Turtle Nebula (NGC 6210)

NGC 6210
NGC 6210: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA, Judy Schmidt [165]

History

This planetary nebula was first recorded on 22 March 1799 by the French astronomer Jérôme Lalande. He measured its position very accurately for his star catalogue «Histoire céleste française» which appeared in 1801. But Lalande did not recognize the true nature of what he thought was a star and hence Dreyer credited Wilhelm Struve for its discovery. Struve found the object in 1825 while he was searching for double stars with the 9.6 inch f/17.8 Fraunhofer refractor at Dorpat (Tartu) in Estland. He found 13 NGC objects which he published in 1827. [196]

John Herschel observed this planetary nebula on 25 May 1830. He cataloged it as h 1970 and noted: «Struve's fifth nebula in the list at the end of the Dorpat Catalogue of double stars. Very bright equal to a star 8 or 8.9 magnitude. 8" diameter, and of a uniform light, but with the edges boiling and ragged. A fine object like a star out of focus. Viewed between clouds. Struve's place.» [466]

Physical Properties

The dying central star of the planetary nebula NGC 6210 is surrounded by a complicated structure, which looks like a «nautilus shell». The remarkable features of this nebula are the numerous holes in the inner shells with jets of material streaming from them. These jets produce column-shaped features that are mirrored in the opposite direction. The multiple shells of material ejected by the dying star give this planetary nebula its odd form. The fainter outer structure resembles a «tortoise» (sea turtle). This is how the PN got its nickname «Turtle Nebula».

Material flung off by this central star is streaming out of holes it punched in the nautilus shell. At least four jets of material can be seen: a pair near 6 and 12 o'clock and another near 2 and 8 o'clock. In each pair, the jets are directly opposite each other, exemplifying their bipolar nature. The jets are thought to be driven by a fast wind – material propelled by radiation from the hot central star. In the inner shell, bright rims outline the escape holes created by this wind. This same wind appears to give rise to the prominent outer jet in the same direction. The hole in the inner shell acts like a hose nozzle, directing the flow of material.

NGC 6210 is about 6,600 light-years away. The nebula measures 1.6 light-years from the very top of the turtle-shaped form to the tip of the bottom. The inner nautilus shell is about 0.5 light-years in diameter. [482]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G043.1+37.7: NGC 6210, PK 43+37.1, ARO 5, EM* CDS 904;VV 82, VV' 143
Right Ascension (J2000.0)16h 44m 29s
Declination (J2000.0)+23° 47' 48"
Dimensions 16.2" (optical)
Radial Velocity-36.2 km/s ± 1.1 km/s
Expansion Velocity 21.0 km/s (O-III), 35.5 km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG +23 1564, AG82 216, BD +24 3048A, GCRV 9624, HD 151121, IDS 16403+23.59A, PLX 3808
C-Star Magnitude12.44 mag (B filter), 12.66 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeO6, O(H)
DiscovererSTRUVE 1827

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 6210 is located in the constellation Hercules. The best observation time is from March to October.

Chart Turtle Nebula (NGC 6210)
Turtle Nebula (NGC 6210) in constellation Hercules. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±25°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
165Flickr: Judy Schmidt; flickr.com/people/geckzilla (2021-01-02)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
466«Observations of nebulæ and clusters of stars, made at Slough, with a twenty-feet reflector, between the years 1825 and 1833» John Frederick William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1833, Pages: 359-505; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1833.0021
482A Turtle-Shaped Nebula, NGC 6210, and the Structure around its Star; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/1998/36/720-Image.html (2022-02-03)

Schildkröten-Nebel (NGC 6210)

NGC 6210
NGC 6210: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA, Judy Schmidt [165]

Geschichte

Dieser planetarische Nebel wurde erstmals am 22. März 1799 vom französischen Astronomen Jérôme Lalande aufgezeichnet. Für seinen Sternkatalog «Histoire céleste française», der 1801 erschien, vermass er seine Position sehr genau. Leider hielt Lalande das Objekt für einen Stern, weshalb Dreyer Wilhelm Struve als Entdecker angab. Struve fand das Objekt im Jahre 1825, als er mit dem 9.6 Zoll f/17.8 Fraunhofer-Refraktor in Dorpat (Tartu) in Estland nach Doppelsternen suchte. Er fand insgesamt 13 NGC-Objekte, die er 1827 veröffentlichte. [196]

John Herschel beobachtete diesen planetarischen Nebel am 25. Mai 1830. Er katalogisierte ihn als h 1970 und notierte: «Struves fünfter Nebel in der Liste am Ende des Dorpat-Katalogs der Doppelsterne. Sehr hell, gleich einem Stern der Grösse 8 oder 8,9. 8" Durchmesser und von einem gleichmässigen Licht, aber mit sprudelnden und zerrissenen Rändern. Ein feines Objekt wie ein unscharfer Stern. Zwischen Wolken betrachtet. Struves Platz.» [466]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der sterbende Zentralstern des planetarischen Nebels NGC 6210 ist von einer komplizierten Struktur umgeben, die wie eine «Nautilus-Schale» aussieht. Die bemerkenswerten Merkmale dieses Nebels sind die zahlreichen Löcher in den inneren Hüllen, aus denen Materialstrahlen strömen. Diese Jets erzeugen säulenförmige Merkmale, die in die entgegengesetzte Richtung gespiegelt sind. Die zahlreichen Materialhüllen, die von dem sterbenden Stern ausgestossen werden, verleihen diesem planetarischen Nebel seine seltsame Form. Die schwächere äussere Struktur ähnelt einer Meeresschildkröte. So kam der PN zu seinem Spitznamen «Schildkrötennebel».

Material, das von diesem Zentralstern weggeschleudert wird, strömt aus Löchern, die er in die Nautilusschale gestanzt hat. Mindestens vier Materialstrahlen sind zu sehen: ein Paar bei 6 und 12 Uhr und ein weiteres bei 2 und 8 Uhr. In jedem Paar liegen sich die Düsen direkt gegenüber, was ihre bipolare Natur veranschaulicht. Es wird angenommen, dass die Jets von einem schnellen Wind angetrieben werden – Material, das durch Strahlung des heissen Zentralsterns angetrieben wird. In der Innenschale umranden helle Ränder die durch diesen Wind entstandenen Fluchtlöcher. Dieser gleiche Wind scheint den markanten äusseren Jet in der gleichen Richtung entstehen zu lassen. Das Loch in der Innenschale wirkt wie eine Schlauchtülle und lenkt den Materialfluss.

NGC 6210 ist etwa 6.600 Lichtjahre entfernt. Der Nebel misst 1.6 Lichtjahre von der Spitze der schildkrötenförmigen Form bis zur Spitze des Bodens. Die innere Nautilusschale hat einen Durchmesser von etwa 0.5 Lichtjahren. [482]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G043.1+37.7: NGC 6210, PK 43+37.1, ARO 5, EM* CDS 904;VV 82, VV' 143
Rektaszension (J2000.0)16h 44m 29s
Deklination (J2000.0)+23° 47' 48"
Abmessungen 16.2" (optisch)
Radialgeschwindigkeit-36.2 km/s ± 1.1 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 21.0 km/s (O-III), 35.5 km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG +23 1564, AG82 216, BD +24 3048A, GCRV 9624, HD 151121, IDS 16403+23.59A, PLX 3808
Z-Stern Magnitude12.44 mag (B filter), 12.66 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypO6, O(H)
EntdeckerSTRUVE 1827

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 6210 befindet sich im Sternbild Hercules. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den Monaten März bis Oktober.

Karte Schildkröten-Nebel (NGC 6210)
Schildkröten-Nebel (NGC 6210) im Sternbild Hercules. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±25°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
165Flickr: Judy Schmidt; flickr.com/people/geckzilla (2021-01-02)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
466«Observations of nebulæ and clusters of stars, made at Slough, with a twenty-feet reflector, between the years 1825 and 1833» John Frederick William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1833, Pages: 359-505; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1833.0021
482A Turtle-Shaped Nebula, NGC 6210, and the Structure around its Star; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/1998/36/720-Image.html (2022-02-03)