Messier 31, Andromeda Galaxy

Messier 31
Messier 31: Andromeda Galaxy; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

History

The Andromeda galaxy was already mentioned in 905 BC. Mentioned BC by the Persian astronomer Al Sufi and was marked on star maps as a "small cloud" long before the invention of the telescope in 1609.

The first observation with a telescope is usually attributed to the German astronomer Simon Marius in 1611 or 1612. He compared the faint glow to that of a candle shining through a horn. Early astronomers suspected that the «Andromeda Nebula» consisted of glowing gas and that a nearby planetary system was being formed. Spectroscopic analyzes nullified this theory and showed that the light must have come from countless stars.

Messier 31
Messier 31: Image with and without solarisation; 500/2500 mm Newton + SBIG ST-6; Observatory Bülach; © 1996 Stefan Meister

The first indications of the true nature and dimensions of this spiral nebula emerged in late 1923 when several Cepheid variables were found. In a study of these Cepheids using the 100 inch telescope on Mount Wilson, Edwin Hubble finally proved that this must be an extragalactic object and deduced a preliminary distance of 900'000 light years. His publication ended the long controversy about nature this «spiral nebula». Later studies with the newly completed 200 inch telescope showed that the Cepheids in the Andromeda galaxy could be divided into two different populations with different luminosity and that earlier distance measurements were off by a factor of 2-3. [4] Current measurements on Simbad show a distance of 2.5 to 2.6 million light years and that M 31 is moving in our direction at a speed of around 300 km/s. [145]

Physical Properties

M 31 is the largest and closest to us spiral galaxy - apart of course from our own galaxy, the Milky Way with its companions. It owns four small, elliptical companion galaxies, which are located in their gravitational field. Two of them (M 32 and M 110) are in the immediate vicinity. The other two (NGC 147 and NGC 185) lie around 7° to the north in the constellation Cassiopeia. NGC 206 is a bright star cloud within the galaxy M 31. Furthermore, M 31 is home to many globular clusters, of which G1, Mayall II is the brightest.

Messier 31
Messier 31: Andromeda Galaxy, while waiting for comet Neowise to rise. Cropped original photo; Nikon D850; Nikkor 300 mm 2.8D; Vixen GP-DX mount; L: 29*30s + D: 16*30s, ISO 800; Bözberg, Aargau; © 10. Juli 2020 Bernd Nies
M 31
M 31: Andromeda Galaxy; FSQ 106 on AOK Herkules V12 mount, Moravian G3-16200; R 15x5 min, G 15x5 min, B 16x5 min; Lü-Stailas; © 9. 8. 2021 Stefan Berchten, Hansjörg Wälchli
NGC 206 + M 32
NGC 206 + M 32: Star cloud NGC 206 and companion galaxy M 32; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (f=2500 mm / f10), SBIG ST-8300; 21L x 600 sec 1×1, 10R, 14G, 15B 2×2 x 600sec, 12HA x 1200 sec; Bernese Highlands; © 2017 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic
NGC 206
NGC 206: Star cloud NGC 206 in Andromeda Galaxie M 31; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 206
NGC 206: Sternwolke in M 31; RC 500 on AOK Herkules V48 mount; SBIG STL-11000M/C2; -30 °C chip temperature, R/G/B unbinned, R 12×5 min, G 10×5 min, B 10×5 min; Son Bi Observatory, Mallorca; © 1.–3. 12. 2016 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli
Messier 110 (NGC 205)
Messier 110 (NGC 205): Companion of Andromeda Galaxie; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 150+40+40+40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 147 00 33 11.7+48 30 26Gx (E5/P)10.59.513.20 × 7.8vF, vL, iR, gsmbM * 11UGC 326, MCG 8-2-5, DDO 3, CGCG 550-6
NGC 185 00 38 57.6+48 20 14Gx (E3)10.19.28.00 × 7.0pB, vL, iR, vgmbM, rUGC 396, MCG 8-2-10, CGCG 550-9, IRAS 00362+4803
NGC 205 00 40 22.1+41 41 07Gx (E5)8.98.119.50 × 11.5vB, vL, mE 165°, vgvmbMM 110, UGC 426, MCG 7-2-14, CGCG 535-14, IRAS 00376+4124
NGC 206 00 40 32.3+40 44 18GxyP14.04.20vF, vL, mE 0°part of M 31
NGC 221 00 42 41.8+40 51 57Gx (E2)9.08.18.50 × 6.5! vvB, L, R, psmbMNM 32, UGC 452, MCG 7-2-15, IRAS 00399+4035, ARAK 12, Arp 168, CGCG 535-16
NGC 224 00 42 44.3+41 16 08Gx (Sb)4.43.4189.10 × 61.7!!! eeB, eL, vmE (Andromeda)M 31, UGC 454, MCG 7-2-16, CGCG 535-17, Andromeda nebula

Finder Chart

M 31 is located in the constellation Andromeda, only 1° 20' from the 4.5 mag bright star ν Andromedae. The best observation time is July to February.

