Globular Cluster Messier 79

Messier 79
Messier 79: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

History

The globular cluster M 79 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on 26 October 1780. Charles Messier observed it on December 17th and wrote: «Starless nebula, below the hare and parallel to a star of the sixth magnitude: seen by M. Méchain on 26 October 1780. M. Messier looked for it on the following December 17th: This nebula is beautiful; the center brilliant, the nebula diffuse: its position is determined by the rabbit's star ε, fourth magnitude.» [281]

Physical Properties

M 79 is about 41'000 light years away from Earth and contains about 150'000 stars, squeezed to a diameter of only 118 light years. Its age is estimated to be around 11.7 billion years. Most globular clusters cluster around the central area of our Milky Way disk. M 79 is on the side facing away from the center, about 60'000 light years from the galactic center. It is assumed that M 79 originally did not belong to the Milky Way, but rather is one of the globular clusters that were snatched from the Canis Major dwarf galaxy by tidal forces. The Canis Major Dwarf Galaxy (also CMa Dwarf or Canis Major Overdensity) was only discovered in 2003 and is partly located within the disk of our Milky Way. It is only 25'000 light years away and is therefore closer to us than the galactic center. Due to strong tidal forces, it has an irregular shape and is in the state of dissolution. [196, 285]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 1904
TypeGCL (V)
Right Ascension05h 24m 10.6s
Declination-24° 31' 25"
Diameter9.6 arcmin
Visual magnitude7.7 mag
Metric Distance12.900 kpc
Dreyer Descriptionglobular, pL, eRi, eC, rrr
Identification, RemarksM 79, ESO 487-SC7, GCL 10

Finder Chart

M 79 is located south of Orion in the constellation Lepus. Extend the imaginary line of the two stars Arneb (α Leporis) to Nihal (β Leporis) by a little more than the same distance in a southerly direction. The globular cluster is only about half a degree away from the 5 mag bright star HR 1771. The best time to observe is November to January.

Chart Globular Cluster Messier 79
Globular Cluster Messier 79 in constellation Lepus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±20°)

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
285«Spiral structure of the Third Galactic Quadrant and the solution to the Canis Major debate» A. Moitinho, R.A. Vazquez, G. Carraro, G. Baume, E.E Giorgi, W. Lyra; arXiv:astro-ph/0602493v1; DOI:10.1111/j.1745-3933.2006.00163.x

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 79

Messier 79
Messier 79: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [215]

Geschichte

Der Kugelsternhaufen M 79 wurde am 26. Oktober 1780 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Charles Messier beobachtete ihn am 17. Dezember und schrieb dazu: «Sternloser Nebel, unterhalb des Hasen und parallel zu einem Stern der sechsten Grösse: gesehen von M. Méchain am 26. Oktober 1780. M. Messier suchte ihn am folgenden 17. Dezember: Dieser Nebel ist wunderschön; das Zentrum brilliant, der Nebel diffus: seine Position wird durch den Stern ε des Hasen bestimmt, vierte Größe.» [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 79 befindet sich in etwa 41'000 Lichtjahren Entfernung zur Erde und enthält etwa 150'000 Sterne, gedrängt auf einen Durchmesser von nur 118 Lichtjahren. Das Alter wird auf etwa 11.7 Milliarden Jahre geschätzt. Die meisten Kugelsternhaufen scharen sich um den Zentralbereich unserer Milchstrassenscheibe. M 79 liegt auf der dem Zentrum abgewandten Seite, etwa 60'000 Lichtjahre vom galaktischen Zentrum entfernt. Man nimmt an, dass M 79 ursprünglich nicht zur Milchstrasse gehörte, sondern einer der Kugelsternhaufen ist, welche der Canis Major Zwerggalaxie durch Gezeitenkräfte entrissen wurde. Die Canis Major Zwerggalaxie (auch CMa Dwarf oder Canis-Major Overdensity) wurde erst 2003 entdeckt und befindet sich zum Teil innerhalb der Scheibe unserer Milchstrasse. Sie ist nur 25'000 Lichtjahre entfernt und liegt uns somit näher als das galaktische Zentrum. Aufgrund starker Gezeitenkräfte hat sie eine irreguläre Form und befindet sich im Stadium der Auflösung. [196, 285]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 1904
TypGCL (V)
Rektaszension05h 24m 10.6s
Deklination-24° 31' 25"
Durchmesser9.6 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit7.7 mag
Metrische Entfernung12.900 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibungglobular, pL, eRi, eC, rrr
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 79, ESO 487-SC7, GCL 10

Auffindkarte

M 79 befindet sich südlich des Orions im Sternbild Lepus (Hase). Verlängere die gedachte Linie der beiden Stern Arneb (α Leporis) nach Nihal (β Leporis) nochmals um etwas mehr als dieselbe Distanz in südlicher Richtung. Der Kugelsternhaufen ist nur etwa ein halbes Grad vom 5 mag hellen Stern HR 1771 entfernt. Die beste Zeit für eine Beobachtung ist November bis Januar.

Karte Kugelsternhaufen Messier 79
Kugelsternhaufen Messier 79 im Sternbild Lepus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±20°)

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
285«Spiral structure of the Third Galactic Quadrant and the solution to the Canis Major debate» A. Moitinho, R.A. Vazquez, G. Carraro, G. Baume, E.E Giorgi, W. Lyra; arXiv:astro-ph/0602493v1; DOI:10.1111/j.1745-3933.2006.00163.x