Open Cluster Roslund 3

Object Description

Roslund 3
Roslund 3: 30' x 30' Section of the ESO Digitized Sky Survey [195]

The Roslund catalog is a small, little-known collection of just 7 items. The objects recorded in it were not discovered after visual observation but were found during spectroscopic measurements. Therefore, they are considered to be hardly observed and are usually difficult to spot in the swarm of stars due to their location near the Milky Way. Roslund 3 is an Open Cluster with Trümpler classification IV 1 p. Translated, this means: a cluster with few members (p=poor), which hardly stands out from the surroundings (IV) and has a fairly even distribution of brightness among the cluster members.

Name  : Roslund 3
R.A.  : 19h 58m 42s
Dec.  : +20° 28' 57"
Mag.  : 10m
Diam. : 5'
No.*  : only a few
Br.*  : ca. 10m

How to find Roslund 3?

Open star cluster Roslund 3 lies about 1 degree north of γ Sagittae, the second star from the arrow's tip of constellation Sagitta. Together with this and the 5m1 star η Sagittae, the small cluster forms a north-pointing right triangle. The constellation can best be observed in the months of May to October.

Chart Roslund 3
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]
Roslund 3
Roslund 3: Übersichtskarte der Einzelsterne von D. G. Turner [138]

Visual Observation

200 mm aperture: At medium magnification one first sees a chain of stars around the tenth magnitude coming from the north, which bends to the east and then spirals in. At the northern beginning of this chain there is a small line of stars in a north-easterly direction. This can be seen as the snail's tentacles, the north-south chain as the body, and the spirals as the snail's shell - hence the name: Snail-Cluster, a north-creeping snail. The actual cluster members are only in the snail shell. The two chains mentioned happen to be there and don't belong to Roslund 3.

The description «poor» by Trümpler matches very good and even with a larger aperture not many stars follow. The dominant pentagon remains with a few fainter stars.

Frank H. Leiter

References

138WEBDA, Sternwarte Genf; obswww.unige.ch/webda
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
195ESO Online Digitized Sky Survey; archive.eso.org/dss/dss (2020-12-27)

Offener Sternhaufen Roslund 3

Objektbeschreibung

Roslund 3 (DSS)
Roslund 3: 30' x 30' Ausschnit des ESO Digitized Sky Surveys. [195]

Der Roslund-Katalog ist eine kleine, wenig bekannte Sammlung von gerade einmal 7 Objekten. Die in ihm verzeichneten Objekte wurden nicht nach visueller Beobachtung entdeckt sondern sind bei spektroskopischen Messungen gefunden worden. Daher gelten sie als kaum beobachtet und sind meist aufgrund ihrer Lage nahe der Milchstrasse schwierig im Gewimmel der Sterne auszumachen. Roslund 3 ist ein Offener Sternhaufen mit der Trümpler-Klassifizierung IV 1 p. Übersetzt heisst das: ein Haufen mit wenigen Mitglieder (p=poor), der sich kaum von der Umgebung abhebt (IV) und eine recht gleichmässe Helligkeitsverteilung unter den Haufenmitgliedern hat.

Name  : Roslund 3
R.A.  : 19h 58m 42s
Dec.  : +20° 28' 57"
Mag.  : 10m
Diam. : 5'
No.*  : only a few
Br.*  : ca. 10m

Wie findet man Roslund 3?

Der offene Sternhaufen Roslund 3 liegt etwa 1 Grad nördlich von γ Sagittae, dem zweiten Stern von der Spitze des Pfeils. Zusammen mit diesem und dem 5m1-Stern η Sagittae bildet der kleine Haufen ein nach Norden gerichtetes, rechwinkliges Dreieck. In den Monaten Mai bis Oktober kann das Sternbild am besten beobachtet werden.

Aufsuchungskarte Roslund 3
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]
Roslund 3 Übersichtskarte der Einzelsterne von D. G. Turner [138]

Visuelle Beobachtung

200 mm Öffnung: Bei mittlerer Vergrösserung sieht man zunächst eine von Norden kommenden Kette aus Sternen um die zehnte Grösse, die nach Osten abbiegt und dann einspiralt. Am nördlichen Anfang dieser Kette gibt es eine kleine Reihe von Sternen in nordöstlicher Richtung. Dies kann man als die Fühler der Schnecke sehen, die Nord-Süd-Kette als Körper und die Spirals als Schneckenhaus - daher der Name: Snail-Cluster, eine nach Norden kriechende Schnecke. Die eigentlichen Haufenmitglieder befinden sich nur im Schneckhaus. Die beiden erwähnten Ketten sind zufällig dort und gehören nicht zu Roslund 3.

Die Beschreibung "poor" von Trümpler trifft es sehr gut und auch mit grösserer Öffnung kommen nicht viele Sterne nach. Es bleibt das dominierende Fünfeck mit wenigen schwächeren Sternen dabei.

Frank H. Leiter

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.