NGC 6960+, Cirrus Nebula

Object Description

NGC 6960+
NGC 6960+: The entire Cirrus Nebula extends over a range of about 3°; TS Triplet APO 90, Reducer Photoline 0.79 (490mm / f5.44), SBIG ST-8300; 22L x 300sec 1×1, 21R, 21G, 21B 2×2 300sec; Bernese Highlands; © 2018 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

The Cirrus Nebula is probably one of the most fascinating, largest and most beautiful nebulae in the northern sky and has therefore been given numerous names: «Bridal Veil Nebula» or just «Veil Nebula» and «Cygnus Loop». The name «Filamentary Nebula» is often used only for the eastern part of NGC 6992 and the name «Network Nebula» or «Lacework Nebula» for the western part of NGC 6960. But sometimes one also uses these names for the entire nebula.

The Cirrus Nebula was discovered visually by William Herschel in 1784 with his 18.7 inch reflecting telescope. For a long time the true nature of these wisps of nebula was unknown and they were given different numbers in the «New General Catalogue», as well as in the «Index Catalogue». It seems that the numbering was later was abandoned, as many seemingly independent wisps of the nebula are no longer labeled.

The visually visible portions of the Cirrus Nebula appear to coalesce into an expanding gas cloud of about 3° apparent diameter. Determining the exact distance is difficult. One finds values from 1300 to 2500 light-years, probably it is close to 1500 light-years. At that distance, the entire nebula is about 70 light-years across.

This supernova remnant is expanding at 0.06 arc seconds annually into a region of interstellar gas and dust, pushing interstellar material before it. The sky inside this arc appears visibly clearer and has more fine stars than outside, which is evident in the region near the bright star 52 Cygni. It is estimated that the supernova probably occurred between 30,000 and 40,000 years ago.

The Cirrus Nebula, like all other known supernova remnants, is a source of radio emission, but is much fainter than the known Crab Nebula in Taurus, which is only 900 years old. Radio emission from the Cirrus Nebula was first discovered by D. Walsh and R.H. Brown at the Jodrell Bank Observatory in England.

Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel: The Pickering Triangle in the upper centre of the image. Bottom right NGC 6960 at 52 Cygni; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher
Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel: The western part NGC 6960 near 52 Cygni; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

The reason for the glow of the nebula still seems to be a mystery. Spectral analyzes showed that the light is fluorescent and that the individual gas plumes have different temperatures of 10'000 to 60'000 Kelvin. However, neither the star energizing the nebula has been identified, nor does a star near the center of the arc show any post-novaan characteristics. The post-nova is thought to be a close companion of a star near the apparent center of the Cirrus Nebula.

The western portion of the Cirrus Nebula, NGC 6960, appears to be drifting past the 4.3 mag star 52 Cygni, but the star is known as a foreground object and has no association with the Cirrus Nebula.

Cirrus Nebula
Cirrus Nebula: NGC 6960 near 52 Cygni; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+15+15+15 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
Cirrus Nebula
Cirrus Nebula: Supernova remnant in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+15+15+15 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
Cirrus Nebula
Cirrus Nebula: Supernova remnant in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
Cirrus Nebula
Cirrus Nebula: Eastern part (NGC 6992, NGC 6995); 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik

This fiber structure is the special feature of this nebula and could not be fully explained. The thickness of such a typical fiber varies from 500 to 700 AU up to 2000 AU, or about 1 to 5 arc seconds. It's possible that these narrow filaments are actually thin luminous surfaces that we're looking at from the side. Such a surface, viewed from the front, would appear invisible to us because of its weak surface brightness. The expansion of the cloud into the interstellar medium possibly contributes to the filament formation, which resembles a large shock front phenomenon. Electromagnetic forces must also be considered. [4, 110, 115, 169]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 6960 20 45 42.0+30 43 00SNR7.070.00 × 6.0!! pB, cL, eiF, κ Cygni invLBN 191, Veil nebula
NGC 6974 20 51 04.0+31 49 54SNRNeb *, neby cE pfknot in Veil nebula
NGC 6979 20 50 30.0+32 01 36SNR7.00 × 3.0vF, S, iE, sev F st f nrpart of Veil nebula
NGC 6992 20 56 18.0+31 44 30SNR7.060.00 × 8.0!!, eF, eL, eE, eiF, bifurcatedCED 182B, Veil nebula
NGC 6995 20 57 10.0+31 14 00SNR7.012.00 × 12.0F, eL, neb & st in groupsCED 182C, Veil nebula
IC 1340 20 56 08.0+31 02 54SNR25.00 × 20.0Possibly conn with h 2093part of Veil nebula

How to find the Supernova Remnant?

Chart NGC 6960
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]
Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel: Ausschnitt von etwa 5.25° aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [147]

The Cirrus Nebula is very easy to find. Point the telescope at the star 52 Cygni, which is located at the eastern wing of the constellation Cygnus. The star is 4.2 mag bright and still easily visible with naked eye. There lies the western part of the Cirrus Nebula NGC 6960, which passes directly nearby the star. Starting from there, the entire Cirrus Nebula can be explored along the nebulae to the east. At the beginning it is recommended to use an eyepiece with the largest possible field of view to get an overview. An O-III filter greatly increases the contrast between the nebula and the sky background. For some parts, it is worth magnifying higher to see more structure in the nebulae.

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
110The Veil Nebula by Roger N. Clark; S&T 10/94, p.104
115Hubble Telescope Probes Shocks in Cygnus; S&T 5/95, p.11
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
169Cygnus Loop; Press Release No. STScI-PRC95-11; oposite.stsci.edu/pubinfo/pr/95/11.html
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

NGC 6960+, Cirrusnebel

Objektbeschreibung

Cirrusnebel © Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic
Der ganze Cirrusnebel erstreckt sich über einen Bereich von etwa 3°. TS Triplet APO 90, Reducer Photoline 0.79 (490mm / f5.44), SBIG ST-8300; 22L x 300sec 1×1, 21R, 21G, 21B 2×2 300sec, © 2018 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

Der Cirrusnebel ist wohl einer der faszinierendsten, grössten und schönsten Nebel des nördlichen Sternenhimmels und erhielt daher zahlreiche Namen: Bridal Veil Nebula (Brautschleiernebel) oder auch nur Veil Nebula und Cygnus Loop (Cygnus-Schleife). Die Bezeichnung Filamentary Nebula (faseriger Nebel) wird oft nur für den östlichen Teil NGC 6992 und die Bezeichung Network (Netzwerk-) oder Lacework Nebula (Spitzennebel) für den westlichen Teil NGC 6960 verwendet. Manchmal meint man damit aber auch sämtliche Nebelfetzen.

Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel, NGC 6960 bei 52 Cygni: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+15+15+15 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Der Cirrusnebel wurde 1784 von William Herschel visuell mit seinem 18"-Spiegelteleskop entdeckt. Lange Zeit war die wahre Natur dieser Nebelfetzen noch unbekannt und sie erhielten unterschiedliche Nummern im New General Catalogue, wie auch im Index Catalogue. Es scheint, als ob die Numerierung später aufgegeben wurde, da zahlreiche unabhängig scheinende Nebelfetzen keine Bezeichnung mehr tragen.

Die visuell sichtbaren Teile des Cirrusnebels scheinen sich zu einer expandierenden Gaswolke mit etwa 3° scheinbarem Durchmesser zusammenzufügen. Die genaue Entfernung zu bestimmen ist schwierig. Man findet Werte von 1300 bis 2500 Lichtjahren, vermutlich liegt sie nahe bei 1500 Lichtjahren. Bei dieser Entfernung besitzt der gesamte Nebel einen Durchmesser von etwa 70 Lichtjahren.

Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+40+40+40 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Dieser Supernovaüberrest expandiert jährlich um 0.06" in eine Region mit interstellarem Gas und Staub hinein und schiebt so das interstellare Material vor sich her. Der Himmel innerhalb dieses Bogens scheint sichtbar klarer zu sein und besitzt mehr feine Sterne als ausserhalb, was in der Region beim hellen Stern 52 Cygni deutlich sichtbar ist. Demzufolge ereignete sich die Supernova vermutlich vor 30'000 bis 40'000 Jahren.

