Galaxy Messier 94

Messier 94
Messier 94: Galaxy in Canes Venatici; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 60+20+20+20 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

History

M 94 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on 22 March 1781. Charles Messier observed him two nights later and wrote: «Nebula without a star, above the heart of Karl [Cor Caroli], on the parallels of star no. 8, sixth magnitude after Flamsteeed: the center is brilliant and the nebula a bit diffuse. It is like the nebula no. 79 below the hare; but this one is more beautiful and brighter. M. Méchain discovered it on 22 March 1781.» [281]

Physical Properties

Messier 94
Messier 94: Central region with starburst ring: Image taken with the Hubble space telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

M 94 is a spiral galaxy at a distance of 16 million light years. Around the center there is a ring-shaped arrangement of elevated star formation, a so-called starburst ring. The age of these newly formed stars is estimated to be around 10 million years. Due to the strong radiation in this ring, M 94 is classified as Seyfert Type 2. The cause of this ring of star formation is probably a shock wave, which migrates from the center outwards and compresses gas and dust in the outer regions. The gas then collapses into denser clouds until gravity has pulled the gas and dust together and condensed them enough that the temperature and pressure are high enough for nuclear fusion and a star is created.

In addition to the weaker outer ring, two weak spiral arms extend far out into the intergalactic space. Also noteworthy about M 94 is an obvious deficit of dark matter compared to other galaxies. The reason for this is still unknown and is the subject of further research. [196, 215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 4736
Type Gx (Sab)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 12h 50m 53.1s
Declination (J2000.0) +41° 07' 17"
Diameter 14.4 × 12.1 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude 9.0 mag
Visual magnitude 8.2 mag
Surface brightness 13.1 mag·arcmin-2
Position Angle 117°
Redshift (z) 0.001027
Distance derived from z 4.34 Mpc
Metric Distance 5.130 Mpc
Identification, Remarks h 1456; GC 3258; M 94; UGC 7996; MCG 7-26-58; IRAS 12485+4123; CGCG 216-34; CGCG 217-1

Finder Chart

M 94 is located in the constellation Canes Venatici, about three degrees north of the star Cor Caroli (α Canum Venaticorum). The constellation is circumpolar and is highest in the night sky from February to July.

Finder Chart Galaxy Messier 94
Galaxy Messier 94 in constellation Canes Venatici. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Galaxie Messier 94

Messier 94
Messier 94: Galaxie in Canes Venatici; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 60+20+20+20 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

M 94 wurde am 22. März 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Charles Messier beobachtete ihn zwei Nächte später und schrieb dazu: «Nebel ohne Stern, oberhalb des Herzen des Karl [Cor Caroli], auf der Parallelen des Sternes Nr. 8, sechster Grösse nach Flamsteeed: Das Zentrum ist brilliant und der Nebel etwas diffus. Er gleicht dem Nebel Nr. 79 unterhalb des Hasen; aber dieser ist schöner und heller. M. Méchain entdeckte ihn am 22. März 1781.» [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Messier 94
Messier 94: Zentralregion mit Starburst-Ring. Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

M 94 ist eine Spiralgalaxie in in einer Entfernung von 16 Millionen Lichtjahren. Um das Zentrum befindet sich eine ringförmige Anordnung erhöhter Sternentstehung, ein sogenannter Starburst-Ring. Das Alter dieser neu entstandener Sterne wird auf etwa 10 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Aufgrund der starken Strahlung in diesem Ring wird M 94 als Seyfert Typ 2 klassifiziert. Die Ursache für diesen Ring an Sternentstehung liegt vermutlich in einer Schockwelle, welche vom Zentrum nach aussen wandert und Gas und Staub in den äusseren Regionen komprimiert. Das Gas kollabiert dadurch zu dichteren Wolken, bis die Schwerkraft Gas und Staub so weit zusammengezogen und verdichtet hat, dass Temperatur und Druck hoch genug für eine Kernfusion ist und so ein Stern entsteht.

Nebst dem schwächeren äusseren Ring erstrecken sich noch zwei schwache Spiralarme weit nach aussen in den intergalaktischen Raum. Bemerkenswert an M 94 auch ist ein offensichtliches Defizit an dunkler Materie im Vergleich zu anderen Galaxien. Der Grund dafür ist noch unbekannt und Gegenstand weiterer Untersuchungen. [196, 215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 4736
TypGx (Sab)
Rektaszension12h 50m 53.1s
Deklination+41° 07' 17"
Durchmesser14.4 × 12.1 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit9.0 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit8.2 mag
Oberflächenhelligkeit13.1 mag·arcmin-2
Position angle117°
Rotverschiebung0.001027
Entfernung abgeleitet von z4.34 Mpc
Metrische Entfernung5.130 Mpc
Dreyer BeschreibungvB, L, iR, vsvmbMBN, r
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 94, UGC 7996, MCG 7-26-58, IRAS 12485+4123, CGCG 216-34, CGCG 217-1

Auffindkarte

M 94 befindet sich im Sternbild Canes Venatici (Jagdhunde), etwa drei Grad nördlich vom Stern Cor Caroli (α Canum Venaticorum). Das Sternbild ist zirkumpolar und steht in den Monaten Februar bis Juli am höchsten am Nachthimmel.

Karte Galaxie Messier 94
Galaxie Messier 94 im Sternbild Canes Venatici. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)