Globular Cluster Messier 70

Messier 70
Messier 70: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [245]

History

Charles Messier discovered the globular cluster M 70 on August 31, 1780, the same night he checked the discovery of Lacaille (M 69). He published the following note: «Nebula without a star, right next to the previous one [M 69] and on the same parallels: right next to it is a 9th magnitude star and under the nebula four small stars, almost on the same straight line, very close to each other seen through an inverting telescope; the nebula with the same star ε in Sagittarius is determined.» [281]

Physical Properties

The core region of M 70 experiences a phenomenon known as core collapse: More and more stars are pushing their way into the center, so that the star density there is higher than in average globular clusters. The stars in a globular cluster all orbit a common center of mass. Some have almost circular orbits, others in turn strongly elliptical that bring them far outwards. As the stars interact with each other over a longer period of time, the lighter stars gain speed and move to the edge of the cluster. The heavier stars slow down and concentrate towards the center. This effect causes the typical dense center of a globular cluster that has undergone a core collapse. About a fifth of the 150 known globular clusters in our Milky Way had experienced such a core collapse. M 70 is around 70'000 light years away. [215]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6681
TypeGCL (V)
Right Ascension18h 43m 12.7s
Declination-32° 17' 29"
Diameter8.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude7.8 mag
Dreyer Descriptionglobular, B, pL, R, gbM, st 14…17
IdentificationM 70, GCL 101, ESO 458-SC3

Finder Chart

M 70 is located in the constellation Sagittarius on the lower edge of the «Teapot» in the middle between the two stars Ascella (ζ Sagittarii) and Kaus Australis (ε Sagittarii). The globular cluster M 69 lies on the same declination only 2.5° to the west. In the months of June to August this constellation climbs highest over the southern horizon at night.

Chart M 70
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
245Bucking the trend; esahubble.org/images/potw1921a (2021-01-22)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 70

Objektbeschreibung

M 70
Messier 70: Aufnahme des Hubble Weltraumteleskops [245]

Charles Messier entdeckte den Kugelsternhaufen M 70 am 31. August 1780, derselben Nacht in der er die Entdeckung von Lacaille (M 69) überprüfte. Er veröffentlichte dazu folgende Notiz: «Nebel ohne Stern, direkt neben dem vorherigen [M 69] und auf der gleichen Parallelen: direkt daneben ist ein Stern 9. Grösse und unter dem Nebel vier kleine Sterne, fast auf derselben geraden Linie, sehr nahe beieinander, gesehen durch ein umkehrendes Teleskop; der Nebel mit demselben Stern ε im Schützen bestimmt.» [281]

Die Kernregion von M 70 erlebt ein Phänomen das als Kernkollaps bekannt ist: Immer mehr Sterne drängen sich ins Zentrum, so dass die Sterndichte dort höher als in durchschnittlichen Kugelsternhaufen ist. Die Sterne in einem Kugelsternhaufen umkreisen alle ein gemeinsames Massezentrum. Einige haben fast kreisförmige Bahnen, andere wiederum stark elliptische die sie weit nach aussen bringen. Während die Sterne über einen längeren Zeitraum miteinander interagieren, gewinnen die leichteren Sterne an Geschwindigkeit und wandern an den Rand des Haufens. Die schwereren Sterne bremsen ab und konzentrieren sich gegen das Zentrum hin. Dieser Effekt verursacht das typische dichte Zentrum eines Kugelsternhaufens, der ein Kernkollaps durchlief. Etwa ein fünftel der 150 bekannten Kugelsternhaufen unserer Milchstrasse hatte so einen Kernkollaps durchlebt. M 70 befindet sich in rund 70'000 Lichtjahren Entfernung. [215]

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» Dreyer, Sinnott [142].
NameNGC 6681
TypGb
Rektaszension (B2000.0)18h 43.2m
Deklination (B2000.0)-32° 18'
SternbildSgr
Durchmesser7.8 '
vMag8.1
Dreyer Beschreibungglob. cl. , B, pL, R, gbM, st 14...17; = M70

Auffindkarte

M 70 befindet sich im Sternbild Sagittarius (Schütze) an der Unterkante des «Teapots» in der Mitte zwischen den beiden Sternen Ascella (ζ Sagittarii) und Kaus Australis (ε Sagittarii). Auf der selben Deklination nur 2.5° nach Westen liegt der Kugelsternhaufen M 69. In den Monaten Juni bis August klettert dieses Sternbild nachts am höchsten über den Südhorizont.

Karte M 70
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

142NGC 2000.0, The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters by J.L.E. Dreyer; edited by Roger W. Sinnott; Sky Publishing Corporation and Cambridge University Press (1988); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/118 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
245Bucking the trend; esahubble.org/images/potw1921a (2021-01-22)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)