IC 443, Jellyfish Nebula

Object Description

IC 443
IC 443: Galaktic nebula in Gemini; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2, SBIG STL11K; 90+3*40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

IC 443 was discovered on September 25, 1892 by the German astronomer Max Wolf. [196] Because of its appearance, the nebula was nicknamed the «Jellyfish Nebula», not to be confused with the Medusa Nebula (Abell 21). Not only do both objects have a similar name (Medusa is the scientific name for jellyfish), they also have a similar appearance. In contrast to Abell 21, IC 443 is a supernova remnant and not a planetary nebula. The pulsar wind nebula with the neutron star CXOU J061705.3+222127 was identified as the origin of the supernova. A jet-like structure was discovered in IC 443, which appears to emanate from the neutron star. The distance to IC 443 is about 1.9 kpc (6200 light years) and the age is estimated to be about 30'000 years.[307, 359]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationIC 443
TypeSNR
Right Ascension06h 16m 36.0s
Declination+22° 31' 00"
Diameter50.00 × 40.0 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude12.0 mag
Dreyer DescriptionF, narrow, curved
IdentificationLBN 844, VMT 9, Sh2-248

Finder Chart

The galactic nebula IC 443 is located at the star Propus (η Gem) in the constellation Gemini, which is best visible from October to April.

Chart IC 443
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm aperture: With O-III filter and 21 mm Ethos eyepiece the brightest sickle shaped part of this nebula is visible only with averted vision. It looks a bit like the Medusa Nebula (Abell 21) but much fainter. Without filter and with H-beta no nebula can be seen. Larger aperture or darker sky required. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, February 28, 2022

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
307«Interstellar anatomy of the TeV gamma-ray peak in the IC443 supernova remnant» P. Dell’Ova1, A. Gusdorf, M. Gerin, D. Riquelme, R. Güsten, A. Noriega-Crespo, L. N. Tram, M. Houde, P. Guillard, A. Lehmann, P. Lesaffre, F. Louvet, A. Marcowith and M. Padovani; A&A Volume 644, December 2020; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/202038339
359«Discovery of a jet-like structure with overionized plasma in the SNR IC 443» Emanuele Greco, Marco Miceli, Salvatore Orlando, Giovanni Peres, Eleonora Troja and Fabrizio Bocchino; A&A Volume 615, July 2018; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/201832733

IC 443, Quallennebel

Objektbeschreibung

IC 443
IC 443: Galaktischer Nebel in Gemini; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2, SBIG STL11K; 90+3*40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

IC 443 wurde am 25. September 1892 vom deutschen Astronomen Max Wolf entdeckt. [196] Der Nebel erhielt aufgrund seines Aussehens den Spitznamen «Quallennebel» (Jellyfish Nebula), nicht zu verwechseln mit dem Medusanebel (Abell 21). Beide Objekte haben nicht nur einen ähnlichen Namen (Meduse ist der wissenschaftliche Name für Qualle), sondern ein ähnliches Aussehen. Im Gegensatz zu Abell 21 handelt es sich bei IC 443 um einen Supernova-Überrest und nicht einen planetarischen Nebel. Als Ursprungsort der Supernova wurde der Pulsarwind-Nebel mit dem Neutronenstern CXOU J061705.3+222127 identifiziert. In IC 443 wurde eine Jet-ähnliche Struktur entdeckt, welche vom Neutronenstern auszugehen scheint. Die Entfernung zu IC 443 beträgt etwa 1.9 kpc (6200 Lichtjahre) und das Alter wird auf etwa 30'000 Jahre geschätzt. [307, 359]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungIC 443
TypSNR
Rektaszension06h 16m 36.0s
Deklination+22° 31' 00"
Durchmesser50 × 40 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit12.0 mag
Metrische Entfernung1.500 kpc
Dreyer BeschreibungF, narrow, curved
Identifikation, AnmerkungenLBN 844, VMT 9, Sh2-248

Auffindkarte

Der galaktische Nebel IC 443 befindet sich beim Stern Propus (η Gem) im Sternbild Gemini (Zwillinge), welches von Oktober bis April am besten sichtbar ist.

Gemini: IC 443
Karte IC 443
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Mit O-III-Filter und 21 mm Ethos Okular ist der hellste sichelförmige Teil dieses Nebels nur mit indirektem Sehen sichtbar. Er sieht ein bisschen wie der Medusa-Nebel (Abell 21) aus, ist aber viel schwächer. Ohne Filter und mit H-beta ist kein Nebel zu sehen. Größere Öffnung oder dunklerer Himmel notwendig. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, 28. February 2022

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
307«Interstellar anatomy of the TeV gamma-ray peak in the IC443 supernova remnant» P. Dell’Ova1, A. Gusdorf, M. Gerin, D. Riquelme, R. Güsten, A. Noriega-Crespo, L. N. Tram, M. Houde, P. Guillard, A. Lehmann, P. Lesaffre, F. Louvet, A. Marcowith and M. Padovani; A&A Volume 644, December 2020; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/202038339
359«Discovery of a jet-like structure with overionized plasma in the SNR IC 443» Emanuele Greco, Marco Miceli, Salvatore Orlando, Giovanni Peres, Eleonora Troja and Fabrizio Bocchino; A&A Volume 615, July 2018; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/201832733