Galaxies Messier 95, Messier 96

History

M 95 and M 96 were discovered by Pierre Méchain on March 20, 1781 and cataloged by Charles Messier on the 24th of the same month. He wrote about M 95: «Nebula without a star, in Leo, above star 1: the light is very weak.» About M 96 he wrote: «Nebula without a star, in Leo, next to the previous one; this is less obvious, both are on the parallels of Regulus: they resemble the two nebulae nos. 84 and 86 in Virgo. M. Méchain had seen both of them on March 20, 1781.» [281]

Messier 95
Messier 95: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [215]

Physical Properties of M 95

M 95 is a beautiful barred spiral galaxy and has around 40 billion stars. It is located about 33 million light years away and belongs to the Leo I group of galaxies, which includes M 95, M 105 and a large number of other galaxies. Many young, blue stars appear in the spiral arms. They are tightly wound around the center of the galaxy and are almost circular. In March 2016, the supernova SN 2012aw was discovered in the outer spiral arms of this galaxy. The star that became a supernova was a large, red supergiant with 26 times the mass of our sun. [196, 215]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 32007: NGC 3351, UGC 5850, MCG 2-28-1, M 95, CGCG 66-4, IRAS 10413+1158
Right Ascension (J2000.0)10h 43m 58.0s
Declination (J2000.0)+11° 42' 14"
Morphological TypeSBR
Dimensions7.3' x 4.4'
Visual Magnitude10.6 mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)778 km/s
Position Angle13°

Physical Properties of M 96

What is remarkable about the spiral galaxy M 96 is that its core is not exactly in the galactic center. It's about 35 million light years away. Mass and size roughly correspond to those of our Milky Way. [215]

In the eastern part of the galaxy we look through the spiral arms to the distant galaxy 2MFGC 08391 with extreme edge position. Due to the expansion of the universe, it is moving away at a speed of 16'530 km/s, which corresponds to a distance of about 244 Mpc (796 million light years). [194]

Messier 96
Messier 96: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [215]
Messier 96
Messier 96: With the edge-on galaxy 2MFGC 8391 behind it: Excerpt from the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]
«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 32192: NGC 3368, UGC 5882, MCG 2-28-6, M 96, CGCG 66-13, IRAS 10441+1205
Right Ascension (J2000.0)10h 46m 45.2s
Declination (J2000.0)+11° 49' 15"
Morphological TypeSBR
Dimensions7.8' x 5.2'
Visual Magnitude10.1 mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)898 km/s
Position Angle

Finder Chart

The two galaxies are located in the constellation Leo, about two degrees south on the center of the connecting lines of the two stars Chertan (θ Leonis) and Regulus (α Leonis). Almost one degree northeast of galaxy M 96 is the triple galaxy group M 105, NGC 3384, NGC 3389.

Chart M 95
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

The two galaxies are clearly visible with a smaller telescope. With an average brightness of 10.5 mag, they are not too much of a challenge. However, they are all the more clear and brighter. Unfortunately, none of the four galaxies give off any structures and the fine spiral arms at M 95 and M 96 are only visible on larger telescopes. [192]

Eduard von Bergen

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Galaxien Messier 95, Messier 96

Geschichte

M 95 und M 96 wurden am 20. März 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt und am folgenden 24. desselben Monats von Charles Messier katalogisiert. Er schrieb zu M 95: «Nebel ohne Stern, im Löwen, oberhalb des Sterns l: das Licht ist sehr schwach.» Zu M 96 schrieb er: «Nebel ohne Stern, im Löwen, neben dem vorhergehenden; dieser ist weniger offensichtlich, beide sind auf der Parallelen von Regulus: sie gleichen den beiden Nebel Nr. 84 und 86 in der Jungfrau. M. Méchain hatte beide am 20. März 1781 gesehen.» [281]

Messier 95
Messier 95: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]

Physikalische Eigenschaften von M 95

Bei M 95 handelt es sich um eine schöne Balkenspiralgalaxie und zählt etwa 40 Milliarden Sterne. Sie befindet sich in etwa 33 Millionen Lichtjahren Entfernung und zählt zur Leo I Galaxiengruppe, welche M 95, M 105 und eine grosse Zahl anderer Galaxien enthält. In den Spiralarmen entstehen viele junge, blaue Sterne. Sie sind eng um das Zentrum der Galaxie gewunden und fast kreisrund. Im März 2016 wurde die Supernova SN 2012aw in den äusseren Spiralarmen dieser Galaxie entdeckt. Der Stern, welcher zur Supernova wurde, war ein grosser, roter Überriese mit der 26-fachen Masse unserer Sonne. [196, 215]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
BezeichnungenPGC 32007: NGC 3351, UGC 5850, MCG 2-28-1, M 95, CGCG 66-4, IRAS 10413+1158
Rektaszension (J2000.0)10h 43m 58.0s
Deklination (J2000.0)+11° 42' 14"
Morphologischer TypSBR
Abmessungen7.3' x 4.4'
Visuelle Helligkeit10.6 mag
Radialgeschwindigkeit (HRV)778 km/s
Positionswinkel13°

Physikalische Eigenschaften von M 96

Bemerkenswert an der Spiralgalaxie M 96 ist, dass sich ihr Kern nicht exakt im galaktischen Zentrum befindet. Sie befindet sich in etwa 35 Millionen Lichtjahren Entfernung. Masse und Grösse entsprechen etwa der unserer Milchstrasse. [215]

Im östlichen Teil der Galaxie blicken wir durch die Spiralarme auf die weit entfernte Galaxie 2MFGC 08391 mit extremer Kantenlage. Sie entfernt sich aufgrund der Expansion des Universums mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 16'530 km/s, was weiner Entfernung von etwa 244 Mpc (796 Millionen Lichtjahre) entspricht. [194]

Messier 96
Messier 96: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]
Messier 96
Messier 96: Mit dahinter liegender Edge-On Galaxie 2MFGC 8391: Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]
«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
BezeichnungenPGC 32192: NGC 3368, UGC 5882, MCG 2-28-6, M 96, CGCG 66-13, IRAS 10441+1205
Rektaszension (J2000.0)10h 46m 45.2s
Deklination (J2000.0)+11° 49' 15"
Morphologischer TypSBR
Abmessungen7.8' x 5.2'
Visuelle Helligkeit10.1 mag
Radialgeschwindigkeit (HRV)898 km/s
Positionswinkel

Auffindtipp

Die beiden Galaxien befinden sich im Sternbild Leo, etwa zwei Grad südlich auf der Mitte der Verbindungslinien der beiden Sterne Chertan (θ Leonis) und Regulus (α Leonis). Knapp ein Grad nordöstlich der Galaxie M 96 befindet sich die dreifache Galaxiengruppe M 105, NGC 3384, NGC 3389.

Karte M 95
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Beobachtung

Die beiden Galaxien sind mit einem kleineren Teleskop gut sichtbar. Mit einer durchschnittlichen Helligkeit von 10.5mag stellen sie keine allzu grosse Herausforderung dar. Sie zeigen sich aber umso deutlicher und heller. Leider geben alle vier Galaxien keine Strukturen von sich und die feinen Spiralarme bei M 95 und M 96 sind visuell nur an grösseren Teleskopen vorbehalten. [192]

Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)