Globular Cluster Messier 107

Messier 107
Messier 107: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope [215]

History

The globular cluster M 107 was discovered by Pierre Méchain in April 1782. He mentioned his discovery in his letter of May 6, 1783 to Bernoulli. Unfortunately, his discovery came after Messier submitted his list of for publication in the 1784 Connoissance des Temps. The nebula might have been included in a later publication of Messier's catalog, but there was none. Wilhelm Herschel discovered this globular cluster independently and was able to resolve it into individual stars in his telescope. Dreyer later included this as NGC 6171 in his «New General Catalogie of Nebulae and Star Clusters» published in 1888. It was not until 1947 that Helen Sawyer identified Hogg NGC 6171 with Méchain's discovery and added it to the Messier catalog as M 107 together with M 105 and M 106. [196, 217]

Physical Properties

M 107 is one of the more than 150 globular clusters that belong to our Milky Way. The center is not particularly densely packed with stars. It is around 6.4 kpc (20'000 light years) from Earth and contains 182'000 solar masses. [251]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6171
TypeGCL (X)
Right Ascension16h 32m 31.9s
Declination-13° 03' 11"
Diameter13.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude7.8 mag
Dreyer Descriptionglobular, L, vRi, vmC, R, rrr
IdentificationM 107, GCL 44

Finder Chart

M 107 is located in the constellation Ophiuchus (Serpent Bearer) 2 ° 45 'from ζ Ophiuchi. The best observation time is May to July.

Chart M 107
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
251«Young Radio Pulsars in Galactic Globular Clusters» Jason Boyles, Duncan R. Lorimer, Phil J. Turk, Robert Mnatsakanov, Ryan S. Lynch, Scott M. Ransom, Paulo C. Freire, Khris Belczynski; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 742, Number 1; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/742/1/51
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 107

Messier 107
Messier 107: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

Geschichte

Der Kugelsternhaufen M 107 wurde im April 1782 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Er erwähnte seine Entdeckung in seinem Brief vom 6. Mai 1783 an Bernoulli. Leider kam seine Entdeckung nachdem Messier seine Liste von zur Veröffentlichung in der «Connoissance des Temps» von 1784 eingereicht hatte. Möglicherweise wäre der Nebel in einer späteren Publikation von Messiers Katalog aufgenommen worden, doch es gab keine. Wilhelm Herschel entdeckte unabhängig davon diesen Kugelsternhaufen und konnte ihn in seinem Teleskop in Einzelsterne auflösen. Später wurde dieser von Dreyer als NGC 6171 in seinen 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» aufgenommen. Erst 1947 identifizierte Helen Sawyer Hogg NGC 6171 mit Méchains Entdeckung und fügte diese als M 107 zusammen mit M 105 und M 106 dem Messier-Katalog hinzu. [196, 217]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 107 ist einer der über 150 Kugelsternhaufen, welche zu unserer Milchstrasse gehören. Das Zentrum ist nicht besonders dicht gepackt mit Sternen. Er ist rund 6.4 kpc (20'000 Lichtjahre) von der Erde entfernt und enthält 182'000 Sonnenmassen. [251]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 6171
TypGCL (X)
Rektaszension16h 32m 31.9s
Deklination-13° 03' 11"
Durchmesser13 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit7.8 mag
Metrische Entfernung6.400 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibungglobular, L, vRi, vmC, R, rrr
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 107, GCL 44

Auffindkarte

M 107 befindet sich im Sternbild Ophiuchus (Schlangenträger) 2° 45' von ζ Ophiuchi entfernt. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Mai bis Juli.

Ophiuchus: M 107
Karte M 107
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
251«Young Radio Pulsars in Galactic Globular Clusters» Jason Boyles, Duncan R. Lorimer, Phil J. Turk, Robert Mnatsakanov, Ryan S. Lynch, Scott M. Ransom, Paulo C. Freire, Khris Belczynski; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 742, Number 1; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/742/1/51
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)