Globular Cluster Messier 80

Messier 80
Messier 80: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

History

The globular cluster M 80 was discovered by Charles Messier on 4 January 1781. He wrote: «Nebula without a star, in Scorpio between the stars ρ and δ, compared to ρ for determining the position: The nebula is round, the center brilliant, looks like the core of a comet wrapped in nebula. M. Méchain saw it on 28 January 1781.» [281]

Physical Properties

About 28'000 light years away is M 80, one of the densest of the 150 known globular clusters in our Milky Way. This globular cluster contains several hundred thousand stars, which are held together by their mutual attraction. In 1860 a nova occurred in this globular cluster. Novas can arise when a nearby companion star transfers fresh hydrogen to a burned-out white dwarf. This can lead to a thermonuclear explosion on the surface of the white dwarf and a brief increase in brightness. A large number of blue stragglers were also found in the cluster, stars that are unusually young for globular clusters. [215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 6093
TypeGCL (II)
Right Ascension16h 17m 02.5s
Declination-22° 58' 28"
Diameter10 arcmin
Visual magnitude7.3 mag
Metric Distance10.000 kpc
Dreyer Description!! globular, vB, L, vmbM (var *), rrr, st 14
Identification, RemarksM 80, GCL 39, ESO 516-SC11

Finder Chart

M 80 is located in the constellation Scorpius between the stars ρ Ophiuchi and δ Scorpii. It can best be observed in the months of May to July.

Chart Globular Cluster Messier 80
Globular Cluster Messier 80 in constellation Scorpius. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 80

Messier 80
Messier 80: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

Geschichte

Der Kugelsternhaufen M 80 wurde am 4. Januar 1781 von Charles Messier entdeckt. Er schrieb dazu: «Nebel ohne Stern, im Skorpion zwischen den Sternen ρ und δ, verglichen mit ρ zur Positionsbestimmung: Der Nebel ist rund, das Zentrum brilliant, sieht aus wie der Kern eines Kometen eingehüllt in Nebel. M. Méchain sah ihn am 28. Januar 1781.» [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

In etwa 28'000 Lichtjahren Entfernung befindet sich M 80, einer der dichtesten der 150 bekannten Kugelsternhaufen unserer Milchstrasse. Dieser Kugelsternhaufen enthält mehrere hunderttausend Sterne, welche durch ihre gegenseitige Anziehungskraft zusammengehalten werden. Im Jahre 1860 ereignete sich eine Nova in diesem Kugelsternhaufen. Novae können entstehen, wenn ein naher Begleitstern frischen Wasserstoff zu einem ausgebrannten Weissen Zwerg transferiert. Dies kann zu einer thermonuklearen Explosion auf der Oberfläche des Weissen Zwerges und einem kurzzeitigen Helligkeitsanstieg führen. In dem Haufen wurde auch eine grosse Menge an blauen Nachzüglern gefunden, für Kugelsternhaufen ungewöhnlich junge Sterne. [215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 6093
Typ GCL (II)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 16h 17m 02.5s
Deklination (J2000.0) -22° 58' 28"
Durchmesser 10 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 7.3 mag
Metrische Entfernung 10.000 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen h 3624; GC 4173; M 80; GCL 39; ESO 516-SC11

Auffindkarte

M 80 befindet sich im Sternbild Scorpius (Skorpion) zwischen den Sternen ρ Ophiuchi und δ Scorpii. In den Monaten Mai bis Juli kann er am besten beobachtet werden.

Auffindkarte Kugelsternhaufen Messier 80
Kugelsternhaufen Messier 80 im Sternbild Scorpius. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben