Footprint Nebula, Minkowskis Footprint (Minkowski 1-92)

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. North is 25.7° right of vertical. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [496]

History

The Minkowski 1-92 nebula was discovered in 1946 by the German-American astronomer Rudolph Minkowski. He was looking for H-α emissions on the photographic plates taken with the 60 inch or 100 inch telescope on Mount Wilson. Minkowski listed it in Table 2 for diffuse and peculiar nebulae, noting: «Binuclear nebula without central star. The north preceding mass has a diameter of about 3" and is separated from the south following fainter mass by a dark lane. The spectrum is that of apeculiar star, showing M-type bands, strong emission lines of H with P Cygni-type absorptions and numerous emission lines of Fe-II and [Fe-II]. The nebula is probably not an emission nebula, but a reflexion nebula which obscures the peculiar star by which it is illuminated.» [397]

The PN does not have a PK number, but Kohoutek's 2000 edition of the «Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» [146] lists it as a possible pre-planetary nebula in Table 5. It is known under the following names: «Minkowski's Footprint» or «Footprint Nebula».

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: Structure of the nebula from model fitting. Velocity field is indicated by the arrows. © V. Bujarrabal et al 1998 [497]

Physical Properties

This protoplanetary nebula features two vast onion-shaped structures either side of an ageing star, giving it a very distinctive shape. Protoplanetary nebulae have short lives, being a preliminary stage to the more common planetary nebula phase. The central star, soon to be a white dwarf, puffing out material due to intense surface pulsations. Charged particle streams, called stellar winds, are shaping this gas into the interesting shapes.

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: The PN is much brighter in infrared light (AllWISE, right) than in visible light (PanSTARRS, left). [147]

Technically speaking Minkowski’s Footprint is currently a reflection nebula as it is only visible due to the light reflected from the central star. In a few thousand years the star will get hotter and its ultraviolet radiation will light up the surrounding gas from within, causing it to glow. At this point it will have become a fully fledged planetary nebula. [496] The northern lobe is inclined about 35° towards the observer. Distance to the nebula is about 2.5 kpc [497]

Further infos at CDS: Min 1-92

Data from Simbad [145]
DesignationsMin 1-92, M 1-92
Object TypePost-AGB Star (proto-PN)
Right Ascension (J2000.0)19h 36m 19s
Declination (J2000.0)+29° 32' 50"
Spectral TypeB0.5IV[e]
Apparent BrightnessU 12.13 mag, B 12.35 mag, V 11.75 mag, R 11.54 mag, J 9.91 mag, H 7.929 mag, K 6.209 mag

Finder Chart

The proto-planetary nebula Minkowski 1-92 is located in the constellation Cygnus and is quite easy to find despite its tiny size. Aim the outermost 4° Telrad circle at the bright star Albireo (β Cygni) so that the center aligns with the line Albireo — η Cygni. There is a right triangle formed by binary star 9 Cygni (5.4 mag), binary star HR 7466 (6.46 mag and 11 mag) and variable star V1745 Cygni (7.44 mag). In the middle of the hypotenuse, which is about 35 arc minutes long, is the mag 9.7 star BD +29 3662 (TYC 2150-142-1) and about 20 arc seconds next to it is the protoplanetary nebula Minkowski 1-92. The best observation time is from March to December.

Chart Footprint Nebula, Minkowskis Footprint (Minkowski 1-92)
Footprint Nebula, Minkowskis Footprint (Minkowski 1-92) in constellation Cygnus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: The position of the proto-planetary nebula Minkowski 1-92 is easy to find using the location map in the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x). The small, acute-angled triangle is quite conspicuous. The star BD +29 3662 is reddish and the proto-PN appears bluish. At higher magnification (11 mm Delite, 163x) the proto-PN appears diffuse and elongated when seen indirectly. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, 2. 8. 2022, SQM 21.21, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
397«New Emission Nebulae» R. Minkowski; Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, Volume 58, Number 344, 1946; DOI:10.1086/125855
496Rare cosmic footprint; esahubble.org/images/potw1128a (2022-02-22)
497«The Structure and Dynamics of the Proto-Planetary Nebula M1-92» V. Bujarrabal, J. Alcolea, and R. Neri; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 504, Number 2, 1998; DOI:10.1086/306129

Fußabdruck-Nebel, Minkowskis Fußabdruck (Minkowski 1-92)

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. Norden ist 25.7° nach rechts oben. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [496]

Geschichte

Der Nebel Minkowski 1-92 wurde 1946 vom deutsch-amerikanischen Astronomen Rudolph Minkowski entdeckt. Er war auf der Suche nach H-α Emissionen auf den Fotoplatten aufgenommen mit dem 60 Zoll oder 100 Zoll Teleskop auf dem Mount Wilson. Minkowski listete ihn in Tabelle 2 für diffuse und eigentümliche Nebel und bemerkte dazu: «Zweikerniger Nebel ohne Zentralstern. Die im Norden vorhergehende Masse hat einen Durchmesser von etwa 3" und ist von der im Süden folgenden schwächeren Masse durch ein dunkles Band getrennt. Das Spektrum ist das eines besonderen Sterns und zeigt Banden vom M-Typ, starke Emissionslinien von H mit Absorptionen vom Cygni-Typ P und zahlreiche Emissionslinien von Fe-II und [Fe-II]. Der Nebel ist wahrscheinlich kein Emissionsnebel, sondern ein Reflexionsnebel, der den besonderen Stern verdeckt, von dem er beleuchtet wird.» [397]

Der PN besitzt keine PK-Nummer, aber in Kohouteks 2000er-Ausgabe des «Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» [146] ist er jedoch in Tabelle 5 als möglicher prä-planetarer Nebel aufgeführt. Er ist unter folgenden Namen bekannt «Minkowskis Fußabdruck» (engl. Minkowski's Footprint) oder «Fußabdruck-Nebel» (engl. Footprint Nebula).

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: Struktur des Nebels gemäß Modell. Das Geschwindigkeitsfeld ist durch die Pfeile angedeutet. © V. Bujarrabal et al 1998 [497]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Dieser protoplanetare Nebel weist zwei riesige zwiebelförmige Strukturen auf beiden Seiten eines alternden Sterns auf, was ihm eine sehr charakteristische Form verleiht. Protoplanetare Nebel haben ein kurzes Leben, da sie eine Vorstufe zur häufigeren planetarischen Nebelphase sind. Der Zentralstern, der bald ein Weißer Zwerg sein wird, stößt aufgrund intensiver Oberflächenpulsationen Material aus. Geladene Partikelströme, Sternwinde genannt, formen dieses Gas in die interessanten Formen.

Minkowski 1-92
Minkowski 1-92: Der PN ist im Infraroten Licht (AllWISE, rechts) viel heller als im sichtbaren Licht (PanSTARRS, links). [147]

Technisch gesehen ist Minkowskis Fußabdruck derzeit ein Reflexionsnebel, da er nur aufgrund des vom Zentralstern reflektierten Lichts sichtbar ist. In einigen tausend Jahren wird der Stern heißer und seine ultraviolette Strahlung wird das umgebende Gas von innen erleuchten und zum Leuchten bringen. An diesem Punkt wird er zu einem vollwertigen planetarischen Nebel geworden sein. [496] Der Nordlappen ist etwa 35° zum Beobachter hin geneigt. Die Entfernung zum Nebel beträgt etwa 2.5 kpc [497]

Daten aus Simbad [145]
BezeichnungenMin 1-92, M 1-92
ObjekttypPost-AGB Star (proto-PN)
Rektaszension (J2000.0)19h 36m 19s
Deklination (J2000.0)+29° 32' 50"
SpektraltypB0.5IV[e]
Scheinbare HelligkeitenU 12.13 mag, B 12.35 mag, V 11.75 mag, R 11.54 mag, J 9.91 mag, H 7.929 mag, K 6.209 mag

Auffindkarte

Der proto-planetarische Nebel Minkowski 1-92 befindet sich in Sternbild Cygnus und ist trotz seiner Winzigkeit recht einfach zu finden. Richte den äußersten 4° Telrad-Kreis auf den hellen Stern Albireo (β Cygni), so dass die Mitte auf die Verbindungslinie Albireo — η Cygni zu liegen kommt. Dort befindet sich ein rechtwinkliges Dreieck gebildet von Doppelstern 9 Cygni (5.4 mag), Doppelstern HR 7466 (6.46 mag und 11 mag) und Variablen V1745 Cygni (7.44 mag). In der Mitte der etwa 35 Bogenminuten langen Hypothenuse befindet sich der 9.7 mag Stern BD +29 3662 (TYC 2150-142-1) und etwa 20 Bogensekunden daneben der proto-planetarische Nebel Minkowski 1-92. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den Monaten März bis Dezember.

Karte Fußabdruck-Nebel, Minkowskis Fußabdruck (Minkowski 1-92)
Fußabdruck-Nebel, Minkowskis Fußabdruck (Minkowski 1-92) im Sternbild Cygnus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Die Position des proto-planetarischen Nebels Minkowski 1-92 ist anhand der Auffindkarte im 21 mm Ethos Okular (85x) leicht zu finden. Das kleine, spitzwinklige Dreieck ist recht auffällig. Der Stern BD +29 3662 ist rötlich und der Proto-PN erscheint bläulich. Bei höherer Vergrößerung (11 mm Delite, 163x) erscheint der Proto-PN bei indirektem Sehen als diffus und länglich. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, 2. 8. 2022, SQM 21.21, Bernd Nies

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
397«New Emission Nebulae» R. Minkowski; Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, Volume 58, Number 344, 1946; DOI:10.1086/125855
496Rare cosmic footprint; esahubble.org/images/potw1128a (2022-02-22)
497«The Structure and Dynamics of the Proto-Planetary Nebula M1-92» V. Bujarrabal, J. Alcolea, and R. Neri; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 504, Number 2, 1998; DOI:10.1086/306129