Chart Messier 31
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

M 31, M 32, M 110
M 31, M 32, M 110: Pencil drawing; Borg 125/800 f/6.4 ED Apo; © Jozef Cukas

Visible to the eye as a blurred star or nebula. The full extent or size can be seen in the binoculars. The companion galaxies M 32 and M 110 can already be seen in a small amateur telescope. M 32 is almost spherical, while M110 appears elliptical. In addition to the bright core of M 31, the two black dust bands are easily perceptible in medium-sized telescopes. In larger telescopes, nodes or blurred globular clusters that belong to the galaxy become visible. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Nagler 31mm, 46x, 1.78°
Eduard von Bergen

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Messier 31, Andromedagalaxie

Objektbeschreibung

Messier 31
Messier 31: Andromeda-Galaxie. Ausschnitt aus dem Originalfoto. 10. Juli 2020 auf dem Bözberg bei Halbmond, wartend bis Komet Neowise aufgeht; Nikon D850 mit Nikkor 300 mm 2.8D auf Vixen GP-DX Montierung; L: 29*30s + D: 16*30s, ISO 800; Bözberg, Aargau; © 10. Juli 2020 Bernd Nies

Die Andromeda-Galaxie M 31 ist die grösste und uns am nächsten gelegene Spiralgalaxie — abgesehen natürlich von unserer eigenen Galaxis, der Milchstrasse mit ihren Begleitern. Sie wurde bereits 905 v. Chr. vom persischen Astronomen Al Sufi erwähnt und war als «kleine Wolke» schon lange vor der Erfindung des Teleskops 1609 auf Sternkarten eingezeichnet.

Die erste Beobachtung mit Teleskop wird üblicherweise dem deutschen Astronomen Simon Marius im Jahr 1611 oder 1612 zugeschrieben. Er verglich das schwache Scheinen mit der einer durch Horn scheinenden Kerze. Frühe Astronomen vermuteten, dass der «Andromedanebel» aus leuchtendem Gas bestünde und ein nahe gelegenes Planetensystem in der Entstehung sei. Spektroskopische Analysen machten diese Theorie zunichte und zeigten, dass das Licht von unzähligen Sternen stammen musste.

Messier 31
Messier 31: Aufnahme mit und ohne Solarisation; 500/2500 mm Newton + SBIG ST-6; Sternwarte Bülach; © 1996 Stefan Meister

Erste Indizien der wahren Natur und Dimension dieses Spiralnebels tauchten Ende 1923 auf, als mehrere Cepheid-Veränderliche gefunden wurde. In einer Studie dieser Cepheiden mittels dem 100"-Teleskop auf Mount Wilson bewies Edwin Hubble endgültig, dass es sich hier um ein extragalaktisches Objekt handeln musste und leitete eine vorläufige Entfernung von 900'000 Lichtjahren ab. Seine Veröffentlichte beendete die lange Kontroverse um die Natur dieser «Spiralnebel». Spätere Studien mit dem neu fertiggestellten 200"-Teleskop zeigten, dass sich die Cepheiden in der Andromeda-Galaxie in zwei unterschiedliche Populationen mit unterschiedlichen Leuchtstärken unterteilen liessen und frühere Entfernungsbestimmungen um den Faktor 2-3 daneben lagen. [4] Aktuelle Messungen auf Simbad geben eine Entfernung von 2.5 bis 2.6 Millionen Lichtjahre und dass sich M 31 mit einer Geschwindigkeit von rund 300 km/s in unsere Richtung bewegt. [145]

M 31 besitzt vier kleine, elliptische Begleitgalaxien, welche sich in ihrem Schwerefeld befinden. Zwei von ihnen (M 32 und M 110) liegen in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft. Die anderen zwei (NGC 147 und NGC 185) liegen rund 7° in nördlicher Richtung im Sternbild Cassiopeia. Bei NGC 206 handelt es sich um eine helle Sternenwolke innerhalb der Galaxie M 31. Weiterhin ist M 31 Heimat vieler Kugelsternhaufen, von denen G1, Mayall II der hellste ist.

— 9. 2. 2021, Bernd Nies

NGC 206
NGC 206: Sternenwolke NGC 206 in Andromedagalaxie M 31; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 90+30+30+30 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 206 + M 32
NGC 206 + M 32: Sternwolke NGC 206 und Begleitgalaxie M 32; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (f=2500 mm / f10), SBIG ST-8300; 21L x 600 sec 1×1, 10R, 14G, 15B 2×2 x 600sec, 12HA x 1200 sec; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2017 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic
Messier 110 (NGC 205)
Messier 110 (NGC 205): Begleiter der Andromedagalaxie; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 150+40+40+40 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 147Gx00 33.2+48 30Cas12.99.3vF, vL, iR, gsmbM *11
NGC 185Gx00 39.0+48 20Cas11.59.2pB, vL, iR, vgmbM, r
NGC 205Gx00 40.4+41 41And17.48.0vB, vL, mE 165deg , vgvmbM; = M110
NGC 206C+N00 40.6+40 44AndvF, vL, mE 0deg
NGC 221Gx00 42.7+40 52And7.68.2! vvB, L, R, psmbMN; = M32
NGC 224Gx00 42.7+41 16And178.3.5!!! eeB, eL, vmE (Andromeda); = M31

Auffindkarte

M 31 befindet sich im Sternbild Andromeda, nur 1° 20' vom 4.5 mag hellen Stern ν Andromedae entfernt. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Juli bis Februar.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Visuelle Beobachtung

Von Auge als verwaschener Stern oder Nebelfleck erkennbar. Im Feldstecher ist das ganze Ausmass bzw. die Grösse erkennbar. Die Begleitgalaxien M32 und M110 zeigen sich bereits in einem kleinen Amateurfernrohr. M32 ist fast kugelförmig, während M110 elliptisch erscheint. Neben dem hellen Kern von M31 sind problemlos in mittleren Teleskopen die beiden schwarzen Staubbänder wahrnehmbar. In grösseren Teleskopen werden Knoten bzw. verwaschene Kugelsternhaufen, welche zur Galaxie gehören, sichtbar. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Nagler 31mm, 46x, 1.78°
Eduard von Bergen

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.