IC 1396, Elephant Trunk Nebula

History

The galactic nebula IC 1396 was discovered photographically in August 1893 by the astronomer Edward Barnard. [196] The Canadian astronomer Sidney van den Bergh discovered a reflection nebula on the photo plates of the "Palomar Sky Survey" in the elephant trunk near the star BD + 57 ° 2309 (HD 239710), which he recorded as vdB 142 in his 1966 catalog of reflection nebulae. He noted: Type I-II (star partly inside, partly outside the nebula), moderate brightness, color blue, very strong absorption, radius 0.3 '(red) to 0.6' (blue). [255]

IC 1396
IC 1396: Elephant Trunk Nebula; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher
IC 1396
IC 1396: Elephant Trunk Nebula; Astrooptik Keller Cassegrain 400mm f/3, SBIG STL-11000M; Filter L + R + G + B + SII + Hα + OIII, total 12h; Observatory Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 6.-11. 10. 2010 Eduard von Bergen
IC 1396
IC 1396: Elephant Trunk with globule in IC 1396; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Physical Properties

IC 1396 is a large H-II region with an angular diameter of about 3°, which is home to areas of active star formation, so-called globules. The most noticeable globule is the Elephant Trunk Nebula (also often referred to as IC 1396A). This is illuminated by the trapezoid-like, variable O-type multiple star system HD 206267 located 4.5 pc away (see Fig. 3). According to Gaia DR2 measurements, this star is 945+90-73 pc from Earth. The main structure of IC 1396A measures approximately 5.4 arcminutes (about 1.4 pc) in diameter. Behind it, more dark globules and ionized, glowing gas extend over half a degree. This structure is only a small part of the large, bubble-shaped nebula around the star cluster Trumpler 37 or Collinder 439, which typically contains many variables for a young star cluster. [360, 361]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
IC 1396 21 38 54.0+57 29 20EN170.00 × 140.0Neb part of M. WayLBN 451/452, SG 1.19
IC 1396 A21 35 30.0+57 23 00EN14.00 × 2.0Neb part of M. WayLBN 452
IC 1396 B21 34 30.0+57 28 00EN12.00 × 4.0Neb part of M. WayLBN 451

Finder Chart

The galactic nebula IC 1396 is located in the constellation Cepheus, which is best visible from May to December.

Chart IC 1396
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
255«A study of reflection nebulae» van den Bergh, S.; Astronomical Journal, Vol. 71, p. 990-998 (1966); DOI:10.1086/109995
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
360«Near-infrared Variability of Low-mass Stars in IC 1396A and Tr 37» Huan Y. A. Meng, G. H. Rieke, Jinyoung Serena Kim, Aurora Sicilia-Aguilar, N. J. G. Cross, Taran Esplin, L. M. Rebull, and Klaus W. Hodapp; Published 2019 June 6; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 878, Number 1; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/ab1b14
361«IRAM and Gaia views of multi-episodic star formation in IC 1396A — The origin and dynamics of the Class 0 protostar at the edge of an HII region» Aurora Sicilia-Aguilar, Nimesh Patel, Min Fang, Veronica Roccatagliata, Konstantin Getman and Paul Goldsmith; A&A Volume 622, February 2019; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/201833207

IC 1396, Elefantenrüssel-Nebel, Elephant Trunk Nebula

Objektbeschreibung

Der galaktische Nebel IC 1396 wurde im August 1893 vom Astronomen Edward Barnard fotografisch entdeckt. [196] Der kanadische Astronom Sidney van den Bergh entdeckte auf den Fotoplatten des «Palomar Sky Survey» im Elefantenrüssel beim Stern BD +57°2309 (HD 239710) einen Reflexionsnebel, den er als vdB 142 in seinen 1966 erschienenen Katalog von Reflexionsnebeln aufnahm. Er notierte dazu: Typ I-II (Stern teils innerhalb, teils ausserhalb des Nebels), moderate Helligkeit, Farbe Blau, sehr starkeAbsorption, Radius 0.3' (rot) bis 0.6' (blau). [255]

IC 1396
IC 1396: Elefantenrüssel mit Globule in IC 1396; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
IC 1396
IC 1396: Elefantenrüssel-Nebel; Astrooptik Keller Cassegrain 400mm f/3, SBIG STL-11000M; Filter L + R + G + B + SII + Hα + OIII, total 12h; Sternwarte Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 6.-11. 10. 2010 Eduard von Bergen
IC 1396 © Radek Chromik
IC 1396: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Es handelt sich bei IC 1396 um eine grossflächige H-II Region von etwa 3° Winkeldurchmesser, welche Gebiete aktiver Sternentstehung, sogenannten Globulen beheimatet. Die auffälligste Globule ist der Elefantenrüssel-Nebel (auch oft als IC 1396A bezeichnet). Diese wird vom 4.5 pc entfernt gelegenen, trapez-ähnlichen, variablen O-Typ Mehrfachsternsystem HD 206267 erhellt (siehe Abb. 2). Gemäss Gaia DR2 Messung befindet sich dieser Stern in einer Entfernung von 945+90-73 pc von der Erde. Die Hauptstruktur von IC 1396A misst etwa 5.4 Bogenminuten (ca. 1.4 pc) im Durchmesser. Dahinter erstrecken sich über ein halbes Grad weitere dunkle Globulen und ionisiertes, leuchtendes Gas. Diese Struktur ist nur ein kleiner Teil des grossen, blasenförmigen Nebels rund um den Sternhaufen Trumpler 37 bzw. Collinder 439, welcher für einen jungen Sternhaufen typisch viele Veränderliche enthält. [360, 361]

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
IC 1396C+N21 39.1+57 30Cep170.3.5neb part of Milky Way

Auffindkarte

Der galaktische Nebel IC 1396 befindet sich im Sternbild Cepheus, welches von Mai bis Dezember am besten sichtbar ist.

IC 443 Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.