Open Cluster Messier 23

Messier 23
Messier 23: Section of the Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Object Description

The galactic star cluster Messier 23 was probably first sighted by Charles Messier in June 1764. Although Messier described it as a cluster 15 arc minutes in diameter with stars very close together, he added M 23 to his list of comet-like objects. John Herschel found around 100 stars from 9th to 13th magnitude in this group, which appear more or less evenly scattered with a slight concentration towards the center. A number of stars are formed into curved arcs and chains, which suggest the shape of a Chinese temple to the imaginative observer or which look something like oriental calligraphy.

According to the color-brightness diagram, the majority of stars appear to be reddish main sequence stars. The brightest members are of type B9. Several G-type giant stars exist in the group - the brightest example in the main mass of the cluster can be found in the small elliptical formation of six stars in the center: it is the westernmost star of this flat ring. The star density in the center is estimated at around 31 stars per cubic parsec. M 23 is in front of an extensive dark cloud. The distance of the cluster is a little more than 2000 light years, the diameter about 15 light years. [1, 4]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6494
TypeOCL (III1m)
Right Ascension17h 56m 56.0s
Declination-19° 00' 42"
Diameter25.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude5.5 mag
Dreyer DescriptionCl, B, vL, pRi, lC, st 10…
IdentificationM 23, OCL 30, ESO 589-SC22

Finder Chart

The star cluster Messier 23 is located in the constellation Sagittarius. It can best be seen in the months of June to August. Then the constellation is highest above the southern horizon.

Chart Messier 23
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

1«Atlas der schönsten Himmelsobjekte» von Hans Vehrenberg; 4. Auflage von «Mein Messier-Buch», Nachdruck 1985; Treugesell-Verlag KG, Düsseldorf
4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Offener Sternhaufen Messier 23

Objektbeschreibung

Der galaktische Sternhaufen Messier 23 wurde vermutlich erstmals im Juni 1764 von Charles Messier gesichtet. Obwohl Messier ihn als Haufen mit 15' Durchmesser und sehr nahe beieinander stehenden Sternen beschrieb, nahm er M 23 in seine Liste kometenähnlicher Objekte auf. John Herschel fand etwa 100 Sterne von 9. bis etwa 13. Magnitude in dieser Gruppe, welche mehr oder weniger gleichmässig verstreut mit einer leichten Konzentration gegen die Mitte hin erscheinen. Eine Zahl Sterne formiert sich zu geschwungenen Bögen und Ketten, welche dem phantasiereichen Beobachter die Form eines Chinesischen Tempels suggerieren oder auch etwas wie orientalische Kalligraphie aussehen.

Nach dem Farben-Helligkeits-Diagramm scheint es sich bei der Mehrheit der Sterne um rötliche Hauptreihensterne zu handeln. Die hellsten Mitglieder sind vom Typ B9. Einige G-typen Riesensterne existieren in der Gruppe - das hellste Exemplar in der Hauptmasse des Haufens kann in der kleinen elliptischen Formation von sechs Sternen im Zentrum gefunden werden: es handelt sich um den westlichsten Stern dieses flachen Ringes. Die Sterndichte im Zentrum wird auf etwa 31 Sterne pro Kubikparsek geschätzt. M 23 befindet sich vor einer ausgedehnten Dunkelwolke Die Entfernung des Haufens beträgt etwas mehr als 2000 Lichtjahre, der Durchmesser etwa 15 Lichtjahre. [1, 4]

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» Dreyer, Sinnott [142].
NameNGC 6494
TypOC
Rektaszension (B2000.0)17h 56.8m
Deklination (B2000.0)-19° 01'
SternbildSgr
Durchmesser27. '
vMag5.5
Dreyer BeschreibungCl, B, vL, pRi, lC, st 10...; = M23

Auffindtipp für Messier 23

M 23 befindet sich im Sternbild Schützen (Sagittarius). Er kann am besten in den Monaten Juni bis August beobachtet werden. Dann steht das Sternbild am höchsten über dem Südhorizont.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Quellenangaben

1«Atlas der schönsten Himmelsobjekte» von Hans Vehrenberg; 4. Auflage von «Mein Messier-Buch», Nachdruck 1985; Treugesell-Verlag KG, Düsseldorf
4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
142NGC 2000.0, The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters by J.L.E. Dreyer; edited by Roger W. Sinnott; Sky Publishing Corporation and Cambridge University Press (1988); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/118 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form