CRL 2688, Egg Nebula

CRL 2688
CRL 2688: Egg Nebula, a preplanetary nebula; 500 mm Cassegrain f=5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 60+3*10 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

History

During the Air Force Cambridge Research Laboratory (AFCRL) Rocket Surveys, Price and Walker discovered a strong infrared emission from object CRL 2688 (AF 803-2935) in 1974. Martin Cohen identified this infrared source with an oval nebula on the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» (POSS). E. P. Ney coined the nickname "Egg Nebula" (Egg Nebula) in an article in the January 1975 issue of «Sky & Telescope». Other common names are V1610 Cygni, which refers to the variable star. [340, 341]

In Fritz Zwicky's 1971 «Catalog of selected compact galaxies and of post-eruptive galaxies» the object is listed at position IV Zw 067 with the comment «Pair of blue fuzzy oval compacts». This supposed galaxy made it into the Uppsala General Catalog published in 1973 as UGC 11668 and as PGC 3097220 and PGC 3099128 in the HyperLEDA database with a hypothetical escape speed of 2550±20 km/s. [134, 342]

In the 2001 edition of Kohoutek's «Catalog of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» the nebula is still listed in Table 5 for «Possible pre-Planetary Nebulae» as CRL 2688. The designation PK 80-6.1 is not mentioned there and came later. [146]

CRL 2688
CRL 2688: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [343]

Physical Properties

This object is a post-AGB star (AGB = asymptotic giant branch), i. e. a star with 0.6 to 10 solar masses that is in a very late development phase or a preplanetary nebula. This is a very brief stage in stellar evolution and only lasts a few thousand years. The hot remains of the star in the center heat up the surrounding gas and make it glow. Since such proto-planetary nebulae only last a very short time and are very faint, not many have been discovered yet. V1610 Cygni was the first such discovery.

The central star is hidden behind a thick cloud of dust. Four rays shine through the nebula like searchlights. It is believed that jets emerging from the star cut ring-shaped holes in the otherwise impenetrable cocoon of dust, from which light can now escape. How this can come about is still unclear. It is believed that in the center there could be a binary system instead of a single star. The onion-skin-like structure of the diffuse nebula surrounding the central cocoon was created by periodic ejections of material from the dying star. Such ejections typically occur every few hundred years.

The distance from planetary nebulae is generally difficult to determine. It is estimated that V1610 Cygni is about 3000 light years away from us. [343]

R.A. (J2000)   : 21h 02m 18.27s 
Dec. (J2000)   : +36° 41' 37.0"
vis. Magnitude : 14 mag ... 15.5 mag (?)
Dimensions     : 33" x 23"

Further infos at CDS: PK 80-6.1

Finder Chart

The Egg Nebula is located in the constellation Cygnus (swan) . The best time to watch is April to November, when it is highest at night.

Chart CRL 2688
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
340«Studies of the infrared source CRL 2688» Ney, E. P.; Merrill, K. M.; Becklin, E. E.; Neugebauer, G.; Wynn-Williams, C. G.; Astrophysical Journal, Vol. 198, p. L129-L134 (1975); June 1975; DOI:10.1086/181829; Bibcode:1975ApJ...198L.129N
341«Optical identifications of AFCRL rocket infrared sources.» Cohen, M.; Astronomical Journal, Vol. 80, p. 125-127 (1975); February 1975; DOI:10.1086/111721; Bibcode:1975AJ.....80..125C
342«Catalogue of selected compact galaxies and of post-eruptive galaxies» Zwicky, Fritz; Zwicky, Margrit A.; Guemligen, 1971; Bibcode: 1971cscg.book.....Z; Bibcode:1971cscg.book.....Z
343Hubble images searchlight beams from a preplanetary nebula; esahubble.org/images/potw1217a (2021-05-12)

CRL 2688, Eiernebel, Egg Nebula

Objektbeschreibung

CRL 2688
CRL 2688: Eiernebel, ein protoplanetarer PN; 500 mm Cassegrain f=5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 60+3*10 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Während des «Air Force Cambridge Research Laboratory» (AFCRL) Rocket Surveys wurde 1974 von Price und Walker eine vom Objekt CRL 2688 (AF 803-2935) ausgehende starke Infrarot-Emission entdeckt. Martin Cohen identifizierte diese Infrarotquelle mit einem ovalen Nebel auf den Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» (POSS). E. P. Ney prägte den Spitznamen «Egg Nebula» (Eiernebel) in einem Artikel in der Januar 1975 Ausgabe von «Sky & Telescope». Andere gebräuchliche Bezeichnungen sind V1610 Cygni, welche sich auf den veränderlichen Stern bezieht. [340, 341]

In Fritz Zwickys 1971 erschienener «Catalogue of selected compact galaxies and of post-eruptive galaxies» ist das Objekt an der Position als IV Zw 067 mit der Bemerkung «Pair of blue fuzzy oval compacts» aufgeführt. Diese vermeintliche Galaxie schaffte es in den 1973 herausgegebenen «Uppsala General Catalogue» als UGC 11668 und als PGC 3097220 und PGC 3099128 in die HyperLEDA Datenbank mit einer hypothetischen Fluchtgeschwindigkeit von 2550 ± 20 km/s. [226, 342]

In der 2001 Ausgabe von Kohouteks «Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» ist der Nebel noch in der Tabelle 5 für «Possible pre-Planetary Nebulae» als CRL 2688 aufgeführt. Die Bezeichnung PK 80-6.1 ist dort noch nicht erwähnt und kam erst später. [146]

PK 80-6.1
Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [343]

Bei diesem Objekt handelt es sich um Post-AGB Stern (AGB = asymptotic giant branch), also einem Stern mit 0.6 bis 10 Sonnenmassen, der sich in einer sehr späten Entwicklungsphase befindet bzw. um einen proto-planetaren Nebel. Dies ist ein sehr kurzes Stadium in der stellaren Entwicklung und dauert nur wenige tausend Jahre an. Die heissen Überreste des Sterns im Zentrum heizen das umliegende Gas auf und regen es zum Leuchten an. Da solche proto-planetaren Nebel nur sehr kurz dauern und sehr leuchtschwach sind, wurden noch nicht viele entdeckt. V1610 Cygni war die erste Entdeckung dieser Art.

Der Zentralstern hält sich hinter einer dicken Wolke aus Staub versteckt. Vier Strahlen scheinen wie Suchscheinwerfer durch den Nebel. Es wird angenommen, dass vom Stern ausgehende Jets ringförmige Löcher in den sonst undurchdringlichen Kokon aus Staub geschnitten haben, aus denen nun Licht entweichen kann. Wie das genau entstehen kann, ist noch unklar. Es wird vermutet, dass im Zentrum ein Binärsystem statt eines einzelnen Sternes sein könnte. Die zwiebelschalenartige Struktur des den zentralen Kokon umgebenden diffusen Nebels wurde durch periodische Materialauswürfe des sterbenden Sterns erzeugt. Solche Auswürfe finden typischerweise alle paar hundert Jahre statt.

Die Distanz von planetarischen Nebeln ist allgemein schwer zu bestimmen. Man schätzt, dass V1610 Cygni etwa 3000 Lichtjahre von uns entfernt ist. [343]

R.A. (J2000)   : 21h 02m 18.27s 
Dec. (J2000)   : +36° 41' 37.0"
vis. Helligkeit: 14 mag ... 15.5 mag (?)
Abmessungen    : 33" x 23"

Weitere Infos bei CDS: PK 80-6.1

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel PK 80-6.1 befindet sich im Sternbild Cygnus (Schwan). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist April bis November, wenn er nachts am höchsten steht.

PK 80-6.1 Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.