Diamond with Galaxy NGC 4517

Object Description

Diamond
Diamond: Section from the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

In the December 1991 issue of Monthly Notices, published by the Royal Astronomical Society, Noah Brosch of Tel Aviv University, Israel, presented his study of a recently discovered group of stars in the Virgo constellation:

Five stars of around 13 mag and brighter form a diamond-shaped group with an edge length of only 42 arc seconds. The northern star is TYC 4948-53-1 and has a magnitude in the V-band of 10.8 mag. Its distance is 241 pc (786 ly) and it is moving at 6 km/s in our direction. (Gaia DR2) [145] The western star of this group is a close binary star. There is little chance that five stars of roughly the same brightness will happen to appear so close together. Brosch suspects that the stars of the "diamond" (as he is nicknamed) also interact physically with one another. [101]

The designation Ast J123319-003854 is not official. Ast stands for Asterism and the number are the J2000.0 coordinates.

Typ  : Asterism
Name : Diamond
R.A. : 12h 33m 19s
Dec. : -00° 38' 55"
Mag. : ca. 13
Diam.: 42"
No. *: 5

Galaxy NGC 4517

NGC 4517
NGC 4517: Section from the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

This edge-on galaxy was discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on February 22, 1784 and noted in his classification scheme as IV 5. Herschel's class IV stood for planetary nebulae but also «stars with burs, with milky chevelure, with short rays, remarkable shapes, etc.». He noted: "A pretty bright star with a milky ray south parallel and 15 or 20' long.» [463] Später erhielt diese Galaxie die Bezeichnung NGC 4517 von John L. E. Dreyer in seinem 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars». [313]

On April 14, 1828, the galaxy was discovered again by his son John (h 1277, GC 2996) and was then given the number NGC 4437. According to Dreyer, the description of NGC 4437 is as follows: «faint, extremely extended 75°, 10th magnitude star to the northeast, place is that of the star». But there is nothing at the listed position. According to Corwin, the answer to the problem was suggested by Reinmuth and then confirmed by Dorothy Carlson in her NGC correction list of 1940: The description of the nebula and star exactly matched NGC 4517, which is five minutes further east. Unfortunately, due to a typo (4517 to 4417) in Carlson's list, NGC 4437 was long equated with NGC 4417. Since Corwin pointed out the bug, the identification of NGC 4437 as NGC 4517 has been certain. Today the designation NG 4517 is common. [196]

Distance measurements from NGC 4517 vary from 8.3 Mpc to 17.3 Mpc (27.1 to 56.4 million light years). [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 451712 32 45.6+00 06 56Gx (Sc)11.110.410.5 × 1.5cB, vL, vmE 89°, pB * in contNGC 4437, UGC 7694, MCG 0-32-20, IRAS 12301+0023, FGC 1455, CGCG 14-63, UM 505, KCPG 344B
NGC 4517 A12 32 28.1+00 23 25Gx (SBdm)12.912.54 × 2.6cB, vL, vmE 89°, pB * in contUGC 7685, MCG 0-32-19, CGCG 14-62, Reinmuth 80, KCPG 344A

Where can you find a Diamond?

You will look for this small group of stars in vain in most atlases, which is why you have to rely on this map here. It is best to start with the search at the edge-on galaxy NGC 4517. There you can reach the diamond via the 8.31 mag bright star HD 109204 about 0.8 ° in a southerly direction.

Chart Diamond with Galaxy NGC 4517
Diamond with Galaxy NGC 4517 in constellation Virgo. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

101«A stellar diamond in Virgo» N. Brosch; Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Volume 253, Issue 3, December 1991, Pages 545–548; DOI:10.1093/mnras/253.3.545
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027

Diamant mit Galaxie NGC 4517

Objektbeschreibung

Diamond
Diamond: Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

In der Dezember 1991 Ausgabe der Zeitschrift Monthly Notices, welche von der Royal Astronomical Society herausgegeben wird, stellte Noah Brosch von der Universität in Tel Aviv, Israel, seine Untersuchung einer kürzlich von ihm entdeckten Sterngruppe im Sternbild Virgo vor:

