Galaxies NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222

NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222
NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222: Three galaxies in Virgo (v. l. n. r.); 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90-30-30-30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

History

The two galaxies NGC 4189 and NGC 4222 were discovered on 8 April 1784 by the German-British astronomer William Herschel with his self-made 18.7 inch f/12.8 reflecting telescope in Slough, England. A few days later on April 17, he encountered the galaxies NGC 4193, NGC 4206 and 4216 a little further south. [196, 277] This reveals how Herschel proceeded with his discoveries at the time: He adjusted his long, cable-mounted telescope to a certain altitude and let the earth's rotation pass the sky At night he adjusted his telescope to a different altitude and mapped the next strip.

The double entries IC 3050, IC 3051, IC 3064 and IC 3087 come from the German astronomer Friedrich Carl Arnold Schwassmann, who photographed this area of the sky on September 17 and 16 November 1900 with the 6 inch astro camera of the Königstuhl Observatory in Heidelberg. Neither Schwassmann nor Dreyer It was noticeable that the positions with Herschel's discovered NGC 4189, NGC 4193, NGC 4206 and NGC 4222 coincided, which is why they appeared in the «Second Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» published by Dreyer in 1910. This only occurred to the American astronomer in 1930 Adelaide Ames discovered and mapped over 3000 galaxies in Coma Berenices and Virgo. [196, 277]

NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222
NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222: Stellar tidal streams of NGC 4216 plus asteroid (45696) 2000 EM167; 400 mm Cassegrain f/3; SBIG STL11M; 7h LRGB; Oberes Schlierental 1450m ü. M.; © 7. 2. 2011 Eduard von Bergen [30]

Physical Properties

NGC 4216 is an SAB(s)b type barred spiral galaxy and is located on the outskirts of the Virgo Cluster, about 4° from its center (M 87). We see them almost edge-on at an angle of about 85°. In the center is a red and compact core surrounded by characteristic dusty bands. The galaxy is surrounded by a very diffuse stellar halo with filamentous structures and tidal currents. These structures are thought to result from an earlier heavy bombardment from dwarf galaxies. The very low radial velocity of 129 km/s, which is very different from the Virgo cluster's average radial velocity of 1300 km/s, shows that this galaxy is moving relatively fast with respect to the center of the cluster. NGC 4216 is the most massive galaxy within a range of 400 kpc radios. The nearest higher mass galaxy is M 99 at a distance of 420 kpc. [444]

The five galaxies belong to the Virgo cluster and are located at a distance of about 16 Mpc to 38 Mpc. Between NGC 4189 and NGC 4222 lies the IAU boundary of the constellation Virgo. NGC 4189 lies north of this limit and is already in the constellation of Coma Berenices. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Name RA Dec Type bMag vMag B-V SB Dim PA z D(z) MD Dreyer Description Identification, Remarks
NGC 4189 12 13 47.2 +13 25 29 Gx (SBc) 12.5 11.7 0.8 13.1 2.5 × 1.7 85 0.007055 29.80 28.080 F, L, lE, vglbM, r WH II 106; h 1131; GC 2783; IC 3050; UGC 7235; MCG 2-31-54; IRAS 12112+1342; CGCG 69-92; VCC 89; KUG 1211+137
NGC 4193 12 13 53.4 +13 10 22 Gx (SBbc) 13.2 12.3 0.9 13.0 2.2 × 1.1 93 0.008272 34.94 37.160 vF, pL, E, vgbM WH II 163; h 1134; GC 2787; IC 3051; UGC 7234; MCG 2-31-53; IRAS 12113+1326; CGCG 69-91; VCC 97
NGC 4206 12 15 16.7 +13 01 22 Gx (Sbc) 12.8 12.2 0.6 14.1 6.4 × 1.1 0 0.002342 9.89 19.940 F, vmE WH II 165; GC 2795; IC 3064; UGC 7260; MCG 2-31-66; IRAS 12127+1318; CGCG 69-104; VCC 145
NGC 4216 12 15 54.0 +13 08 52 Gx (SBb) 11.0 10.0 1.0 12.8 8.1 × 1.8 19 0.000437 1.85 17.110 vB, vL, vmE 17°, sbMN WH I 35; h 1148; GC 2806; UGC 7284; MCG 2-31-72; CGCG 69-112; VCC 167; IRAS 12133+1325
NGC 4222 12 16 22.6 +13 18 25 Gx (Scd) 13.9 13.3 0.6 13.7 3.1 × 0.5 56 0.000767 3.24 25.370 vF, pS, R WH II 109; GC 2814; UGC 7291; MCG 2-31-75; CGCG 69-119; IRAS 12138+1334; FGC 1396; VCC 187

Finder Chart

The galaxy group is located in the constellation Virgo. The best observation time is February to June, when it is highest at night.

Finder Chart Galaxies NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222
Galaxies NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222 in constellation Coma Berenices. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

  • [30] AOAsky: Astrobilder aus der Sternwarte Oberes Schlierental; aoasky.ch/verein/1d_astrobilder.html
  • [32] Astrofotografie by Radek, Bernie and Dragan; sternwarte.ch
  • [145] SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
  • [149] SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
  • [160] The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
  • [196] Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
  • [277] «Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
  • [444] «The Next Generation Virgo Cluster Survey. IV. NGC 4216: A Bombarded Spiral in the Virgo Cluster» Sanjaya Paudel, Pierre-Alain Duc, Patrick Côté, Jean-Charles Cuillandre, Laura Ferrarese, Etienne Ferriere, Stephen D. J. Gwyn, J. Christopher Mihos, Bernd Vollmer, Michael L. Balogh, Ray G. Carlberg, Samuel Boissier, Alessandro Boselli, Patrick R. Durrell, Eric Emsellem, Lauren A. MacArthur, Simona Mei1, Leo Michel-Dansac, and Wim van Driel; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 767, Number 2, 2013; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/767/2/133

Galaxien NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222
NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222: Drei Galaxien in Virgo (v. l. n. r.); 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90-30-30-30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Die zwei Galaxien NGC 4189 und NGC 4222 wurden am 8. April 1784 vom deutsch-britischen Astronomen Friedrich Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem selbstgebauten 18.7" f/12.8 Spiegelteleskop im englischen Slough entdeckt. Wenige Tage später am 17. April stiess er dann auf die etwas südlicher gelegenen Galaxien NGC 4193, NGC 4206 und 4216. [196, 277] Dies verrät, wie Herschel damals bei seinen Entdeckungen vorging: Er stellte sein mit Seilzügen montiertes, langes Teleskop auf eine bestimmte Höhe ein und liess die Erddrehung den Himmel vorüber ziehen. In der nächsten Nacht verstellte er sein Teleskop auf eine andere Höhe und kartografierte den nächsten Streifen.

Die Doppeleinträge IC 3050, IC 3051, IC 3064 und IC 3087 stammen vom deutschen Astronomen Friedrich Carl Arnold Schwassmann, der am 17. September und 16. November 1900 dieses Himmelsgebiet mit der 6" Astrokamera der Königstuhl Sternwarte in Heidelberg fotografierte. Weder Schwassmann noch Dreyer fiel auf, dass die Positionen mit Herschels entdeckten NGC 4189, NGC 4193, NGC 4206 und NGC 4222 deckten, weshalb sie im 1910 von Dreyer herausgegebenen «Second Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» [315] erschienen sind. Dies fiel erst 1930 der amerikanischen Astronomin Adelaide Ames auf, als sie über 3000 Galaxien in Coma Berenices und Virgo entdeckte und kartografierte. [196, 277]

NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222
NGC 4206, NGC 4216, NGC 4222: Stellare Gezeitenströme von NGC 4216 und Asteroid (45696) 2000 EM167; 400 mm Cassegrain f/3; SBIG STL11M; 7h LRGB; Oberes Schlierental 1450m ü. M.; © 7. 2. 2011 Eduard von Bergen

Bei NGC 4216 handelt es sich um eine Balkenspiralgalaxie des Typs SAB(s)b und befindet sich im Aussenbereich des Virgohaufens, etwa 4° von dessem Zentrum (M 87) entfernt. Wir sehen sie unter einem Neigungswinkel von etwa 85° fast von der Kante. Im Zentrum befindet sich ein roter und kompakter Kern umgeben von charakteristischen Staubbändern. Die Galaxie ist von einem sehr diffusen, stellaren Halo umgeben mit filamentartigen Strukturen und Gezeitenströmen. Es wird vermutet, dass diese Strukturen von einem früheren, heftigen Bombardement von Zwerggalaxien herrührt. Die sehr geringe Radialgeschwindigkeit von 129 km/s, welche sich stark von der durchschnittlichen Radialgeschwindigkeit von 1300 km/s des Virgohaufens unterscheidet, zeigt, dass sich diese Galaxie relativ schnell in Bezug auf das Zentrum des Haufens bewegt. NGC 4216 ist die massereichste Galaxie innerhalb eines Bereichs mit 400 kpc Radios. Die nächstgelegene Galaxie mit höherer Masse ist M 99 in einer Entfernung von 420 kpc. [444]

Die fünf Galaxien gehören zum Virgohaufen und befinden sich in einer Entfernung von etwa 16 Mpc bis 38 Mpc. Zwischen NGC 4189 und NGC 4222 verläuft die IAU-Grenze des Sternbilds Virgo. NGC 4189 liegt nördlich dieser Grenze und befindet sich bereits im Sternbild Coma Berenices. [145]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
PGC 39025, NGC 4189, IC 305012 13 46.7+13 25 36SB2.5 x 1.712.5211285
PGC 39040, NGC 4193, IC 305112 13 53.4+13 10 27SB2.2 x 1.113.2247493
PGC 39183, NGC 4206, IC 306412 15 16.5+13 01 30S6.4 x 1.112.87020
PGC 39246, NGC 421612 15 53.0+13 08 58SB7.8 x 1.811.112919
PGC 39308, NGC 4222, IC 308712 16 22.6+13 18 31S3.1 x .513.922656

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxiengruppe befindet sich im Sternbild Virgo. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Februar bis Juni, wenn es nachts am höchsten steht.

Karte Galaxien NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222
Galaxien NGC 4206, NGC 4216 & NGC 4222 im Sternbild Coma Berenices. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
315«Second Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars; containing objects found in the years 1895 to 1907, with Notes and Corrections to the New General Catalogue and to the Index Catalogue for 1888–94» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1910); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 59: 105–198; Bibcode:1910MmRAS..59..105D
444«The Next Generation Virgo Cluster Survey. IV. NGC 4216: A Bombarded Spiral in the Virgo Cluster» Sanjaya Paudel, Pierre-Alain Duc, Patrick Côté, Jean-Charles Cuillandre, Laura Ferrarese, Etienne Ferriere, Stephen D. J. Gwyn, J. Christopher Mihos, Bernd Vollmer, Michael L. Balogh, Ray G. Carlberg, Samuel Boissier, Alessandro Boselli, Patrick R. Durrell, Eric Emsellem, Lauren A. MacArthur, Simona Mei1, Leo Michel-Dansac, and Wim van Driel; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 767, Number 2, 2013; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/767/2/133