Galaxies M 81, M82 & NGC 3077

History

The well-known galaxy pair M 81 and M 82 was discovered by the Berlin astronomer J. E. Bode on 31 December 1774 - hence the somewhat less common name Bode's Nebula for M 81. A little over six years later, in February 1781, Charles Messier added these two galaxies to his famous list of nebulous objects. Lord Rosse compared M 81 with the Andromeda Nebula and discovered some dark bands of dust in M 82 for the first time. [4, 196, 277]

Messier 81/82, NGC 3077
Messier 81/82, NGC 3077: Galaxies in Ursa Major; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher
Messier 81/82
Messier 81/82: Galaxies in Ursa Major; ED-Apo 115mm f/7.7 + STL11000M; L:95min R:25min G:25min B:25min; Obwalden; © 2009 Eduard von Bergen
Messier 81
Messier 81: Bodes Galaxy in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 110+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
M 81
M 81: Bodes Galaxy in Ursa Major; RC 500 auf AOK Herkules V48 Montierung; SBIG STL-11000M/C2; -30 °C Chiptemperatur, R/G/B ungebinnt: R 11×5 min, G 12×5 min, B 9×5 min; Son Bi Observatory, Mallorca; © 1.–3. 12. 2016 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli

Physical Properties of M 81 (Bodes Galaxy)

M 81
M 81: Composite of images from the Hubble Space Telescope (blue), Spitzer Space Telescope (infrared) and Galaxy Evolution Explorer (ultraviolet). © ESA/Hubble & NASA [179]

In photographs from large telescopes, M 81 shows itself to be one of the most magnificent galaxies in the northern sky, remarkable for its strikingly symmetrical structure and dynamic appearance. The spiral windings surround a bright, egg yolk-shaped central mass, which undoubtedly consists of millions of insoluble, faint individual stars. In this bright central region there is an almost stellar core compression, which, however, cannot be seen in most of the photographs due to severe overexposure. The well-defined spiral arms are bounded on their inside by thin bands of dust, which can be followed on briefly exposed images up to 35 arc seconds close to the core. The arms themselves appear well dissolved in star clouds and nebulae.

With a density of about 0.1 solar masses per cubic parsec, M 81 is one of the densest known galaxies. It has about twice the density of a typical spiral galaxy like the Andromeda Galaxy M 31, which is comparable in appearance. Well over a third of the mass seems to be concentrated in the central bulge.

The redshift of M 81 reveals its movement of about 42 km / s in the direction of our solar system. The distance was determined to be around 11 million light years with the help of the 32 Cepheids discovered by the Hubble Space Telescope. The inclination of the axis of rotation to our line of sight is 65 degrees.

M 81 shows traces of an interaction with the neighboring galaxies M 82 and NGC 3077. On images obtained with the Very Large Array radio telescope, weak bridges of interstellar gas can be seen between the three galaxies. A collision between M 81 and M 82 around 200 million years ago could be the cause. Immediately to the east of M 81 there is a weak compression of gas and stars called Holmberg IX. This shows similarity to the Magellanic Clouds, the two dwarf companion systems of the Milky Way. Presumably these were also caused by a collision.

On 28 March 1993, a supernova (SN 1993J) occurred in M 81. It was discovered by the Spanish amateur astronomer Francisco Garcia with his 25 cm telescope. At the time of its discovery, he estimated the SN to be 12 mag. 24 hours earlier, the SN could not be made out on a CCD image with the limit brightness of 16 mag of another amateur astronomer in France. About a month later, the Type IIb supernova reached a second maximum of 10.5 mag. The precursor of this supernova has been identified photographically with a K0 supergiant with 10 to 18 solar masses.

