Ghost Nebula (Sh 2-136, vdB 141)

vdB 141
vdB 141: Ghost Nebula in Auriga; Cassegrain 400 mm f/3 + STL 11000M; Luminance 280 min, RGB each 60 min; Observatory Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 2020 Eduard von Bergen [30]

History

While searching the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» made with the 48 inch Schmidt telescope, the American astronomer Stewart Sharpless came across the emission nebulae Sh 2-136 and published it in 1959 together with a total of 313 H-II Regions in a catalog. [310]

In 1962 Beverly T. Lynds published a compilation of 1802 nebula in her «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae» that she found on photo plates of the «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas». This nebula is listed there with the designation LDN 1177 (or L1177). [473]

In 1966 Sidney van den Bergh searched the «Palomar Sky Survey» photographic plates for reflection nebulae and found one (vdB 141) around the star BD+67 1300. He included it in his 1966 «Catalog of Reflection Nebulae» and classified the nebula as «Type I», which means the star illuminating the nebula is inside the nebula. He gave the brightness of the nebula on the blue photo plates with «F» (faint = weak), the color with «R» for reddish and absorption «Wk» (weak = weak). [307]

Physical Properties

vdB 141
vdB 141: Image taken with the Mayall 4 m telescope on Kitt Peak. T.A. Rector, H. Schweiker, NOIRLab/NSF/AURA, 2009 [256]

The star associated with the reflection nebula vdB 141 is BD+67 1300 (TYC 4461-645-1) and is of spectral type G8. Measurements published in 2018 by ESA's Gaia spacecraft, launched in 2013, revealed that it is 1120 light-years away and moving towards us at 32 km/s. But there are other stars inside this molecular cloud, because it is a star-forming region. The visual brightness is given as 9.4 mag in the vdB catalogue, but Simbad has a brightness in the V-band of 10.8 mag. [145, 255] The nebula belongs to the molecular cloud CB 230 or LDN 1177, which belongs to a large complex of molecular clouds called «Cepheus Flare Region».

In Fig. 2 on the right you can see the jet of a young protostar within the molecular cloud. The photo gives an idea of why vdB 141 was nicknamed "Ghost Nebula". Two ghosts raise their arms menacingly. Other nicknames are: «Spooky Nebula» or «Ghosts of Cepheus». There are other nebulae that have received a similar nickname: Little Ghost Nebula (NGC 6369), Ghost Head Nebula (NGC 2080), Ghost of Cassiopeia (IC 63).

Further infos at CDS: vdB 141, Sh 2-136, LDN 1177

Finder Chart

VdB 141 is located in the western part of the Cepheus constellation, not far from NGC 7023. The exact position in the eyepiece can be compared with the 1° closeup. Pay attention to the row of three with the distinctive double star in the middle, which shows the way to vdB 141. The constellation Cepheus is circumpolar, but it is highest in the sky in the months of May to December and the nebula can therefore be observed best then.

Finder Chart Ghost Nebula (Sh 2-136, vdB 141)
Ghost Nebula (Sh 2-136, vdB 141) in constellation Cepheus. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

Geisternebel (Sh 2-136, vdB 141)

vdB 141
vdB 141: Geisternebel in Auriga; Cassegrain 400 mm f/3 + STL 11000M; Luminanz 280 min, RGB je 60 min; Sternwarte Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 2020 Eduard von Bergen

Geschichte

Bei der Durchsicht der Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey», welche mit dem 48 Zoll Schmidt-Teleskop gemacht wurden, stieß der amerikanische Astronom Stewart Sharpless auf den Emissionsnebel Sh 2-136 und veröffentlichte ihn 1959 zusammen mit insgesamt 313 H-II-Regionen in einem Katalog. [310]

Im Jahr 1962 veröffentlichte Beverly T. Lynds in ihrem «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae» eine Zusammenstellung von 1802 Dunkelnebeln, die sie auf Fotoplatten des «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas» fand. Dieser Nebel ist dort mit der Bezeichnung LDN 1177 (auch L1177) aufgeführt. [473]

Im Jahr 1966 durchsuchte Sidney van den Bergh die fotografischen Platten des «Palomar Sky Survey» nach Reflexionsnebeln und fand einen (vdB 141) um den Stern BD+67 1300. Er nahm ihn 1966 in seinen «Catalog of Reflection Nebulae» auf und klassifizierte den Nebel als «Typ I», was bedeutet, dass sich der Stern, der den Nebel beleuchtet, im Inneren des Nebels befindet. Die Helligkeit des Nebels gab er auf den blauen Fotoplatten mit «F» (faint = schwach) an, die Farbe mit «R» für rötlich und die Absorption mit «Wk» (weak = schwach). [307]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

vdB 141
vdB 141: Aufnahme mit dem Mayall 4 m Teleskop auf dem Kitt Peak. T. A. Rector, H. Schweiker, NOIRLab/NSF/AURA, 2009 [256]

Der mit dem Reflexionsnebel vdb 141 assoziierte Stern ist BD+67 1300 (TYC 4461-645-1) und ist vom Spektraltyp G8. 2018 veröffentlichte Messungen mit der 2013 gestarteten ESA Raumsonde Gaia ergaben, dass er sich in 1120 Lichtjahren Entfernung befindet und sich mit 32 km/s in unsere Richtung bewegt. Im Inneren dieser Molekülwolke befinden sich aber noch weitere Sterne, denn es ist ein Sternentstehungsgebiet. Die visuelle Helligkeit wird im vdB-Katalog mit 9.4 mag angegeben, doch bei Simbad findet sich eine Helligkeit im V-Band von 10.8 mag. [145, 255] Der Nebel gehört zu der Molekülwolke CB 230 oder LDN 1177, die zu einem großen Komplex von Molekülwolken gehört, welcher «Cepheus Flare Region» genannt wird.

In Abb. 2 auf der rechten Seite sieht man den Jet eines jungen Protosterns innerhalb der Molekülwolke. Das Foto lässt erahnen, warum vdB 141 den Spitznamen «Ghost Nebula» erhielt. Zwei Geister erheben drohend ihre Arme. Andere Spitznamen sind: «Spooky Nebula» oder «Ghosts of Cepheus». Es gibt noch andere Nebel, welche einen ähnlichen Spitznamen erhalten haben: Little Ghost Nebula (NGC 6369), Ghost Head Nebula (NGC 2080), Ghost of Cassiopeia (IC 63).

Weitere Infos bei CDS: vdB 141, Sh 2-136, LDN 1177

Auffindkarte

VdB 141 befindet sich im westlichen Teil des Sternbilds Cepheus, unweit von NGC 7023. Die genaue Position im Okular kann mit dem 1° Closeup verglichen werden. Man achte hier auf die Dreierreihe mit dem markanten Doppelstern in der Mitte, welcher den Weg zu vdB 141 weist. Das Sternbild Cepheus zwar zirkumpolar, doch in den Monaten Mai bis Dezember steht es am höchsten am Himmel und somit kann dann der Nebel am besten beobachtet werden.

Auffindkarte Geisternebel (Sh 2-136, vdB 141)
Geisternebel (Sh 2-136, vdB 141) im Sternbild Cepheus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben