Galaxy NGC 1097

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Barred spiral galaxy with tidal streams in Fornax; 16" f/8.3 Hypergraph, SBIG STL-11000M,; 38 x 10 min Luminance, je 5 x 10 min RGB, 2x2 Binning; Farm Tivoli, Namibia; © 2014 Eduard von Bergen, Hansjörg Wälchli

History

Wilhelm Herschel was the first to encounter this galaxy on October 9, 1790 with his 18.7 inch reflector. He cataloged it as V 48 (class V = very large nebulae). He noted: «Very bright, extended 75°, north preceding, south following, 8' long. A very bright nucleus, confined to a small part, or about 1' diameter.» [465]

Physical Properties

NGC 1097 is a barred spiral galaxy of type SB(s)b and has an exceptionally bright core and therefore belongs to the group of Seyfert galaxies (Type 1), which, together with quasars, are among the most active galaxies. The supermassive black hole in the center is fed by stars, gas and dust, which fall in spirals, are torn apart and heated up, forming an accretion disk around the black hole.

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Image taken with the 8.2 meter telescope of the VLT in Chile [236]

The distances calculated from the measured heliocentric velocities range from 14 Mpc to 17.7 Mpc (45.6 to 57.7 million light years). [145]

In Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, a noticeable bright ring can be seen around the black hole in the center. There are masses of new stars that are stimulated by the inflow of matter via central bars. The diameter of the ring is estimated to be around 5000 light years and the mass of the black hole to be around 140 million solar masses. For comparison: the black hole in the center of our Milky Way has «only» a few million solar masses. [235, 237]

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Galaxy NGC 1097 with all four tidal streams, which can be traced to the dwarf galaxy in stream 1; © 2021 Eduard von Bergen

In the image in Fig. 1, four faint rays can be seen, which seem to come radially from the center of the galaxy. These are highlighted in Fig. 3. These were originally interpreted as the remnants of the jets of a currently less active core. A further analysis of the spectral energy distribution from radio to X-rays could rule out such an origin. These «jets» actually consist of individual stars and were created through gravitational interaction with small dwarf galaxies. The main culprit is not the small, elliptical galaxy NGC 1097A, but the remnant of it was discovered in the L-shaped tidal current. [238]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 1097A02 46 09.9-30 13 45E M.8 x .513.01337105
NGC 109702 46 18.9-30 16 21SBR9.4 x 6.610.31274130

Finder Chart

The galaxy NGC 1097 is located in constellation Fornax (Furnace) at a declination of -30° and is therefore low in the southern sky. The best time for this is around November, when the constellation is highest above the southern horizon at midnight. Follow the river Eridanus next to Rigel in Orion to the second river bend. Unless the three stars Dalim (α Fornacis, 3.79 mag) - β Fornacis (4.46 mag) - ν Fornacis (4.96 mag) sink into the light dome of Milan or are blocked by a mountain, they show you the way to NGC 1097.

Chart NGC 1097
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

762 mm aperture: The extremely low and very southerly Seyfert galaxy NGC 1097 with companion PGC 10479 should be planned very well in advance for your successful sighting. In our latitudes and especially in a mountain valley, visibility is only given for three quarters of an hour. Thanks to a right-angled triangle made up of three roughly equally bright stars, NGC 1097 can be clearly found, despite the already bad refraction. The core shows only a slight elongation, whereby it appears at least slightly washed out. The companion galaxy PGC 10479 exceeds expectations in terms of its visibility, it is much easier to spot than expected. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 5. 11. 2021, Eduard von Bergen

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
235Astronomers Measure Mass of Supermassive Black Hole in NGC 1097; sci-news.com/astronomy/science-supermassive-black-hole-ngc1097-02928.html (2021-01-20)
236Spiral galaxy NGC 1097; eso.org/public/images/eso0438d (2021-01-20)
237«A Measurement of the Black-Hole Mass in NGC 1097 using ALMA» Kyoko Onishi (1, 2), Satoru Iguchi, Kartik Sheth, Kotaro Kohno ((1) SOKENDAI (The Graduate University for Advanced Studies), (2) National Astronomical Observatory of Japan); DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/806/1/39
238«A dwarf galaxy's transformation and a massive galaxy's edge: autopsy of kill and killer in NGC 1097» N. C. Amorisco, D. Martinez-Delgado, J. Schedler; arXiv:1504.03697
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021

Galaxie NGC 1097

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Balkenspiralgalaxie mit Gezeitenströmen in Fornax; 16" f/8.3 Hypergraph, SBIG STL-11000M,; 38 x 10 min Luminanz, je 5 x 10 min RGB, 2x2 Binning; Farm Tivoli, Namibia; © 2014 Eduard von Bergen, Hansjörg Wälchli

Geschichte

Wilhelm Herschel stieß am 9. Oktober 1790 mit seinem 18.7 Zoll Reflektor als erster auf diese Galaxie. Er katalogisierte sie als V 48 (Klasse V = sehr grosse Nebel). Er notierte dazu: «Sehr hell, ausgedehnt 75°, Norden vorangehend, Süden folgend, 8' lang. Ein sehr heller Kern, der auf einen kleinen Teil von etwa 1 Fuß Durchmesser beschränkt ist.» [465]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 1097 ist eine Balkenspiralgalaxie des Typs SB(s)b und besitzt einen außergewöhnlich hellen Kern und gehört deshalb zur Gruppe der Seyfert-Galaxien (Typ 1), welche zusammen mit Quasaren zu den aktivsten Galaxien gehören. Das supermassive schwarze Loch im Zentrum wird von Sternen, Gas und Staub gefüttert, welche spiralförmig hineinfallen, auseinandergerissen und aufgeheizt werden und so eine Akkretionsscheibe um das schwarze Loch formen.

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Aufnahme mit dem 8.2 Meter Teleskop des VLT in Chile [236]

Die aus den gemessenen Fluchtgeschwindigkeiten errechneten Distanzen reichen von 14 Mpc bis 17.7 Mpc (45.6 bis 57.7 Millionen Lichtjahre). [145]

In Abb. 1 und Abb. 2 ist um das schwarze Loch im Zentrum ein auffälliger heller Ring zu erkennen. Dort entstehen massenweise neue Sterne, welche durch den Materiezufluss über zentralen Balken angeregt werden. Der Durchmesser des Rings wird auf etwa 5000 Lichtjahre und die Masse des schwarzen Loches auf etwa 140 Millionen Sonnenmassen geschätzt. Zum Vergleich: Das schwarze Loch im Zentrum unserer Milchstraße besitzt «nur» ein paar Millionen Sonnenmassen. [235, 237]

NGC 1097
NGC 1097: Galaxie NGC 1097 mit allen vier Stellaren Gezeitenströmen, welche auf die Zwerggalaxie im Stream 1 zurückzuführen ist.; © 2021 Eduard von Bergen

Auf der Aufnahme in Abb. 1 sind vier schwache Strahlen zu erkennen, welche radial aus dem Zentrum der Galaxie zu kommen scheinen. In Abb. 3 sind diese stärker hervorgehoben. Diese wurden ursprünglich als Überreste der Jets eines derzeit weniger aktiven Kerns interpretiert. Eine weitere Analyse der spektralen Energieverteilung von Radio zu Röntgenstrahlung konnte einen solchen Ursprung ausschließen. Diese «Jets» bestehen in Wahrheit aus einzelnen Sternen und sind durch gravitative Wechselwirkung mit kleinen Zwerggalaxien entstanden. Der Hauptverursacher ist nicht die kleine, elliptische Galaxie NGC 1097A, sondern der Überrest dessen wurde im L-förmigen Gezeitenstrom entdeckt. [238]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 1097A02 46 09.9-30 13 45E M.8 x .513.01337105
NGC 109702 46 18.9-30 16 21SBR9.4 x 6.610.31274130

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie NGC 1097 befindet sich im Sternbild Chemischer Ofen (Fornax) bei einer Deklination von -30° und steht somit tief am Südhimmel. Die beste Zeit hierfür ist um den November herum, dann steht das Sternbild um Mitternacht am höchsten über dem südlichen Horizont. Folge dem Fluss Eridanus neben Rigel im Orion beginnend bis zur zweiten Flussbiegung. Sofern nicht die drei Sterne Dalim (α Fornacis, 3.79 mag) — β Fornacis (4.46 mag) — ν Fornacis (4.96 mag) im Lichtdom von Mailand versinken oder von einem Berg abgeblockt werden, weisen sie einem den Weg zu NGC 1097.

Fornax: NGC 1097
Karte NGC 1097
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

762 mm Öffnung: Die extrem tiefstehende und sehr südlich liegende Seyfert-Galaxie NGC 1097 mit Begleiter PGC 10479 ist sehr gut im Voraus für ihre erfolgreiche Sichtung einzuplanen. In unseren Breiten und erst recht in einem Bergtal ist nur gerade eine Sichtbarkeit von dreiviertel Stunden gegeben. Dank einem rechtwinkligen Dreieck aus drei etwa gleich hellen Sternen ist NGC 1097 eindeutig auffindbar, trotz bereits arg wirkender Refraktion. Der Kern zeigt zwar nur eine geringe Elongierung, wobei er zumindest leicht verwaschen erscheint. Die Begleitgalaxie PGC 10479 übertrifft die Erwartungen bei ihrer Sichtbarkeit, sie ist viel leichter auszumachen als angedacht. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 5. 11. 2021, Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
235Astronomers Measure Mass of Supermassive Black Hole in NGC 1097; sci-news.com/astronomy/science-supermassive-black-hole-ngc1097-02928.html (2021-01-20)
236Spiral galaxy NGC 1097; eso.org/public/images/eso0438d (2021-01-20)
237«A Measurement of the Black-Hole Mass in NGC 1097 using ALMA» Kyoko Onishi (1, 2), Satoru Iguchi, Kartik Sheth, Kotaro Kohno ((1) SOKENDAI (The Graduate University for Advanced Studies), (2) National Astronomical Observatory of Japan); DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/806/1/39
238«A dwarf galaxy's transformation and a massive galaxy's edge: autopsy of kill and killer in NGC 1097» N. C. Amorisco, D. Martinez-Delgado, J. Schedler; arXiv:1504.03697
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021