NGC 7023, Iris Nebula

History

NGC 7023 is a small, poor open star cluster enveloped by a faint dusty nebula (LBN 487). It was discovered on October 18, 1794 by the German-British astronomer Wilhelm Herschel. Dreyer described NGC 7023 as a 7th magnitude star embedded in a very faint but large nebula. The nickname «Iris Nebula» refers to the blue flowers of the iris (Iris versicolor) and not the iris of the eye, because of their color and shape.

NGC 7023
NGC 7023: Iris Nebula in Cepheus; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher
NGC 7023
NGC 7023: Iris Nebula in Cepheus; Meade Schmidt-Newton 250 mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600, RGB 76.5 min; Observatory Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 2018 Eduard von Bergen
NGC 7023
NGC 7023: Iris Nebula in Cepheus; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+45+45+45 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Physical Properties

The star HD 200775 is a hot, blue Herbig Be star with an apparent magnitude of about 7.4. It emits most of its radiation in the UV range. The mass is estimated at around 10 to 15 times that of the Sun and the age at just 100'000 years.

Outside of the reflection nebula, which is illuminated blue by the star, there are other nebulae, some faintly glowing, some made of dark interstellar dust. They are particularly noticeable because the apparent star density is lower there, as can be seen in Fig. 1. The nebula is an active star-forming region. Measurements by the Gaia probe gave a distance of 335 ± 11 pc (1093 ± 36 light years). The open star cluster is about 10 arc minutes in diameter, which is about three light-years at this distance. The reflection nebula is about twice as large. [109, 196, 260]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 7023
TypeEN
Right Ascension21h 01m 35.5s
Declination+68° 10' 10"
Diameter10.00 × 8.0 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude7.1 mag
Dreyer Description* 7 in eF, eL neby
IdentificationLBN 487, OCL 235

Finder Chart

West of Cepheus' large alignment, which looks more like a child's drawing of a house than a king, lies the dust nebula NGC 7023. To find it, it is best to use a wide-field eyepiece and align the telescope with the help of the Telrad finder according to the adjacent map. Although the nebula is circumpolar, it is highest in the night sky from May to December.

Chart NGC 7023
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 7023
NGC 7023: Drawing; 150mm-Refraktor, 70x-140x; © 8. 9. 1996 Beat Kohler

150 mm aperture: Its hazy appearance around a relatively bright star immediately gives the impression of a tarnished eyepiece. In fact, one has to be careful to find this rather difficult object to observe! The best magnifications proved to be 65x to 130x, without a filter, but with the eyepiece lens cleaned of dust (and dew). The large extent of the object is best seen with averted vision. Although there are differences in brightness, no structures can be made out. — 1996, Beat Kohler

762 mm aperture: The nebula is clearly visible around the bright star as a large, diffuse glow. With well-rested eyes, the two light-colored trapezoids and each within a darker area were rudimentarily recognizable. — 14. 8. 2021, Bernd Nies, Eduard von Bergen, 30" Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg

References

109A Cepheus Star-Hop by Alan M. MacRobert; S&T 9/94, p.40
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
260«A census of young stellar population associated with the Herbig Be star HD 200775» Piyali Saha, Maheswar G., Kamath U. S., Lee C. W, Manoj P., Blesson Mathew, Ekta Sharma; arXiv:2005.00519
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

NGC 7023, Irisnebel

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 7023
NGC 7023: Schmidt-Newton 250 mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da, ISO 1600, RGB 76.5 min, © 2018, Eduard von Bergen

Bei NGC 7023 handelt es sich um einen kleinen, armen offenen Sternhaufen, welcher von einen schwachen Staubnebel (LBN 487) umhüllt ist. Er wurde am 18. Oktober 1794 vom deutsch-britischen Astronomen Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Dreyer beschrieb NGC 7023 als einen Stern 7. Grösse, eingebettet in einen sehr schwachen aber grossen Nebel. Der Spitzame «Irisnebel» bezieht sich aufgrund von Farbe und Form auf die blauen Blüten der Schwertlilie (Iris versicolor) und nicht die Regenbogenhaut des Auges.

NGC 7023
NGC 7023: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+45+45+45 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Beim Stern HD 200775 handelt es sich um einen heissen, blauen Herbig Be Stern mit einer scheinbaren Helligkeit von etwa 7.4 Magnituden. Er gibt das meiste seiner Strahlung im UV-Bereich ab. Die Masse wird auf das etwa 10 bis 15-fache der Sonne geschätzt und das Alter gerade mal auf 100'000 Jahre.

Ausserhalb des durch den Stern blau angeleuchteten Reflexionsnebels befindet sich noch weitere Nebel, teils schwach leuchtend, teils aus dunklem interstellaren Staub. Sie fallen vor allem dadurch auf, dass dort die scheinbare Sterndichte niedriger ist, wie in Abb. 1 schön zu sehen ist. Der Nebel ist ein aktives Sternentstehungsgebiet. Messungen der Gaia-Sonde ergaben eine Entfernung von 335 ± 11 pc (1093 ± 36 Lichtjahre). Der offene Sternhaufen misst etwa 10 Bogenminuten im Durchmesser, welches bei dieser Entfernung etwa drei Lichtjahren entspricht. Der Reflexionsnebel ist etwa doppelt so gross. [109, 196, 260]

— 2021, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 7023C+N21 00.5+68 10Cep18.7.*7 in eF, eL, neby

Auffindtipp für NGC 7023

Westlich des grossen Alignements des Cepheus, welches eher einer Kinderzeichnung eines Hauses als einem König ähnelt, liegt der Staubnebel NGC 7023. Um ihn zu finden wählt man am besten ein Grossfeldokular und richtet das Teleskop mit Hilfe des Telrad-Finders gemäss der nebenstehenden Karte aus. Der Nebel ist zwar zirkumpolar, doch in den Monaten Mai bis Dezember steht er am höchsten am nächtlichen Himmel.

Auffindkarte
Karte mit Hilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Zeichnung NGC 7023
Zeichnung: 150 mm Refraktor, 70x-140x (8.9.96 Beat Kohler)

150 mm Refraktor: Sein nebliges Erscheinen rund um einen relativ hellen Stern lässt sofort den Eindruck eines angelaufenen Okulars aufkommen. Tatsächlich muss man schon aufpassen, dieses eher schwierig zu beobachtende Objekt zu finden! Als beste Vergrösserungen erwiesen sich 65 bis 130 fach, ohne Filter, jedoch mit von Staub (und Tau) gereinigter Augenlinse des Okulars. Bei indirektem Sehen zeigt sich das grosse Ausmass des Objektes am besten. Zwar lassen sich Helligkeitsunterschiede, jedoch keine Strukturen ausmachen.

— 1996, Beat Kohler

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.