Physical Properties of M 82 (Cigar Galaxy)

Messier 82
Messier 82: Cigar Galaxy in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 105+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

The galaxy M 82 is a peculiar object that can easily be mistaken for an edge-on spiral galaxy in small telescopes. Photographs with large telescopes, however, show an amorphous, extensive mass of rather misty appearance, divided into hazy strands and filaments along the edges and traversed by dark, irregular, light-absorbing clouds of dust. The integrated spectral type of this system is about A5, but color measurements show that the outer areas are bluer than the central region. However, the entire color index is equivalent to class G0. The discrepancy between the integrated spectral class and the color index was assigned to a reddening of the starlight due to large amounts of dust in the galaxy. Another strange peculiarity is the strongly polarized light from parts of M 82, which suggests the presence of a strong magnetic field. In 1962, a strong radio source was first discovered in the core area of ​​M 82. Today it is believed that these are the remains of numerous supernovae.

M 82
M 82: Images taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. Composite of six images with different color filters and infrared. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [178]

The filigree gas plumes, which are explosively directed radially from the center about 10'000 light years out of the galaxy plane, are caused by two elongated gas bubbles that are oriented almost perpendicular to the disk of M 82 and touch each other in the core. It appears as if the filaments are following strong magnetic field lines. They also shine very strongly in the H-alpha range at 656.3 nm. Spectroscopic studies have shown that this matter is moving away from the center of the galaxy at around 1000 km/s. But the speed decreases rapidly with increasing distance from the core. At a distance of 3500 light years it is only about 350 km/s. After another 1000 light years it is negligibly small. The total expanding mass was estimated to be around 5 million solar masses.

Presumably on a cosmic scale, only about 1.5 million years ago, a huge eruption occurred recently in the central region of M 82. This activity could have been triggered by gravitational disturbances from the neighboring galaxy M 81. Obviously, a starburst has started, in which a large number of new stars are formed in the galaxy's core within a short time. The heat and radiation generated in this way drive masses of gas and dust in the direction of the galaxy poles from the plane of the system into intergalactic space.

Physical Properties of Galaxy NGC 3077

NGC 3077
NGC 3077: Colour adjusted section of the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

The galaxy NGC 3077 is an irregular galaxy of the non-magellanic type (according to the Deep-Sky Field Guide to Uranometria). At LEDA, however, there is the specification of the Hubble type of «Sd», which is a spiral galaxy with very wide open spiral arms. Dreyer described the galaxy as quite bright and large, with a brighter center and a round shape. NGC 3077 belongs to the same group as M 81 and M 82. There are even traces of an interaction with M 81.

M 81 and M82 form the center of a small group of about ten other galaxies, including NGC 3077, NGC 2976, NGC 2366, IC 2574, Holmberg II and NGC 2403. At a distance of about 6.5 to 9 million light years, the M 81 Group next to the Sculptor group, possibly the closest to our local group.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 303109 55 33.5+69 04 02Gx (Sb)7.96.924.9 × 11.5! eB, eL, E 156°, gsvmbMBNM 81, UGC 5318, MCG 12-10-10, IRAS 09514+6918, KCPG 218A, CGCG 333-7, Bode's nebulae
NGC 303409 55 54.0+69 40 59Gx (Sd)9.38.411.2 × 4.3vB, vL, vmE (ray)M 82, UGC 5322, MCG 12-10-11, IRAS 09517+6954, KCPG 218B, CGCG 333-8, PRC D-13, Arp 337, 3C 231, Ursa Major A, Bode's nebulae
NGC 307710 03 20.3+68 44 06Gx (Sd)10.69.95.2 × 4.7cB, cL, mbM, R with rayUGC 5398, MCG 12-10-17, CGCG 333-13, IRAS 09592+6858, near SAO 15054

Finder Chart

Since the pair of galaxies is located very far north in the sky, the search with equatorially mounted telescopes is a little more laborious. With some types of mounts, the two galaxies are even in the 'dead' area around the north celestial pole. But there is still a good trick: The 4.1 mag bright λ Draconis is the right of the two dragon stars above the box of the Big Dipper. It has roughly the same declination as the galaxy pair M81 and M82. The telescope is equipped with a large field eyepiece (about one to two degrees field of view), pointed at λ Draconis (Giansar) and then rotated about one and a half angular hours to the west in an anti-clockwise direction around the north celestial pole. The two galaxies are immediately visible in the field of view. The galaxies are circumpolar and are highest in the sky at night from December to June.

