Cluster with Nebula NGC 1333

NGC 1333
NGC 1333: Cluster with nebula in Perseus; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

History

The galactic nebula NGC 1333 was discovered on December 31, 1855 by the German astronomer Eduard Schönfeld. The nebula has been the subject of much research. The earliest goes back to Edwin Hubble in 1922. [196, 336]

Physical Properties

NGC 1333
NGC 1333: Infrared image taken with Spitzer Space Telescope [351]

NGC 1333 is a bright reflection nebula and is currently the most active area of star formation in the western part of the Perseus molecular cloud. The nebula mainly reflects the light of the B8 spectral class star BD +30°549. It is also home to an open cluster of around 150 young stars with a mean age of one million years and around 100 solar masses, which is divided into two subgroups. The reflection nebula is associated with the dark cloud L1450, also known as Barnard 205. A CO emission cloud extends from there about 1° to the south. The surrounding molecular cloud contains numerous cavities with filaments of dense gas, which, due to the stellar winds, point away from the most active centers of star formation. The molecular mass of the NGC 1333 region is estimated to be around 450 solar masses and the distance to be around 300-350 parsecs (around 980 to 1100 light years). [336, 351]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 1333
TypeRN
Right Ascension03h 29m 18.0s
Declination+31° 25' 00"
Diameter6.00 × 3.0 arcmin
Dreyer DescriptionF, L, * 10 nf (Auw No 17)
IdentificationLBN 741

Finder Chart

Der galaktische Nebel NGC 1333 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Februar, wenn das zirkumpolare Sternbild nachts am höchsten steht.

The galactic nebula NGC 1333 is located in the constellation Perseus. The best time to observe is September to February, when the circumpolar constellation is highest at night.

Chart NGC 1333
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm aperture: With a 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x) and without a filter, only a very faint, elongated, diffuse spot without any structure around the star is barely recognizable. The position can be easily identified from the surrounding stars, since the area there is relatively poor in stars. With an O-III or H-beta filter, nothing can be seen of the nebula. This suggests a reflection nebula. With a 9 mm Nagler eyepiece (200x) the nebula remains weak and diffuse and without structure. You can see a few faint asterisks in the diffuse something. The object is not visually appealing. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
336«NGC 1333: A Nearby Burst of Star Formation» Josh Walawender, J. Bally, J. D. Francesco, J. Jørgensen, January 2008; researchgate.net/publication/237811956_NGC_1333_A_Nearby_Burst_of_Star_Formation (2021-05-20)
351NGC 1333 in the Infrared; spitzer.caltech.edu/image/ssc2005-24a1-ngc-1333-in-the-infrared (2021-05-20)

Sternhaufen mit Nebel NGC 1333

NGC 1333
NGC 1333: Sternhaufen mit Nebel in Perseus; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+3*40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der galaktische Nebel NGC 1333 wurde am 31. Dezember 1855 vom deutschen Astronomen Eduard Schönfeld entdeckt. Der Nebel war Gegenstand zahlreicher Forschungsarbeiten. Die früheste geht auf Edwin Hubble im Jahre 1922 zurück.[196, 336]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 1333
NGC 1333: Infrarotaufnahme mit dem Spitzer Weltraumteleskop [351]

Bei NGC 1333 handelt es sich um einen hellen Reflexionsnebel und aktuell aktivsten Bereich von Sternentstehung im westlichen Teil der Perseus-Molekularwolke. Der Nebel reflektiert hauptsächlich das Licht des B8 Spektralklasse Sterns BD +30°549. Er beherbergt zudem einen offenen Haufen von etwa 150 jungen Sternen mit einem mittleren Alter von einer Million Jahre und etwa 100 Sonnenmassen, welcher sich in zwei Untergruppen unterteilt. Mit dem Reflexionsnebel ist die Dunkelwolke L1450, auch als Barnard 205 bekannt, assoziiert. Eine CO-Emissionswolke erstreckt sich von dort etwa 1° in Richtung Süden. Die umliegende Molekülwolke enthält zahlreiche Hohlräume mit Filamenten von dichtem Gas, welche aufgrund der stellaren Winde von den aktivsten Zentren der Sternentstehung wegweisen. Die molekulare Masse der der NGC 1333 Region wird auf etwa 450 Sonnenmassen und die Entfernung auf etwa 300-350 Parsec (rund 980 bis 1100 Lichtjahre) geschätzt. [336, 351]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 1333
TypRN
Rektaszension03h 29m 18.0s
Deklination+31° 25' 00"
Durchmesser6 × 3 arcmin
Metrische Entfernung0.296 kpc
Dreyer BeschreibungF, L, * 10 nf (Auw No 17)
Identifikation, AnmerkungenLBN 741

Auffindkarte

Der galaktische Nebel NGC 1333 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Februar, wenn das zirkumpolare Sternbild nachts am höchsten steht.

Perseus: NGC 1333
Karte NGC 1333
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Mit 21 mm Ethos Okular (85-fach) und ohne Filter ist nur ein sehr schwacher länglicher diffuser Fleck ohne jegliche Struktur um den Stern knapp erkennbar. Die Position kann an den Umgebungssternen gut identifiziert werden, da die Gegend dort relativ sternarm ist. Mit O-III oder H-beta Filter ist vom Nebel nichts mehr erkennbar. Dies lässt auf einen Reflexionsnebel schliessen. Mit 9 mm Nagler Okular (200-fach) bleibt der Nebel schwach und diffus und ohne Struktur. Man erkennt ein paar schwache Sternchen im diffusen Etwas. Visuell ist dem Objekt nichts ansprechendes abzugewinnen. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
336«NGC 1333: A Nearby Burst of Star Formation» Josh Walawender, J. Bally, J. D. Francesco, J. Jørgensen, January 2008; researchgate.net/publication/237811956_NGC_1333_A_Nearby_Burst_of_Star_Formation (2021-05-20)
351NGC 1333 in the Infrared; spitzer.caltech.edu/image/ssc2005-24a1-ngc-1333-in-the-infrared (2021-05-20)