichte

Dieser Sternhaufen wurde erstmals 1654 von Giovanni Hodierna gefunden und dann am 2. September 1764 von Charles Messier wiederentdeckt. Messier schrieb dazu: «Haufen kleiner Sterne, nicht weit vom vorherigen entfernt, auf der Parallele von χ Aurigae; die Sterne sind kleiner, näher beieinander und enthalten Nebel; mit einem gewöhnlichen 3.5-Fuß-Teleskop ist es schwierig, die Sterne zu sehen: Dieser Haufen ist auf der Karte des zweiten Kometen von 1771, Mem. Akad. 1777. eingetragen.» [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 37 (NGC 2099) ist der schönste der drei hellen Messier-Sternhaufen im Sternbild Auriga (Fuhrmann). Die anderen beiden sind Messier 36 und Messier 38. Er enthält etwa 150 Sterne bis zu 12.5 Magnituden. Insgesamt dürften es mehr als 500 Sterne haben. Die stellare Population unterscheidet sich von der von M 36 und dürfte älter sein. Das Alter wird etwas über 200 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Die jüngsten Sterne sind vom Typ B9V und die meisten der anderen hellen Sterne sind A-Sterne der Hauptreihe. Der Haufen enthält auch mindestens ein Dutzend rote Riesen. Der hellste von diesen ist 9.5 mag hell und fällt in der Nähe des Zentrums auf wie ein roter Rubin in einem Feld Diamanten. Die Entfernung des Sternhaufens beträgt mit 1383 pc bis 1400 pc geringfügig mehr als M 36. [4, 145, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 2099
Typ OCL (II1r)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 05h 52m 18.3s
Deklination (J2000.0) +32° 33' 11"
Durchmesser 15 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 5.6 mag
Metrische Entfernung 1.383 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen h 369; GC 1295; M 37; OCL 451

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen befindet sich östlich des Pentagons im Sternbild Auriga (Fuhrmann) und ist in einer dunklen Nacht von bloßem Auge sichtbar. Beste Beobachtungszeit ist August bis April.

Auffindkarte Offener Sternhaufen Messier 37
Offener Sternhaufen Messier 37 im Sternbild Auriga. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben