NGC 246, Skull Nebula

NGC 246
NGC 246: Image taken with ESO Very Large Telescope (VLT) [208]

History

The planetary nebula NGC 246 is also known under the name «Skull Nebula». It was discovered on November 27, 1785 by Wilhelm Herschel with his 18.7 inch reflector telescope with a focal length of 20 feet. He cataloged it as V 25, whereby its class «V» stood for very large nebulae. In his second part of his discoveries, published 1789 in the «Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London», he described the nebula as follows: «Four or five rather large stars form a trapezoid about 5' in diameter. The enclosed space is filled with weakly demarcated, milky nebula. The stars do not appear To have a connection with the nebula.» [464]

Physical Properties

The distance of the nebula is 1'600 light years. Diameters range from 2.2 to 4-6 light years.

In 2014 it was discovered that the central white dwarf star in 500 AU is orbited by a red dwarf star (not visible in the photo). Their interaction is probably related to the formation of the planetary nebula. This pair is orbited by a brighter star at a distance of 1900 AU. This is the first known triple star system within a planetary nebula. [208]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G118.8-74.7: NGC 246, PK 118-74.1, ARO 43, VV 4, VV' 7
Right Ascension (J2000.0)0h 47m 04s
Declination (J2000.0)-11° 52' 22"
Dimensions 245." (optical), 280." (radio)
Distance 0.57 kpc
Radial Velocity-46.0 km/s ± 6.0 km/s
Expansion Velocity 39.0 km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 8, BD -12 134, CSI -12 -00445, PHL 829, PLX 152, TD1 31081, UBV 644
C-Star Magnitude10.41 mag (U filter), 11.60 mag (B filter), 11.96 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeWC OVI, O(C)
DiscovererHERSCHEL 1785

Finder Chart

The Skull Nebula is located in the belly of the whale. Connect the stars η Ceti - ι Ceti, halve the distance and place the Telrad underneath so that the outermost ring comes to rest on the line. The best observation time is September to December.

Chart NGC 246
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
208New ESO’s VLT image of the Skull Nebula; eso.org/public/images/eso2019a (2020-12-30)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021

NGC 246, Totenkopfnebel

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 246 ESO
NGC 246: Aufnahme mit dem ESO Very Large Telescope (VLT) [208]

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 246 ist auch unter dem Namen «Totenkopfnebel» (engl. Skull Nebula) bekannt. Er wurde am 27. November 1785 von Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7" Spiegelteleskop mit 20 Fuss Brennweite entdeckt. Er katalogisierte ihn als V 25, wobei seine Klasse «V» für sehr grosse Nebel stand. In seinem 1789 in den «Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London» erschienenen zweiten Teil seiner Entdeckungen beschrieb er den Nebel wie folgt: «Vier oder fünf ziemlich grosse Sterne bilden ein Trapez von etwa 5' im Durchmesser. Der eingeschlossene Raum ist aufgefüllt mit schwach abgegrenztem, milchigem Nebel. Die Sterne scheinen keine Verbindung mit dem Nebel zu haben.» [464]

Die Entfernung des Nebels beträgt 1600 Lichtjahre. Durchmesserangaben reichen von 2.2 bis 4-6 Lichtjahre.

2014 wurde entdeckt, dass der zentrale Weisse Zwergstern in 500 AU von einem Roten Zwergstern (nicht sichtbar auf dem Foto) umkreist wird. Deren Interaktion steht vermutlich in Zusammenhang mit der Entstehung des planetarischen Nebels. Dieses Paar wird in 1900 AU Entfernung noch von einem helleren Stern umrundet. Dies ist das erste bekannte Dreifach-Sternsystem innerhalb eines planetarischen Nebels. [208]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G118.8-74.7: NGC 246, PK 118-74.1, ARO 43, VV 4, VV' 7
Rektaszension (B1950.0)00h 44m 32.90s
Deklination (B1950.0)-12° 08' 44.0"
Abmessungen 245." (optisch), 280." (radio)
Entfernung 0.57 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-46.0 km/s ± 6.0 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 39.0 km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 8, BD -12 134, CSI -12 -00445, PHL 829, PLX 152, TD1 31081, UBV 644
Z-Stern Magnitude10.41 mag (U filter), 11.60 mag (B filter), 11.96 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypWC OVI, O(C)
EntdeckerHERSCHEL 1785

Auffindkarte

Der Totenkopfnebel befindet sich im Bauch des Wals. Verbinde die Sterne η Ceti — ι Ceti, halbiere die Strecke und setze den Telrad so unterhalb, dass der äusserste Ring auf der Linie zu liegen kommt. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Dezember.

Karte NGC 246
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
208New ESO’s VLT image of the Skull Nebula; eso.org/public/images/eso2019a (2020-12-30)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021