NGC 2440, Insect Nebula

Object Description

NGC 2440
NGC 2440: Composite image, 2.2m Kitt Peak reflector. Courtesy of Bruce Balick.

NGC 2440 is a very complex planetary nebula (PN) about 1600 light-years away. An inner, bright area with two condensations can be seen, which is embedded in a fainter, much larger nebula structure (halo). Since the inner part of the PN is very different from the outer part, it is assumed that the two areas arose in different ways in different periods of time. The complex structures can already be explained surprisingly well with models. In the Vorontsov-Velyaminov classification scheme, NGC 2440 is recorded as a PN with an irregular shape and brightness distribution (V+III).

The object's central star is one of the hottest stars known. Observations with various large telescopes (HST, Kitt Peak, AAT) and the ultraviolet satellite IUE revealed a surface temperature of 125'000 Kelvin! It is a white dwarf with almost one solar mass. Despite its 250 times the Sun's luminosity, it appears to us only as a 17.7 mag faint point. The study of the star is also made more difficult by the bright surrounding nebula, so that only the largest telescopes on earth and the Hubble Space Telescope can be used to observe it (see Fig. 2).

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

NGC 2440
NGC 2440: HST image with the WFPC-1 from 1992, before the first servicing mission. © NASA & STScI
NGC 2440
NGC 2440: HST image from 2007 [456]
«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G234.8+02.4: NGC 2440, PK 234+02.1, ARO 47, ESO 560-09, Sa 2- 14, VV 45, VV' 71
Right Ascension (J2000.0)7h 41m 56s
Declination (J2000.0)-18° 12' 33"
Dimensions 16." (optical), 18." (radio)
Distance 0.7 kpc
Radial Velocity+63.0 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansion Velocity 22.5 km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 88, BD -17 2105, CSI -17 02105, GCRV 5132, HD 62166
C-Star Magnitude17.65 mag (V filter)
DiscovererHERSCHEL 1790

How to find the Insect?

The planetary nebula NGC 2440 is located in the constellation of Puppis, the aft deck of the Argo Navis. To find it, focus on the open star cluster M 46 and swivel the telescope almost 3.5 degrees to the south! Tip: Of course, the PN fan will not fail to note the two rings NGC 2438 and M1-18 for M 46. Due to its southern location, the best observation time is around January.

Puppis: NGC 2440
Chart NGC 2440
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 2440
NGC 2440: Zeichnung; 200mm SCT, 338x, ohne Filter; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm aperture: As with most PNs, it is worth using high magnification. The inner area has the outline of a gummy bear. A slight increase in brightness can be seen at the northern and southern edges. A kind of stellar brightening is noticeable on one side. The bear is surrounded by an extended, diffuse halo. The evenly bright halo has the shape of an ellipse whose major axis is slightly tilted to the east-west line.

At a magnification of about 340x, no star was visible in the entire field of view. As described above, the faint central star is beyond the capabilities of an amateur telescope.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
456Hubble reveals NGC 2440; esahubble.org/images/heic0703a (2021-12-20)

NGC 2440, Insektennebel

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 2440
Komposit-Aufnahme, 2.2m-Reflektor Kitt Peak. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Bruce Balick.

NGC 2440 ist ein sehr komplexer Planetarischer Nebel (PN) in etwa 1600 Lichtjahren Entfernung. Es ist ein innerer, heller Bereich mit zwei Kondensationen erkennbar, der in eine schwächere, viel grössere Nebelstruktur (Halo) eingebettet ist. Da sich der innere Teil des PN vom äusseren sehr stark unterscheidet, nimmt man an, dass die beiden Bereiche auf verschiedene Weise in verschiedenen Zeiträumen entstanden sind. Die komplexen Strukturen können heute bereits erstaunlich gut mit Modellen erklärt werden. Im Klassifikationsschema von Vorontsov-Velyaminov wird NGC 2440 als PN mit unregelmässiger Form und Helligkeitsverteilung (V+III) festgehalten.

NGC 2440
HST-Aufnahme mit der WFPC-1 vor der ersten Servicing Mission. © NASA & STScI

Der Zentralstern des Objekts ist einer der heissesten Sterne überhaupt. Beobachtungen mit diversen Grossteleskopen (HST, Kitt Peak, AAT) und dem Ultraviolett-Satelliten IUE ergaben eine Oberflächentemperatur von 125'000 Kelvin! Es handelt sich dabei um einen einen weissen Zwerg mit knapp einer Sonnenmasse. Trotz seiner 250-fachen Sonnenleuchtkraft erscheint er uns nur als 17.7 mag schwacher Punkt. Die Untersuchbarkeit des Sterns wird zudem durch den hellen umgebenden Nebel erschwert, so dass zu seiner Beobachtung nur die grössten Teleskope auf der Erde sowie das Hubble-Weltraumteleskop infrage kommen (siehe Abb. 2).

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenARO 47, ESO 560-09, NGC 2440, PK 234+02 1, PN G234.8+02.4, Sa 2- 14, VV 45, VV' 71
Rektaszension (B1950.0)07h 39m 41.50s
Deklination (B1950.0)-18° 05' 26.0"
Abmessungen 16." (optisch), 18." (radio)
Entfernung 0.7 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit+63.0 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 22.5 km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 88, BD -17 2105, CSI -17 02105, GCRV 5132, HD 62166
Z-Stern Magnitude17.65 mag (V filter)
EntdeckerHERSCHEL 1790

Wie findet man das Insekt?

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 2440 befindet sich im Sternbild Puppis, dem Achterdeck der Argo Navis. Um ihn zu finden, stellt man den offenen Sternhaufen M 46 ein und schwenkt das Teleskop knapp 3.5 Grad nach Süden! Tip: Der PN-Fan wird es natürlich nicht versäumen bei M 46 die beiden Ringlein NGC 2438 und M1-18 zu beachten. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist aufgrund der südlichen Lage nur um den Januar herum.

Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

NGC 2440
NGC 2440: Zeichnung; 200mm SCT, 338x, ohne Filter; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm Öffnung: Wie bei den meisten PNs lohnt sich der Einsatz einer hoher Vergrösserung. Der innere Bereich hat die Umrisse eines Gummibärchens. Am nördlichen und südlichen Rand stellt lässt sich ein leichter Helligkeitsanstieg feststellen. An der einen Seite fällt eine Art stellare Aufhellung auf. Das Bärchen ist von einem ausgedehnten, diffusen Halo umgeben. Der gleichmässig helle Halo hat die Form einer Ellipse, deren grosse Achse zur Ost-West-Linie leicht geneigt ist.

Im ganzen Gesichtsfeld ist war bei etwa 340-facher Vergrösserung kein Stern sichtbar. Der schwache Zentralstern liegt wie oben beschrieben jenseits der Möglichkeiten eines Amateurfernrohrs.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.