Quasar J014709+463037, Andromedas Parachute

Quasar J014709+463037
Quasar J014709+463037: Left: The four images A-D of the quasar J014709+463037 and the position of the galaxy G responsible for the gravitational lens effect marked with an X. Color image with g (blue), i (green) and z (red) filters. Right: 2 'section with y-filter. Recordings with the Pan-STARRS1 1.8m telescope in Hawaii. [329]

History

The quasar J014709+463037 (also referred as PS J0147+4630, BNR2017 J014710+463040) was discovered by accident by Berghea et al. on images from December 2016 with the 1.8 meter Ritchey–Chrétien telescope on the summit of Haleakala on the Hawaiian island of Maui. The telescope is part of the «Panoramic Survey Telescope and Rapid Response System» (Pan-STARRS1). The J number sequence designates the coordinates in the J2000 coordinate system with HHMMSS+DDMMSS, relatively HHMM+DDMM. Since the discovery of the first gravitational lens quasar QSO 0957+561A/B in 1979 by Walsh et al. Such gravitational lenses became an important instrument for determining cosmological and Hubble constants.

Physical Properties

This quasar is a gravitational lens created by a galaxy in the foreground, which creates a quadruple image of a quasar lying behind it, much further away. The apparent visual brightness of the four quasar images is in the range from 15.4 mag to 17.7 mag. The redshift is about z = 2.377 ± 0.007, which corresponds to a distance of about 11 billion light years. The redshift of the much weaker foreground galaxy is about z ≈ 0.57, i.e. a distance of about 7 billion light years. J014709 + 463037 is one of the few quadruple gravitational lenses with z > 2, whose individual images are relatively bright and can be resolved by earth-based telescopes. [329, 330]

Name   : J014709+463037
RA     : 01h 47m 09s
Dec    : +46° 30' 37"
Mag (g): A 15.6, B 15.7, C 16.4, D 18.0
Mag (r): A 15.4, B 15.5, C 16.2, D 17.7
z      : 2.377

Further infos at CDS: [BNR2017] J014710+463040 source

Finder Chart

The quasar J014709+463037 is located in the constellation Andromeda between the stars υ Persei and Almach (γ Andromedae), about 2.5° from υ Persei. Between the two 35 arcminutes distant stars HR 518 (6.3 mag) and HD 10712 (7.9 mag) one looks for the star patterns shown in the 1° and 15 arcminutes closeup. The best observation time is July to February.

Chart Quasar J014709+463037
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

Quasar J014709+463037
Quasar J014709+463037: Andromedas Parachute; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3; 15s bei ISO 12'800; Hasliberg; © 25. 10. 2019 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Aperture: Four components within 3 arcseconds, visually and photographically not separable. Quick and easy to find with the help of the location cards, can be clearly identified by means of surrounding stars. Identification in the photo because of similarly large and illuminated stars is more difficult as a visual sighting.

— 25. 10. 2019, Eduard von Bergen

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
329«Discovery of the First Quadruple Gravitationally Lensed Quasar Candidate with Pan-STARRS» C. T. Berghea, George J. Nelson, C. E. Rusu, C. R. Keeton, and R. P. Dudik; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 844, Number 2; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/aa7aa6
330«Andromeda's Parachute: A Bright Quadruply Lensed Quasar at z=2.377» Kate H. R. Rubin, John M. O'Meara, Kathy L. Cooksey, Mateusz Matuszewski, Luca Rizzi, Gregory W. Doppmann, Shui Hung Kwok, D. Christopher Martin, Anna M. Moore, Patrick Morrissey, James D. Neill; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/aaaeb7

Quasar J014709+463037, Andromedas Fallschirm

Quasar J014709+463037
Quasar J014709+463037: Links: Die vier Bilder A-D des Quasars J014709+463037 und die Position der für den Gravitationslinsen-Effekt verantwortliche Galaxie G markiert mit einem X. Farbaufnahme mit g (blau), i (grün) und z (rot) Filtern. Rechts: 2' Ausschnitt mit y-Filter. Aufnahmen mit dem Pan-STARRS1 1.8m Teleskop auf Hawaii. [329]

Geschichte

Der Quasar J014709+463037 (auch PS J0147+4630, BNR2017 J014710+463040) wurde von Berghea et al. auf Aufnahmen vom Dezember 2016 mit dem 1.8 Meter Ritchey–Chrétien Teleskop auf dem Gipfel des Haleakala auf der Hawaiianischen Insel Maui durch Zufall entdeckt. Das Teleskop gehört zum «Panoramic Survey Telescope and Rapid Response System» (Pan-STARRS1). Die J-Nummernfolge bezeichnet die Koordinaten im J2000-Koordinatensystem mit HHMMSS+DDMMSS bzw. HHMM+DDMM. Seit der Entdeckung des ersten Gravitationslinsen-Quasars QSO 0957+561A/B im Jahre 1979 durch Walsh et al. wurden solche Gravitationslinsen zu einem wichtigen Instrument zur Bestimmung der kosmologischen und der Hubble-Konstanten.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Bei diesem Quasar handelt es sich um eine durch eine Galaxie im Vordergrund erzeugte Gravitationslinse, welche gleich ein vierfaches Bild eines dahinter liegenden, viel weiter entfernten Quasars erzeugt. Die scheinbare visuelle Helligkeit der vier Quasar-Bilder liegt im Bereich von 15.4 mag bis 17.7 mag. Die Rotverschiebung beträgt etwa z = 2.377±0.007, was einer Entfernung von etwa 11 Milliarden Lichtjahre entspricht. Die Rotverschiebung der viel schwächeren Vordergrundgalaxie beträgt etwa z ≈ 0.57, also eine Entfernung von etwa 7 Milliarden Lichtjahre. J014709+463037 ist einer der wenigen vierfachen Gravitationslinsen mit z > 2, deren Einzelbilder relativ hell und von erdgebundenen Teleskopen aufgelöst werden können. [329, 330]

Name   : J014709+463037
RA     : 01h 47m 09s
Dec    : +46° 30' 37"
Mag (g): A 15.6, B 15.7, C 16.4, D 18.0
Mag (r): A 15.4, B 15.5, C 16.2, D 17.7
z      : 2.377

Weitere Infos bei CDS: [BNR2017] J014710+463040 source

Auffindkarte

Der Quasar J014709+463037 befindet sich im Sternbild Andromeda zwischen den Sternen υ Persei und Almach (γ Andromedae), etwa 2.5° von υ Persei entfernt. Zwischen den beiden 35' voneinander entfernten Sternen HR 518 (6.3 mag) und HD 10712 (7.9 mag) sucht man nach den im 1° und 15' Closeup gezeigten Sternmustern. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Juli bis Februar.

Andromeda: Quasar J014709+463037
Karte Quasar J014709+463037
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Quasar J014709+463037
Quasar J014709+463037: Andromedas Fallschirm; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3; 15s bei ISO 12'800; Hasliberg; © 25. 10. 2019 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Vier Komponenten innerhalb 3 Bogensekunden, visuell und fotografisch nicht trennbar. Mit Hilfe der Aufsuchkarten rasch und gut auffindbar, eindeutig zu identifizieren anhand Umgebungssternen. Identifikation auf dem Foto wegen ähnlich großen und ausgeleuchteten Sternen gestaltet sich schwieriger als visuelle Sichtung.

— 25. 10. 2019, Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
329«Discovery of the First Quadruple Gravitationally Lensed Quasar Candidate with Pan-STARRS» C. T. Berghea, George J. Nelson, C. E. Rusu, C. R. Keeton, and R. P. Dudik; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 844, Number 2; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/aa7aa6
330«Andromeda's Parachute: A Bright Quadruply Lensed Quasar at z=2.377» Kate H. R. Rubin, John M. O'Meara, Kathy L. Cooksey, Mateusz Matuszewski, Luca Rizzi, Gregory W. Doppmann, Shui Hung Kwok, D. Christopher Martin, Anna M. Moore, Patrick Morrissey, James D. Neill; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/aaaeb7