Fünf Sterne von etwa 13 mag und heller formieren sich zu einer rautenförmigen Gruppe von nur 42 Bogensekunden Kantenlänge. Der nördliche Stern ist TYC 4948-53-1 und hat eine Helligkeit im V-Band von 10.8 mag. Seine Entfernung beträgt 241 pc (786 ly) und er bewegt sich mit 6 km/s in unsere Richtung. (Gaia DR2) [145] Der westliche Stern dieser Gruppe ist ein enger Doppelstern. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist gering, dass fünf Sterne von etwa gleicher Helligkeit zufällig so nahe beieinander liegend erscheinen. Brosch vermutet, dass die Sterne des "Diamanten" (so sein Spitzname) auch physisch miteinander in Wechselwirkung stehen. [101]

Die Bezeichnung Ast J123319-003854 ist nicht offiziell. Ast steht für Asterismus und die Nummer sind die J2000.0 Koordinaten.

Typ  : Sterngruppe
Name : Diamond
R.A. : 12h 33m 19s
Dec. : -00° 38' 55"
Mag. : ca. 13
Diam.: 42"
No. *: 5

Galaxie NGC 4517

NGC 4517
NGC 4517: Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Diese Edge-On Galaxie wurde am 22. Februar 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt und in seinem Klassifikationsschema als IV 5 notiert. Herschels Klasse IV stand für Planetarische Nebel aber auch «Sterne mit Graten, mit milchigem Haaren, mit kurzen Strahlen, bemerkenswerte Formen, etc.». Er notierte dazu: «Ein ziemlich heller Stern mit einem milchigen Strahl südlich parallel von 15 oder 20' Länge.» [463] Später erhielt diese Galaxie die Bezeichnung NGC 4517 von John L. E. Dreyer in seinem 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars». [313]

Am 14. April 1828 wurde die Galaxie nochmals von seinem Sohn John entdeckt (h 1277, GC 2996) und erhielt dann die Nummer NGC 4437. Gemäß Dreyer lautet die Beschreibung zu NGC 4437 wie folgt: «schwach, extrem ausgedehnt nach 75°, 10 mag Stern in Nordost, Ort ist der des Sterns». Aber an der verzeichneten Position befindet sich nichts. Gemäß Corwin wurde die Antwort auf das Problem von Reinmuth vorgeschlagen und dann von Dorothy Carlson in ihrer Korrekturliste des NGC von 1940 bestätigt: Die Beschreibung des Nebels und des Sterns passte genau zu NGC 4517, welche fünf Minuten weiter östlich liegt. Leider wurde NGC 4437 aufgrund eines Tippfehlers (4517 zu 4417) in Carlsons Liste lange Zeit mit NGC 4417 gleichgesetzt. Seit Corwin auf den Fehler hingewiesen hat, ist die Identifizierung von NGC 4437 als NGC 4517 sicher. Heute ist die Bezeichnung NG 4517 üblich. [196]

Distanzmessungen von NGC 4517 variieren von 8.3 Mpc bis 17.3 Mpc (27.1 bis 56.4 Millionen Lichtjahre). [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Name RA Dec Typ bMag vMag B-V SB Dim PA z D(z) MD Dreyer Beschreibung Identifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 4517 12 32 45.6 +00 06 56 Gx (Sc) 11.1 10.4 0.7 13.2 10.5 × 1.5 83 0.003764 15.90 9.760 cB, vL, vmE 89°, pB * in cont WH IV 5; GC 3066; NGC 4437; UGC 7694; MCG 0-32-20; IRAS 12301+0023; FGC 1455; CGCG 14-63; UM 505; KCPG 344B
NGC 4517 A 12 32 28.1 +00 23 25 Gx (SBdm) 12.9 12.5 0.4 14.9 4 × 2.6 30 0.005032 21.25 22.680 cB, vL, vmE 89°, pB * in cont WH IV 5; GC 3066; UGC 7685; MCG 0-32-19; CGCG 14-62; Reinmuth 80; KCPG 344A

Wo findet man einen Diamanten?

Diese kleine Sterngruppe sucht man in den meisten Atlanten vergebens, weshalb man auf diese Karte hier angewiesen ist. Am besten beginnt man mit der Suche bei der Edge-On Galaxie NGC 4517. Dort gelangt man über den 8.31 mag hellen Stern HD 109204 etwa 0.8° Grad in südlicher Richtung zu dem Diamanten.

Auffindkarte Diamant mit Galaxie NGC 4517
Diamant mit Galaxie NGC 4517 im Sternbild Virgo. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben