Galaxies Messier 99, NGC 4298, NGC 4302

M 98 + M 99
M 98 + M 99: Galaxies M 99 (left) and M 98 (right) in Coma Berenices; TS Triplet APO 90, Reducer Photoline 0.79 (f=490mm / f5.44), SBIG ST-8300; 14L x 900sec 1×1; Bernese Highlands; © 2020 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

History

The galaxy M 99 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on March 15, 1781 and cataloged by Charles Messier on April 13. He wrote: «Nebula without a star, of very weak light, but somewhat clearer than the previous one [M 98], above the northern wing of the Virgin and next to the same star No. 6 of Berenice's hair. The nebula lies between two stars of seventh and eighth magnitude. M. Méchain sighted them on March 15, 1781.» [281]

Physical Properties

M 99
M 99: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [215]

M 99 is a spiral galaxy of the morphological type SA(s)c and the brightness class LC III. It is moving away from us at about 2400 km/s and the distance is about 15 Mpc (49 million light years). [194] It has a somewhat asymmetrical appearance with one normal-looking arm and one elongated, less twisted arm. The reason for this could have been a close and rapid encounter with the galaxy NGC 4262 about 280 million years ago. The distance from M 99 to the center of the Virgo cluster (M 87) is about 1 Mpc. [293]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 39578: NGC 4254, UGC 7345, MCG 3-31-99, M 99, CGCG 99-11, CGCG 98-144, VCC 307, IRAS 12162+1441
Right Ascension (J2000.0)12h 18m 49.3s
Declination (J2000.0)+14° 25' 07"
Morphological TypeS
Dimensions5.3' x 4.6'
Visual Magnitude10.4 mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)2407 km/s
Position Angle°

Further Galaxies in that Area

The small galaxy NGC 4262 was discovered by William Herschel on April 8, 1784. A morphological type of SB_a can be found here at Simbad. Measured values from the last 20 years show speeds of 1359 km/s to 1367 km/s and distances of 15.4 Mpc to 19.5. She is member No. VCC 355 of the Virgo Cluster. [145, 196]

The galaxy IC 781 is even more inconspicuous. It was discovered on May 10, 1888 by Guillaume Bigourdan. Morphological type dS0, heliocentric speed 1356 km/s and distance 14 Mpc. Virgo Cluster member number VCC 389. [145, 196]

NGC 4298, NGC 4302
NGC 4298, NGC 4302: NGC 4298 (right) and NGC 4302 (left): Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [294]

The beautiful galaxy pair NGC 4298 and NGC 4302 was discovered by William Herschel on April 8, 1784. Although they look very different because we look at them from different angles, they are quite similar in structure. Although both galaxies are right next to each other from our perspective, they are far enough apart that no gravitational interaction can be observed between them.

NGC 4298 is of morphological type SA(rs)c and about 16 Mpc (52 million light years) away. We see them at an angle of about 70°. Their size is estimated to be around 45'000 light years, roughly a third of our Milky Way. With 17 billion solar masses, it is less than two percent as heavy as our Milky Way.

Of NGC 4302, which we see directly from the edge, only the central dust band is visible. It is about 20 Mpc (65 million light years) away. A large blue area in the southern area is evidence of recent star formation. Its diameter is estimated to be around 87'000 light years, which is around 60% of that of our Milky Way. It contains about 110 billion solar masses, about a tenth of our Milky Way. [194, 196, 294]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 426212 19 30.6+14 52 44LB1.8 x 1.612.51360
IC 78112 20 02.8+14 57 39L1.1 x .914.5
NGC 429812 21 32.6+14 36 25S3.2 x 1.912.11140140
NGC 430212 21 42.4+14 36 05S5.3 x 1.012.61108178

Finder Chart

The galaxies are located in the constellation Coma Berenices between the stars Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) and Denebola (β Leonis). The best time for observation is January to July.

Chart M 99
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
293«NGC 4254: a spiral galaxy entering the Virgo cluster»; B. Vollmer, W. Huchtmeier, W. van Driel; A&A Volume 439, Number 3, September I 2005; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20041350
294Spiral Galaxy Pair NGC 4302 and NGC 4298; hubblesite.org/image/4019/gallery (2021-03-10)

Galaxien Messier 99, NGC 4298, NGC 4302

M 98 + M 99
M 98 + M 99: Galaxien M 99 (links) und M 98 (rechts) in Coma Berenices; TS Triplet APO 90, Reducer Photoline 0.79 (f=490mm / f5.44), SBIG ST-8300; 14L x 900sec 1×1; Berner Oberland; © 2020 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

Geschichte

Die Galaxie M 99 wurde am 15. März 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt und am 13. April von Charles Messier katalogisiert. Er schrieb dazu: «Nebel ohne Stern, von sehr schwachem Licht, jedoch etwas klarer als der vorhergehende [M 98], oberhalb des nördlichen Flügels der Jungfrau und nebem dem gleichen Stern Nr. 6 von Berenikes Haar. Der Nebel liegt zwischen zwei Sternen siebter und achter Grösse. M. Méchain sichtete sie am 15. März 1781.» [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 99
M 99: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]

