Helix Nebula (NGC 7293)

NGC 7293
NGC 7293: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [184]

History

This planetary nebula was discovered by Karl Ludwig Harding in 1823. It is only 500-700 light-years away and is one of the closest planetary nebulae. It's quite large, about 5.7 light-years across, appears to us about half the size of the Full Moon, but doesn't appear very bright, which is why it was initially missed by the two Herschels.

Well-known names for NGC 7293 are «Helix Nebula», «Caldwell 63», as well as more recently «The Eye of God» or «The Eye of Sauron». The Hubble and Spitzer Space Telescope images published in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 are likely to be decisive for the latter two names.

Physical Properties

NGC 7293
NGC 7293: Infrared image by Spitzer Space Telescope [211]

The physical properties of this planetary nebula are comparable to those of the Ring Nebula (M 57) in Lyra or the Cat's Eye Nebula (NGC 6543) in Draco. In the center is a white dwarf star. The inner ring is thought to have formed 12'000 years ago and was then overtaken by the outer ring 6560 years ago. An expansion rate of 32 km/s was measured on the inner ring and 40 km/s on the outer ring by means of spectroscopy. [119, 196, 211]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G036.1-57.1: NGC 7293, PK 36-57.1, ARO 17, VV 275, VV' 563
Right Ascension (J2000.0)22h 29m 39s
Declination (J2000.0)-20° 50' 15"
Dimensions 980." (optical), 660." (radio)
Distance 0.30 kpc
Radial Velocity-28.2 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansion Velocity 14.0 km/s (O-III), 24. km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 441, CSI -21 -22270, GCRV 14134, PLX 5437, USNO 271, WD 2201 -21. 1
C-Star Magnitude11.81 mag (U filter), 13.10 mag (B filter), 13.50 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeHg O(H)
DiscovererCURTIS 1918

Finder Chart

The Helix Nebula is located in the constellation Aquarius in a large area with relatively few bright stars for orientation. Due to its declination of -20°, the best observation time is in the months of August to October.

Chart Helix Nebula (NGC 7293)
Helix Nebula (NGC 7293) in constellation Aquarius. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

The Helix Nebula is one of the brightest planetary nebulae and can already be found with binoculars. Nevertheless, details are only clearly visible in medium-sized telescopes. The bright ring is obvious. The ring thickness is about 1/4 of the diameter or the dark central spot is 1/2 of the diameter. The ring shape is slightly irregular. One part of the ring is even much weaker, giving the impression that it is a horseshoe. Fine, bright stars shimmer through the nebula. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Panoptik 27mm, 53x, 1.28° und TV-Nagler 13mm, 111x, 0.74° / OIII-Filter
Eduard von Bergen

More Objects Nearby (±25°)

References

119Hubble Highlights the Helix Nebula's Knots; S&T 6/96, p.13
141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
184Iridescent Glory of Nearby Planetary Nebula Showcased on Astronomy Day; esahubble.org/images/heic0307a (2020-12-23)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
211Dusty Helix Nebula; spitzer.caltech.edu/images/1746-ssc2007-03a1-Dusty-Helix-Nebula (2020-12-30)

Helixnebel (NGC 7293)

NGC 7293
NGC 7293: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [184]

Geschichte

Dieser planetarische Nebel wurde von Karl Ludwig Harding im Jahre 1823 entdeckt. Er befindet sich in nur 500-700 Lichtjahren Entfernung und gehört zu den am nächsten gelegenen planetarischen Nebeln. Er ist mit einem Durchmesser von etwa 5.7 Lichtjahren recht groß, erscheint uns etwa halb so groß wie der Vollmond, erscheint jedoch nicht sehr hell, weshalb er anfänglich von den beiden Herschels übersehen wurde.

Bekannte Namen für NGC 7293 sind "Helixnebel", "Caldwell 63", wie auch neueren Ursprungs "Das Auge Gottes" oder "Das Auge Saurons". Die in Abb. 1 und Abb. 2 publizierten Aufnahmen des Hubble bzw. Spitzer Weltraumteleskopes dürften für letztere beide Namen ausschlaggebend sein.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 7293
NGC 7293: Infrarot-Aufnahme mit dem Spitzer Weltraumteleskop [211]

Die physikalischen Eigenschaften dieses planetarischen Nebels sind mit denen des Ringnebels (M 57) in der Leier oder des Katzenaugennebels (NGC 6543) im Drachen vergleichbar. Im Zentrum befindet sich ein weisser Zwergstern. Es wird vermutet, dass sich der innere Ring vor 12'000 Jahren gebildet hat und dann vor 6560 vom äusseren Ring überholt wurde. Mittels Spektroskopie wurde am inneren Ring eine Expansionsgeschwindigkeit von 32 km/s und am äusseren Ring 40 km/s gemessen. [119, 196, 211]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G036.1-57.1: NGC 7293, PK 36-57.1, ARO 17, VV 275, VV' 563
Rektaszension (J2000.0)22h 29m 39s
Deklination (J2000.0)-20° 50' 15"
Abmessungen 980." (optisch), 660." (radio)
Entfernung 0.30 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-28.2 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 14.0 km/s (O-III), 24. km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 441, CSI -21 -22270, GCRV 14134, PLX 5437, USNO 271, WD 2201 -21. 1
Z-Stern Magnitude11.81 mag (U filter), 13.10 mag (B filter), 13.50 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypHg O(H)
EntdeckerCURTIS 1918

Auffindtipp

Der Helixnebel befindet sich im Sternbild Aquarius in einem großflächigen Gebiet mit relativ wenig hellen Sternen zur Orientierung. Aufgrund seiner Deklination von -20° ist die beste Beobachtungszeit in den Monaten August bis Oktober.

Karte Helixnebel (NGC 7293)
Helixnebel (NGC 7293) im Sternbild Aquarius. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Der Helixnebel zählt zu den hellsten planetarischen Nebeln und ist bereits mit dem Feldstecher auffindbar. Trotzdem sind Details erst gut in mittleren Teleskopen erkennbar. Augenscheinig ist der helle Ring. Die Ringdicke beträgt etwa 1/4 des Durchmessers bzw. die dunkle zentrale Stelle macht 1/2 Durchmesser aus. Die Ringform ist leicht unregelmässig. Eine Ringstelle ist sogar wesentlich schwächer, so dass der Eindruck entstehen könnte, es handle sich um ein Hufeisen. Feine, helle Sternchen schimmern durch den Nebel hindurch. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5 / TV-Panoptik 27mm, 53x, 1.28° und TV-Nagler 13mm, 111x, 0.74° / OIII-Filter
Eduard von Bergen

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±25°)

Quellenangaben

119Hubble Highlights the Helix Nebula's Knots; S&T 6/96, p.13
141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
184Iridescent Glory of Nearby Planetary Nebula Showcased on Astronomy Day; esahubble.org/images/heic0307a (2020-12-23)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
211Dusty Helix Nebula; spitzer.caltech.edu/images/1746-ssc2007-03a1-Dusty-Helix-Nebula (2020-12-30)