Chart Galaxies M 81, M82 & NGC 3077
Galaxies M 81, M82 & NGC 3077 in constellation Ursa Maior. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

M 81, M 82
M 81, M 82: Pencil drawing; Borg 125/800 f/6.4 ED Apo; © Jozef Cukas
M 82
M 82: Pencil drawing; 300mm f/4 Newton, 300x; © 30. 5. 1997 Bernd Nies

300 mm aperture: The two galaxies M 81 and M 82 are already noticeable at a low magnification of about 25 times in the field of view and are therefore unmistakable. M 81 appears much brighter and larger than M 82 and shows a stellar core. In neither of the two galaxies, however, can any structures be seen. If you zoom in about 50 times, you think you can see a small asterisk in the bright central area of ​​M 82, which, however, can no longer be verified with increasing magnification. The first structures of the dust bands can be seen in M ​​82 from a magnification of about 80 times. The visibility of the dust bands increases with the magnification. The optimum turns out to be about 300 times. The galaxy M 81, which looks so beautifully filigree in the photograph in Fig. 2, offers a rather disappointing sight at every enlargement: Neither the spiral arms nor the fine dust bands can be seen. The galaxy appears only as an elliptical diffuse spot with a stellar center. The smaller galaxy NGC 3077 can easily be overlooked at a magnification of around 25 times, but is easily recognizable from 50 times. It appears round with an increase in brightness towards the center. — 1997, Bernd Nies

M 81 + M 82
M 81 + M 82: Pencil drawing; 12.5" Ninja-Dobson f/4.5, TV-Nagler 13 mm, 111x, 0.74°; Langis 1440 m; © 24. 2. 2003, 21:30 Eduard von Bergen

320 mm aperture: With a good view of the M 81, its two fine, tapering spiral arms are also visible. The many bright foreground stars help to reliably verify the exact course. A medium to smaller magnification is to be used for the spiral arms, but this in turn requires a black, unlit sky. The nearby galaxy M 82 shows itself in the edge position. The two dark cuts in the M 82, which can already be seen with smaller telescopes, are noticeable. In the middle and larger ones, further, fine structures become visible. [192] — 12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 111x, 0.74° Eduard von Bergen

Messier 81
Messier 81: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; 30" SlipStream Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam video camera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen
Messier 82
Messier 82: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; 30" SlipStream Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam video camera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm aperture: The visual impression can be reproduced with a MallinCam video camera and an integration time of around three seconds. A tracking 30" f/3.3 SlipStream Dobsonian was used. The resulting image comes very close to visual vision with a 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos eyepiece. — 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

More Objects Nearby (±20°)

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
178Happy Sweet Sixteen, Hubble Telescope! – Starburst Galaxy M82; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2006/14/1876-Image.html (2020-12-21)
179Hubble/Galex/Spitzer Composite Image Of M81; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2007/19/2130-Image.html (2020-12-21)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Galaxien M 81, M 82 & NGC 3077

Messier 81/82
Messier 81/82: Galaxien in Ursa Major; ED-Apo 115mm f/7.7 + STL11000M; L:95min R:25min G:25min B:25min; Obwalden; © 2009 Eduard von Bergen [29]
Messier 81/82, NGC 3077
Messier 81/82, NGC 3077: Galaxien in Ursa Major; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher [33]

Geschichte

Das bekannte Galaxienpaar M 81 und M 82 wurde am 31. Dezember 1774 vom Berliner Astronomen J. E. Bode entdeckt - daher auch der etwas weniger gebräuchliche Name Bode's Nebula für M81. Etwas mehr als sechs Jahre später, im Februar 1781, nahm Charles Messier diese beiden Galaxien in seine berühmte Liste nebelhafter Objekte auf. Lord Rosse verglich M 81 mit dem Andromedanebel und entdeckte erstmals in M 82 einige dunkle Staubbänder. [4, 196, 277]

Physikalische Eigenschaften von M 81 (Bodes Galaxie)

Auf Fotografien von Grossteleskopen zeigt sich M 81 als eine der prächtigsten Galaxien des nördlichen Himmels, bemerkenswert für ihre auffallend symmetrische Struktur und dynamische Erscheinung. Die Spiralwindungen umgeben eine helle eidotterförmige Zentralmasse, welche unzweifelhaft aus Millionen von nicht auflösbaren schwachen Einzelsternen besteht. In dieser hellen Zentralregion befindet sich eine fast stellare Kernverdichtung, die aber auf den meisten Fotografien infolge starker Überbelichtung nicht zu sehen ist. Die gut definierten Spiralarme sind an ihrer Innenseite von dünnen Staubbändern begrenzt, welche auf kurz belichteten Aufnahmen bis auf 35" nahe an den Kern verfolgt werden können. Die Arme selbst erscheinen gut in Sternenwolken und Nebelflecken aufgelöst.

Messier 81
Messier 81: Galaxie im Sternbild Ursa Major; TMB 130/780 APO-Refraktor f/6.0; Canon EOS 20Da; Vixen New Atlux; 28x5 min @ 1600 ASA; Gurnigelpass, 1600 m ü. M.; © 21. 4. 2006 Manuel Jung [45]
Messier 81
Messier 81: Bodes Galaxie in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 110+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]
M 81
M 81: Bodes Galaxie in Ursa Major; RC 500 auf AOK Herkules V48 Montierung; SBIG STL-11000M/C2; -30 °C Chiptemperatur, R/G/B ungebinnt: R 11×5 min, G 12×5 min, B 9×5 min; Sternwarte Son Bi, Mallorca; © 1.–3. 12. 2016 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli [35]

M 81 gehört mit einer Dichte von etwa 0.1 Sonnenmassen pro Kubikparsec zu den dichtesten bekannten Galaxien. Sie besitzt etwa die doppelte Dichte einer typischen Spiralgalaxie wie die vom Aussehen her vergleichbare Andromedagalaxie M 31. Weit über ein Drittel der Masse scheint sich in der zentralen Ausbuchtung zu konzentrieren.

Die Rotverschiebung von M 81 verrät deren Bewegung von etwa 42 km/s in Richtung unseres Sonnensystems. Die Entfernung wurde mit Hilfe der durch das Hubble Space Telescope entdeckten 32 Cepheiden auf rund 11 Mio. Lichtjahre bestimmt. Die Neigung der Rotationsachse zu unserer Blickrichtung beträgt 65 Grad.

M 81 zeigt Spuren einer Interaktion mit den Nachbargalaxien M 82 und NGC 3077. Auf Bildern, welche mittels des Very Large Array Radioteleskops gewonnen wurden, sind zwischen den drei Galaxien schwache Brücken von interstellarem Gas erkennbar. Eine Kollision zwischen M 81 und M 82 vor etwa 200 Mio. Jahren könnte hierfür die Ursache sein. Unmittelbar östlich von M 81 befindet sich eine schwache Verdichtung aus Gas und Sternen mit der Bezeichnung Holmberg IX. Diese zeigt Ähnlichkeit zu den Magellanschen Wolken, den beiden Zwergbegleitersystemen der Milchstrasse. Vermutlich sind auch diese bei einer Kollision entstanden.

Am 28. März 1993 ereignete sich eine Supernova (SN 1993J) in M 81. Sie wurde vom spanischen Amateurastronomen Francisco Garcia mit seinem 25cm-Teleskop entdeckt. Er schätzte die SN zum Zeitpunkt seiner Entdeckung auf eine Helligkeit von 12 mag. Noch 24 Stunden zuvor war die SN auf einer CCD-Aufnahme mit der Grenzhelligkeit von 16 mag eines anderen Amateurastronomen in Frankreich nicht auszumachen. Etwa einen Monat später erreichte die Supernova des Typs IIb ein zweites Maximum von 10.5 mag. Der Vorläufer dieser Supernova wurde fotografisch mit einem K0-Überriesen von 10 bis 18 Sonnenmassen identifiziert.

Physikalische Eigenschaften von M 82 (Zigarrengalaxie)

Messier 82
Messier 82: Zigarren-Galaxie in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 105+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik [32]

Die Galaxie M 82 ist ein eigenartiges Objekt, das in kleinen Teleskopen leicht für eine edge-on Spiralgalaxie gehalten werden kann. Fotografien mit Grossteleskopen zeigen jedoch eine amorphe, ausgedehnte Masse von ziemlich nebelhaftem Aussehen, zerteilt in dunstige Strähnen und Filamente entlang den Kanten und durchquert von dunklen, irregulären, lichtabsorbierenden Staubwolken. Der integrierte Spektraltyp dieses Systems ist etwa A5, doch Farbmessungen zeigen, dass die Aussenbereiche blauer als die Zentralregion sind. Der gesamte Farbindex ist jedoch äquivalent zur Klasse G0. Die Diskrepanz zwischen der integrierten Spektralklasse und dem Farbindex wurde einer Rötung des Sternenlichtes durch grosse Staubvorkommen in der Galaxie zugewiesen. Eine weitere seltsame Eigenart ist das stark polarisierte Licht aus Teilgebieten von M 82, welches die Präsenz eines starken Magnetfeldes vermuten lässt. Im Jahre 1962 wurde im Kerngebiet von M82 erstmals eine starke Radioquelle entdeckt. Man nimmt heute an, dass es sich hierbei um Überreste zahlreicher Supernovae handelt.

Die filigranen Gasschwaden, welche explosionsartig radial vom Zentrum etwa 10'000 Lichtjahre aus der Galaxienebene heraus gerichet sind, werden von zwei langgestreckten Gasblasen hervorgerufen, die nahezu senkrecht zur Scheibe von M 82 orientiert sind und sich im Kern berühren. Es scheint, als folgen die Filamente starken Magnetfeldlinien. Sie leuchten zudem sehr stark im Bereich von H-alpha bei 656.3nm. Spektroskopische Untersuchungen ergaben, dass sich diese Materie mit etwa 1000 km/s vom Zentrum der Galaxie wegbewegen. Doch die Geschwindigkeit nimmt mit wachsender Distanz zum Kern rasch ab. In 3500 Lichtjahren Abstand beträgt sie lediglich noch etwa 350 km/s. Nach weiteren 1000 Lichtjahren ist sie vernachlässigbar gering. Die totale expandierende Masse wurde auf etwa 5 Mio. Sonnenmassen geschätzt.

Vermutlich hat sich in kosmischen Massstäben kürzlich, erst vor etwa 1.5 Mio. Jahren, ein gewaltiger Ausbruch in der Zentralregion von M 82 ereignet. Diese Aktivität könnte durch gravitationale Störungen von der Nachbargalaxie M 81 ausgelöst worden sein. Offensichtlich hat dadurch ein Starburst eingesetzt, bei dem innerhalb kurzer Zeit im Galaxienkern Unmengen neuer Sterne entstehen. Die dabei erzeugte Hitze und die Strahlung treiben Gas- und Staubmassen in Richtung der Galaxienpole aus der Ebene des Systems in den intergalaktischen Raum.

Physikalische Eigenschaften der Galaxie NGC 3077

NGC 3077
NGC 3077: Farblich angepasster Ausschnit aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Die Galaxie NGC 3077 ist eine irreguläre Galaxie des nichtmagellanschen Typs (nach Deep-Sky Field Guide to Uranometria). Bei LEDA findet sich jedoch die Angabe des Hubble-Typs von «Sd», was eine Spiralgalaxie mit sehr weit offenen Spiralarmen ist. Dreyer beschrieb die Galaxie als ziemlich hell und gross, mit einem helleren Zentrum und von runder Form. NGC 3077 gehört zur selben Gruppe wie M 81 und M 82. Es zeigen sich sogar Spuren einer Interaktion zu M 81.

M 81 und M82 bilden das Zentrum einer kleinen Gruppe von etwa zehn weiteren Galaxien, darunter NGC 3077, NGC 2976, NGC 2366, IC 2574, Holmberg II und NGC 2403. Mit einer Entfernung von etwa 6.5 bis 9 Mio. Lichtjahren ist die M81-Gruppe neben der Sculptor-Gruppe womöglich die nächstgelegene zu unseren Lokalen Gruppe.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Name RA Dec Typ bMag vMag B-V SB Dim PA z D(z) MD Dreyer Beschreibung Identifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 3031 09 55 33.5 +69 04 02 Gx (Sb) 7.9 6.9 1.0 13.2 24.9 × 11.5 157 -0.000113 3.690 ! eB, eL, E 156°, gsvmbMBN h 649; GC 1949=1953; M 81; UGC 5318; MCG 12-10-10; IRAS 09514+6918; KCPG 218A; CGCG 333-7; Bode's nebulae
NGC 3034 09 55 54.0 +69 40 59 Gx (Sd) 9.3 8.4 0.9 12.5 11.2 × 4.3 65 0.000677 2.86 3.780 vB, vL, vmE (ray) WH IV 79; GC 1950; M 82; UGC 5322; MCG 12-10-11; IRAS 09517+6954; KCPG 218B; CGCG 333-8; PRC D-13; Arp 337; 3C 231; Ursa Major A; Bode's nebulae
NGC 3077 10 03 20.3 +68 44 06 Gx (Sd) 10.6 9.9 0.7 13.2 5.2 × 4.7 45 0.000047 0.20 3.560 cB, cL, mbM, R with ray WH I 286; h 658; GC 1982; UGC 5398; MCG 12-10-17; CGCG 333-13; IRAS 09592+6858; near SAO 15054
«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies» Paturel et al., 1989 [144]
PGC RA Dec Type Dim Btot HRV PA Names
PGC 28225 09 49 11.8 +69 25 02 S 13.1 x 6.0 14.9 143 155 UGC 5247, MCG 12-10-5, CGCG 332-66
PGC 28563 09 54 21.9 +68 20 00 D 1.9 x 1.7 14.7 4376 UGC 5302, MCG 12-10-8, CGCG 333-5, IRAS 9503+6834
PGC 28757 09 57 32.5 +69 02 35 I 2.5 x 2.0 14.6 47 Holmberg IX, UGC 5336, MCG 12-10-12, DDO 66, ANON 953+69

Auffindtipp

Da sich das Galaxienpaar sehr weit nördlich am Himmel befindet, gestaltet sich die Suche mit äquatorial montierten Teleskopen etwas umständlicher. Bei manchen Montierungstypen befinden sich die beiden Galaxien gar im schon 'toten' Bereich um den Himmelsnordpol. Es gibt aber dennoch einen guten Trick: Der 4.1 mag helle λ Draconis ist der rechte der beiden Drachensterne über dem Kasten des grossen Wagens. Er weist etwa dieselbe Deklination wie das Galaxienpaar M81 und M82 auf. Das Fernrohr wird mit einem Grossfeldokular (etwa ein bis zwei Grad Blickfeld) bestückt, auf λ Draconis (Giansar) gerichtet und dann etwa eineinhalb Winkelstunden gen Westen im Gegenuhrzeigersinn um den Himmelsnordpol gedreht. Die beiden Galaxien fallen schon nach kurzer Zeit im Blickfeld auf. Die Galaxien sind zirkumpolar und stehen in den Monaten Dezember bis Juni nachts am höchsten am Himmel.