Der Cirrusnebel ist, wie alle anderen bekannten Supernovaüberreste, eine Quelle von Radiostrahlung, aber wesentlich schwächer als der bekannte Krebsnebel in Taurus, dessen Alter erst 900 Jahre ist. Die Radiostrahlung vom Cirrusnebel wurde erstmals von D. Walsh und R. H. Brown am Jodrell Bank Observatorium in England entdeckt.

Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+30+30+30 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Der Grund für das Leuchten des Nebels scheint noch ein Mysterium zu sein. Spektalanalysen zeigten, dass das Licht fluoreszierend ist und die einzelen Gasschwaden unterschiedliche Temperaturen von 10'000 bis 60'000 Kelvin besitzen. Doch weder der den Nebel anregende Stern wurde identifiziert, noch zeigt ein Stern in der Nähe des Zentrums des Bogens irgendwelche post-novaischen Charakteristika. Vermutlich ist die Post-Nova ein enger Begleiter eines Sterns nahe dem scheinbaren Zentrum des Cirrusnebels.

Der westliche Teil des Cirrusnebels, NGC 6960, scheint am 4.3 mag Stern 52 Cygni vorbeizudriften, doch der Stern ist als Vordergrundobjekt bekannt und hat keine Verbindung zum Cirrusnebel.

Cirrusnebel
Cirrusnebel, östlicher Teil (NGC 6992, NGC 6995): 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 60+30+30+30 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

Die feine filamentartige Struktur des Nebels ist auf der nebenstehenden Detailaufnahme mittels des Hubble Space Telescopes gut erkennbar. Die Expansionsbewegung erfolgt auf dieser Aufnahme von links nach rechts. Das Bild ist ein dreifach Falschfarbenkomposit: blau repräsentiert dabei das Emissionslicht von doppelt ionisiertem Sauerstoff, rot stellt das von einfach ionisiertem Schwefel dar und grün das von neutralem Wasserstoff. Die Farben wurden willkürlich gewählt und entsprechen in keiner Weise dem wahren visuellen Eindruck.

Diese Faserstruktur ist die besondere Eigenart dieses Nebels und konnte noch nicht vollständig erklärt werden. Die Dicke einer solchen typischen Faser variiert von 500 bis 700 AU bis zu 2000 AU, oder etwa 1" bis 5". Es ist möglich, dass diese schmalen Filamente in Wahrheit dünne leuchtende Flächen sind, welche wir von der Seite her betrachten. Eine solche Fläche von vorne betrachet erschiene uns wegen ihrer schwachen Oberflächenhelligkeit unsichtbar. Die Expansion der Wolke in das interstellare Medium trägt möglicherweise zu der Filamentbildung bei, welche einem grossem Schockfront-Phänomen gleicht. Elektromagnetische Kräfte müssen auch berücksichtigt werden. [4, 110, 115, 169]

— 1996, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 6960Nb20 45.7+30 43Cyg70.!! pB, cL, eiF, 52 Cyg inv
NGC 6974Nb20 50.8+31 52Cygneb*, neby cE pf
NGC 6979Nb20 51.0+32 09CygvF, S, iE, sev F st f nr
IC 1340Nb20 56.2+31 04Cyg25.possibly conn with 6995
NGC 6992Nb20 56.4+31 43Cyg60.!!, eF, eL, eE, eiF, bifurcated
NGC 6995Nb20 57.1+31 13Cyg12.F, eL, neb & st in groups

Wie findet man den Supernova-Überrest?

Der Cirrusnebel ist ganz leicht zu finden. Man richtet das Fernrohr auf den Stern 52 Cygni, der sich beim östlichen Flügel des Schwanes befindet. Dort befindet sich der westliche Teil des Cirrusnebels NGC 6960. Für eine weitere Identifikation bediene man sich der Abbildung 1. Der Stern 52 Cygni befindet sich dort am rechten Rand.

Karte
Karte mit Hilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.