Robin's Egg Nebula (NGC 1360)

NGC 1360
NGC 1360: Section of the DSS2. Here could be your photo. [147]

History

The planetary nebula was discovered by the American astronomer Lewis Swift in 1859 using his private 4.5 inch refractor. [277] Swift did not publish his observation until 1885, that's why the PN was independently discovered by Wilhelm Tempel on 9 October 1861, by August Winnecke in January 1868 and by Eugen Block on 18 October 1878. [196] John L. E. Dreyer listed the planetary nebula as NGC 1360 and added the description: «Star of 8th magnitude in bright, large nebula, elongated north-south.» [313]

Physical Properties

NGC 1360 is a large and evolved planetary nebula without an obvious shell morphology. It is thought to be a prolate ellipsoidal shell with the major axis twice as long and it is tilted by 60° towards the line of sight. A Gaussian radial density profile without a sharp inner edge indicates a lack of compression by stellar wind. The kinematic age is around 10'000 years. The low density of ≤ 130 H atom cm-3 implies that it has begun to merge with the interstellar medium. The regions with low-ionization emission near the end of the major axis expand faster than the shell. They are younger than the nebular shell. [539]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 1360
Type PN
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 03h 33m 14.6s
Declination (J2000.0) -25° 52' 16"
Diameter 6.42 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude 9.6 mag
Visual magnitude 9.4 mag
Metric Distance 0.392 kpc
Identification, Remarks GC 5315; PK 220-53.1; ESO 482-PN7; AM 0331-260; CS=11.4

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 1360 is located in the constellation Fornax at a declination of -35° and is thus low in the southern sky. The best time for this is around November, when the constellation is highest above the southern horizon at midnight. Follow the Eridanus next to Rigel in the constellation Orion starting at the second bend of the river. Unless the three stars Dalim (α Fornacis, 3.79 mag) — β Fornacis (4.46 mag) — ν Fornacis (4.96 mag) sink into Milano's dome of light or are blocked by a mountain, they point the way to NGC 1360. The PN is located in the prolongation of β to α Fornacis, about 0.5° south of two 6th magnitude stars.

Finder Chart Robin's Egg Nebula (NGC 1360)
Robin's Egg Nebula (NGC 1360) in constellation Fornax. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 20°

References

Rotkehlchen-Ei Nebel (NGC 1360)

NGC 1360
NGC 1360: Ausschnitt aus dem DSS2 [147]

Geschichte

Der Planetarische Nebel wurde 1859 von dem amerikanischen Astronomen Lewis Swift mit seinem privaten 4.5 Zoll Refraktor entdeckt. [277] Swift veröffentlichte seine Beobachtung erst 1885, deshalb wurde der PN unabhängig voneinander von Wilhelm Tempel am 9. Oktober 1861, von August Winnecke im Januar 1868 und von Eugen Block am 18. Oktober 1878 entdeckt. [196] John L. E. Dreyer listete den Planetarischen Nebel als NGC 1360 und fügte die Beschreibung hinzu: «Stern der 8. Größenklasse in hellem, großem Nebel, in Nord-Süd-Richtung verlängert.» [313]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 1360 ist ein großer, fortgeschrittener planetarischer Nebel ohne offensichtliche Schalenmorphologie. Man nimmt an, dass es sich um eine gestreckte ellipsoide Schale handelt, deren Hauptachse doppelt so lang ist und um 60° in Sichtlinie geneigt ist. Ein gaußförmiges radiales Dichteprofil ohne scharfen inneren Rand weist auf fehlende Kompression durch stellare Winde hin. Das kinematische Alter beträgt etwa 10'000 Jahre. Die niedrige Dichte von ≤ 130 H-Atomen -3 lässt darauf schliessen, dass er begonnen hat, mit dem interstellaren Medium zu verschmelzen. Die Regionen mit niedriger Ionisationsemission nahe dem Ende der Hauptachse expandieren schneller als die Hülle. Sie sind jünger als die Hülle des Nebels. [539]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 1360
TypPN
Rektaszension03h 33m 14.6s
Deklination-25° 52' 16"
Durchmesser6.42 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit9.6 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit9.4 mag
Metrische Entfernung0.392 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung* 8 in B, L neb, E ns
Identifikation, AnmerkungenPK 220-53.1, ESO 482-PN7, AM 0331-260, CS=11.4

Auffindkarte

Der Planetarische Nebel NGC 1360 befindet sich im Sternbild Fornax (Chemischer Ofen) bei einer Deklination von -35° und steht somit tief am Südhimmel. Die beste Zeit hierfür ist um den November herum, dann steht das Sternbild um Mitternacht am höchsten über dem südlichen Horizont. Folge dem Fluss Eridanus neben Rigel im Sternbild Orion beginnend bis zur zweiten Flussbiegung. Sofern nicht die drei Sterne Dalim (α Fornacis, 3.79 mag) — β Fornacis (4.46 mag) — ν Fornacis (4.96 mag) im Lichtdom von Mailand versinken oder von einem Berg abgeblockt werden, weisen sie einem den Weg zu NGC 1360. The PN is located in the prolongation of β to α Fornacis, about 0.5° south of two 6th magnitude stars.

Karte Rotkehlchen-Ei Nebel (NGC 1360)
Rotkehlchen-Ei Nebel (NGC 1360) im Sternbild Fornax. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±30°)

Quellenangaben

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
539«Physical Structure of Planetary Nebulae. III. The Large and Evolved NGC 1360» Goldman, Daniel B.; Guerrero, Martín A.; Chu, You-Hua; Gruendl, Robert A.; The Astronomical Journal, Volume 128, Issue 4, pp. 1711-1715, October 2004; arXiv:astro-ph/0407568; DOI:10.1086/424623; Bibcode:2004AJ....128.1711G