M 99 ist eine Spiralgalaxie des morphologischen Typs SA(s)c und der Helligkeitsklasse LC III. Sie entfernt sich von uns mit etwa 2400 km/s und die Distanz beträgt etwa 15 Mpc (49 Millionen Lichtjahre). [194] Sie hat ein etwas asymmetrisches Aussehen mit einem normal aussehenden und einem verlängertem, weniger stark gewundenen Arm. Die Ursache dafür könnte eine nahe und schnelle Begegnung vor etwa 280 Millionen Jahre mit der Galaxie NGC 4262 gewesen sein. Die Entfernung von M 99 zum Zentrum des Virgohaufens (M 87) beträgt etwa 1 Mpc. [293]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
BezeichnungenPGC 39578: NGC 4254, UGC 7345, MCG 3-31-99, M 99, CGCG 99-11, CGCG 98-144, VCC 307, IRAS 12162+1441
Rektaszension (J2000.0)12h 18m 49.3s
Deklination (J2000.0)+14° 25' 07"
Morphologischer TypS
Abmessungen5.3' x 4.6'
Visuelle Helligkeit10.4 mag
Radialgeschwindigkeit (HRV)2407 km/s
Positionswinkel°

Weitere Galaxien in der Umgebung

Die kleine Galaxie NGC 4262 wurde am 8. April 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Bei Simbad findet man hier einen morphologischen Typ von SB_a. Messwerte der letzten 20 Jahre zeigen Geschwindigkeiten von 1359 km/s bis 1367 km/s und Entfernungen von 15.4 Mpc bis 19.5. Sie ist Mitglied Nr. VCC 355 vom Virgo-Haufen. [145, 196]

Noch unscheinbarer ist die Galaxie IC 781. Sie wurde am 10. Mai 1888 von Guillaume Bigourdan entdeckt. Morphologischer Typ dS0, heliozentrische Geschwindigkeit 1356 km/s und Entfernung 14 Mpc. Virgo Cluster Mitglied Nummer VCC 389. [145, 196]

NGC 4298, NGC 4302
NGC 4298, NGC 4302: NGC 4298 (rechts) und NGC 4302 (links): Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [294]

Das schöne Galaxienpaar NGC 4298 und NGC 4302 wurde am 8. April 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Sie sehen zwar sehr unterschiedlich aus, da wir sie aus verschiedenen Winkeln betrachten, sind einander im Aufbau jedoch recht ähnlich. Obwohl beide Galaxien aus unserer Perspektive direkt nebeneinander stehen, sind sie voneinander genug weit entfernt, dass zwischen ihnen keine gravitative Interaktion zu beobachten ist.

NGC 4298 ist vom morphologischen Typ SA(rs)c und in etwa 16 Mpc (52 Millionen Lichtjahre) Entfernung. Wir sehen sie unter einem Winkel von etwa 70°. Ihre Grösse wird auf etwa 45'000 Lichtjahre geschätzt, ungefähr ein Drittel unserer Milchstrasse. Mit 17 Milliarden Sonnenmassen ist sie weniger als zwei Prozent so schwer wie unsere Milchstrasse.

Von NGC 4302, welche wir direkt von der Kante sehen, ist nur das zentrale Staubband sichtbar. Sie befindet sich in etwa 20 Mpc Entfernung (65 Millionen Lichtjahre). Ein grosser blauer Bereich im südlichen Bereich zeugt von jüngster Sternentstehung. Ihr Durchmesser wird auf etwa 87'000 Lichtjahre geschätzt, was etwa 60 % von dem unserer Milchstrasse entspricht. Sie enthält etwa 110 Milliarden Sonnemassen, etwa ein Zehntel unserer Milchstrasse. [194, 196, 294]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 426212 19 30.6+14 52 44LB1.8 x 1.612.51360
IC 78112 20 02.8+14 57 39L1.1 x .914.5
NGC 429812 21 32.6+14 36 25S3.2 x 1.912.11140140
NGC 430212 21 42.4+14 36 05S5.3 x 1.012.61108178

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxien befinden sich im Sternbild Coma Berenices (Haar der Berenike) etwa zwischen den Sternen Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) und Denebola (β Leonis). Die beste Zeit für die Beobachtung ist Januar bis Juli.

Karte M 99
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
293«NGC 4254: a spiral galaxy entering the Virgo cluster»; B. Vollmer, W. Huchtmeier, W. van Driel; A&A Volume 439, Number 3, September I 2005; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20041350
294Spiral Galaxy Pair NGC 4302 and NGC 4298; hubblesite.org/image/4019/gallery (2021-03-10)