Auffindkarte Galaxien M 81, M 82 & NGC 3077
Galaxien M 81, M 82 & NGC 3077 im Sternbild Ursa Maior. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

M 81, M 82
M 81, M 82: Bleistiftskizze; Borg 125/800 f/6.4 ED Apo; © Jozef Cukas
M 82
M 82: Bleistiftskizze; 300mm f/4 Popp Newton, 300x; © 30. 5. 1997 Bernd Nies

300 mm Öffnung: Die beiden Galaxien M 81 und M 82 fallen schon bei einer geringen Vergrösserung von etwa 25fach im Blickfeld auf und sind somit unübersehbar. M 81 erscheint dabei wesentlich heller und grösser als M 82 und zeigt einen stellaren Kern. Bei keiner der beiden Galaxien sind jedoch Strukturen zu erkennen. Wird etwa 50-fach vergrössert, so glaubt man im hellen Zentralbereich von M 82 ein kleines Sternchen zu erkennen, welches aber bei zunehmender Vergrösserung nicht mehr verifiziert werden kann. Erste Strukturen der Staubbänder zeigen sich bei M 82 ab etwa 80facher Vergrösserung. Die Erkennbarkeit der Staubbänder steigt mit der Vergrösserung. Als Optimum erweist sich etwa 300fach. Die auf Fotografien so wunderschön filigran aussehende Galaxie M 81 bietet jedoch bei jeder Vergrösserung einen ziemlich enttäuschenden Anblick: Weder von den Spiralarmen, noch von den feinen Staubbändern ist etwas zu erkennen. Die Galaxie erscheint lediglich als elliptischer diffuser Fleck mit einem stellaren Zentrum. Die kleinere Galaxie NGC 3077 ist bei einer Vergrösserung von etwa 25-fach noch leicht zu übersehen, wird aber ab 50fach gut erkennbar. Sie erscheint rund mit einer Zunahme der Helligkeit gegen die Mitte. — 1997, Bernd Nies

M 81 + M 82
M 81 + M 82: Bleistiftskizze; 12.5" Ninja-Dobson f/4.5, TV-Nagler 13 mm, 111x, 0.74°, D: 6.3, L: ruhig, leichter Wind; Langis 1440 m; © 24. 2. 2003, 21:30 Eduard von Bergen [192]

320 mm Öffnung: Bei guter Durchsicht werden an M 81 auch ihre zwei feinen, auslaufenden Spiralarme sichtbar. Die vielen hellen Vordergrundsterne helfen den genauen Verlauf sicher zu verifizieren. Für die Spiralarme ist eine mittlere bis kleinere Vergrösserung anzuwenden, dies bedingt aber wiederum einen schwarzen, unaufgehellten Himmel. Die in der Nähe liegende Galaxie M 82 zeigt sich in der Kantenlage. Auffällig sind bei M 82 die beiden dunklen Einschnitte, welche bereits mit kleineren Teleskopen wahrzunehmen sind. In mittleren und grösseren werden weitere, feine Strukturen sichtbar. — 12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 111x, 0.74°, Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Der visuelle Eindruck von M 81 und M 82 lässt sich ungefähr mit einer MallinCam Videokamera und einer Integrationszeit von etwa drei Sekunden reproduzieren. Verwendet wurde ein nachgeführtes 30" f/3.3 SlipStream-Dobson. Das entstandene Bild kommt dem visuellen Sehen mit einem 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos Okular sehr nahe. — 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Die Zwerggalaxie Holmberg IX bzw. UGC 5336 ist eine äusserst schwache Begleitgalaxie von M 81. Bei der für den 30" Dobson mittleren Vergrösserung von 360-fach ist nur ein Hauch von einem nahezu «Nichts» zu erahnen. Die sowieso schwache Zwerggalaxie findet sich einen Drittel linksliegend auf der Basislinie eines gut zu erkennenden Sternendreiecks. — 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3, Hasliberg, SQM 21.23, 5. 2. 2024, Elena und Eduard von Bergen

Messier 81
Messier 81: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam Videokamera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Pierre Schmid, Eduard von Bergen [29]
Messier 82
Messier 82: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam Videokamera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Pierre Schmid, Eduard von Bergen [29]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben