Galactic Nebula Sharpless 2-106

Sharpless 2-106
Sharpless 2-106: Emission nebula in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+45+45+45 min LRGBB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

History

This emission nebula was discovered in 1946 by the German astronomer Rudolph Minkowski at Mount Wilson Observatory and cataloged as M 1-99. [454] The American astronomer Stewart Sharpless cataloged it as Sh2-106 (S106) in the 1950s and published it in his second edition of the Sharpless catalog in 1959. [310]

Physical Properties

The nebula looks similar to a planetary nebula at first glance thanks to its bipolar appearance, but it is actually a galactic nebula consisting of glowing, ionized hydrogen gas (H-II region) and dust clouds that either absorb or reflect light.

Sh2-106
Sh2-106: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [308]

Inside the nebula is a massive young star designated S106 IRS4 (Infrared Source 4). At its poles, it pushes super-hot gas into the cooler, interstellar medium at high speed. The surrounding gas is heated to around 10'000 Kelvin, ionized and thereby made to glow. A ring of cooler dust and gas orbiting the central star obscures the central star forming a belt, forming a structure reminiscent of an hourglass. The central star has about 15 solar masses and is in the final stage of its formation. It will soon settle down and enter the main sequence, the mature stage of stellar life.

Detailed studies of the nebula in infrared light revealed about 600 brown dwarfs. These substellar objects have less than a tenth the mass of the sun and are therefore too small to ignite nuclear fusion in their interior. They form a small cluster of stars called the Sh2-106 IR Cluster around the nebula. The distance from us is about 2000 light years. [145, 308, 563]

Data for Sh 2-106 from Simbad [145]
DesignationSh 2-106, M 1-99
Right ascension (J2000)20h 27m 26.8s
Declination (J2000)+37° 22' 49"

Further infos at CDS: Sh 2-106

Finder Chart

The nebula is in the eastern wing of the Cygnus (Swan), about one degree northwest of vdB 133 around the star 44 Cygni. In the months of April to November this constellation is favorable for observation.

Chart Galactic Nebula Sharpless 2-106
Galactic Nebula Sharpless 2-106 in constellation Cygnus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
308Hubble Serves Up a Holiday Snow Angel; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/science/snow-angel.html (2021-04-11)
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
454«NEW EMISSION NEBULAE (II)» R. Minkowski; Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, Volume 59, Number 350; 1947; DOI:10.1086/125962
563Young star rebels against its parent cloud; esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Young_star_rebels_against_its_parent_cloud (2021-04-11)

Galaktischer Nebel Sharpless 2-106

Sharpless 2-106
Sharpless 2-106: Emissionsnebel in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+45+45+45 min LRGBB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Dieser Emissionsnebel wurde 1946 vom deutschen Astronomen Rudolph Minkowski am Mount Wilson Observatorium entdeckt und als M 1-99 katalogisiert. [454] Der amerikanische Astronom Stewart Sharpless katalogisierte den Nebel in den 1950er Jahren als Sh2-106 (S106) und veröffentlichte dies 1959 in seiner zweiten Ausgabe des Sharpless-Katalogs. [310]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Nebel sieht dank seiner bipolaren Erscheinungsform auf den ersten Blick einem planetarischem Nebel ähnlich, doch es handelt sich um einen galaktischen Nebel, bestehend aus leuchtendem, ionisiertem Wasserstoffgas (H-II Region), und Staubwolken, welche entweder Licht absorbieren oder reflektieren.

Sh2-106
Sh2-106: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [308]

Im Inneren des Nebels befindet sich ein massereicher, junger Stern, welcher die Bezeichnung S106 IRS4 (Infrared Source 4) trägt. An seinen Polen stösst er mit hoher Geschwindigkeit superheisses Gas ins kühlere, interstellare Medium. Das umliegende Gas wird auf etwa 10'000 Kelvin aufgeheizt, ionisiert und dadurch zum Leuchten gebracht. Ein den Zentralstern umkreisenden Ring aus kühlerem Staub und Gas verdeckt den Zentralstern bildet einen Gürtel und formt so eine Struktur, welche an eine Sanduhr erinnert. Der Zentralstern besitzt etwa 15 Sonnenmassen und befindet sich im finalen Stadium seiner Entstehung. Er wird sich bald beruhigen und in die Hauptreihe eintreten, dem erwachsenen Stadium eines stellaren Lebens.

Detaillierte Studien des Nebels im Infrarotlicht enthüllten etwa 600 braune Zwerge. Diese substellare Objekte besitzen weniger als ein Zehntel Sonnenmasse und sind dadurch zu klein, um in ihrem Inneren eine Kernfusion zu zünden. Sie bilden um den Nebel einen kleinen Sternhaufen mit der Bezeichnung Sh2-106 IR Cluster. Die Entfernung von uns beträgt rund 2000 Lichtjahre. [145, 308, 563]

Daten für Sh 2-106 aus Simbad [145]
BezeichnungenSh 2-106, M 1-99
Rektaszension (J2000)20h 27m 26.8s
Deklination (J2000)+37° 22' 49"

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Sh 2-106

Auffindkarte

Der Nebel befindet sich im östlichen Flügel des Schwans, etwa ein Grad nordwestlich von vdB 133 um den Stern 44 Cygni. In den Monaten April bis November steht dieses Sternbild günstig für die Beobachtung.

Karte Galaktischer Nebel Sharpless 2-106
Galaktischer Nebel Sharpless 2-106 im Sternbild Cygnus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
308Hubble Serves Up a Holiday Snow Angel; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/science/snow-angel.html (2021-04-11)
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
454«NEW EMISSION NEBULAE (II)» R. Minkowski; Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, Volume 59, Number 350; 1947; DOI:10.1086/125962
563Young star rebels against its parent cloud; esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Young_star_rebels_against_its_parent_cloud (2021-04-11)