Planetary Nebula Minkowski 1-79

Minkowski 1-79
Minkowski 1-79: Planetary Nebula in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 210-90-90-90 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik

History

The planetary nebula was discovered in 1946 by the German-American astronomer Rudolph Minkowski. He was looking for H-α emissions on the photographic plates taken with the 60 inch or 100 inch telescope on Mount Wilson. [397]

Physical Properties

M 1-79 seems to have two different axes of polar symmetry in three-dimensional space which suggests that it had not maturated in a simple way. It appears as a PN with an elliptical central part and a bipolarity in the outer regions. It shows an overall point-symmetry along the edges but not when considering details of its inner structure. There are indications that a binary central star system is responsible for this shape. Both size and the expansion velocities are not typical for bipolar PNe. Probably M 1-79 has not yet reached the phase of a «classical» bipolar PN. [503]

Simbad lists a visual magnitude of the PN with 19.11 mag, but that seems rather to be the one of the central star. SkySafari lists a visual magnitude of 13.3 mag. Distance is listed as 2652 pc. [141, 145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G093.3-02.4: M 1-79, PK 93-02.1, ARO 365, VV 268, VV'555
Right Ascension (J2000.0)21h 37m 01s
Declination (J2000.0)+48° 56' 12"
Dimensions 33." (optical), 30." (radio)
Distance 2.0 kpc
Radial Velocity-24.0 km/s ± 25.0 km/s
Expansion Velocity 19.0 km/s (O-III), 23. km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 435
C-Star Magnitude19.11 mag (V filter)
DiscovererMINKOWSKI 1946

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula Minkowski 1-79 is located in the constellation Cygnus. As entry point for star-hopping one can use the loose open cluster Messier 39. The best observation time is from March to December.

Finder Chart Planetary Nebula Minkowski 1-79
Planetary Nebula Minkowski 1-79 in constellation Cygnus. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

Planetarischer Nebel Minkowski 1-79

Minkowski 1-79
Minkowski 1-79: Planetarischer Nebel in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 210-90-90-90 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der planetarische Nebel wurde 1946 vom deutsch-amerikanischen Astronomen Rudolph Minkowski entdeckt. Er war auf der Suche nach H-α Emissionen auf den Fotoplatten aufgenommen mit dem 60 Zoll oder 100 Zoll Teleskop auf dem Mount Wilson. [397]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 1-79 scheint zwei unterschiedliche polare Symmetrieachsen im dreidimensionalen Raum zu haben, was darauf hindeutet, dass er keine einfache Entwicklungsgeschichte hatte. Er erscheint als PN mit einem elliptischen zentralen Teil und einer Bipolarität in den äußeren Regionen. Es zeigt sich eine allgemeine Punktsymmetrie entlang der Kanten, jedoch nicht, wenn Details seiner inneren Struktur betrachtet werden. Es gibt Hinweise darauf, dass ein doppeltes Zentralsternsystem für diese Form verantwortlich ist. Sowohl die Größe als auch die Expansionsgeschwindigkeiten sind nicht typisch für bipolare PNe. Wahrscheinlich hat M 1-79 noch nicht die Phase einer «klassischen» bipolaren PN erreicht. [503]

Simbad gibt eine visuelle Helligkeit des PN mit 19.11 mag an, aber das scheint eher die des Zentralsterns zu sein. SkySafari gibt eine visuelle Helligkeit von 13.3 mag an. Die Entfernung wird als 2652 pc aufgeführt. [141, 145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G093.3-02.4: M 1-79, PK 93-02.1, ARO 365, VV 268, VV'555
Rektaszension (J2000.0)21h 37m 01s
Deklination (J2000.0)+48° 56' 12"
Abmessungen 33." (optisch), 30." (radio)
Entfernung 2.0 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-24.0 km/s ± 25.0 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 19.0 km/s (O-III), 23. km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 435
Z-Stern Magnitude19.11 mag (V filter)
EntdeckerMINKOWSKI 1946

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel Minkowski 1-79 befindet sich im Sternbild Cygnus. Als Einstiegspunkt fürs Star-Hopping dient der lockere offene Sternhaufen Messier 39. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist von März bis Dezember.

Karte Planetarischer Nebel Minkowski 1-79
Planetarischer Nebel Minkowski 1-79 im Sternbild Cygnus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
397«New Emission Nebulae» R. Minkowski; Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, Volume 58, Number 344, 1946; DOI:10.1086/125855
503«Morphology and expansion characteristics of the planetary nebula M 1-79» Saurer, W.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, v.326, p.1187-1194, October 1997; Bibcode:1997A&A...326.1187S