Galaxies NGC 2903, NGC 2916

History

The galaxy NGC 2903 was discovered by William Herschel on November 16, 1784 and cataloged as I 56. He spotted another faint nebula northeast of it, which he cataloged as I 57 and later was assigned by Dreyer as NGC 2905. Herschel noted: «Two, at 1' distance. Both considerably bright, considerably large, appear like one much extended». In the same night he also found about forty arc minutes west another faint nebula which he cataloged as II 260 (NGC 2916) and described as «faint, pretty small, little extended» [464]

NGC 2903
NGC 2903: Galaxiy in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+40+40+40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 2903
NGC 2903: Galaxy in Leo; RC 500 on Herkules V48 mount; SBIG STL-11000M/C2; -25 °C chip temperature, L unbinned 6x10 min - R/G/B 2x2 gebinnt: R 7x5 min, G 7×5 min, B 7×5 min; Son Bi Observatory, Mallorca; © 14.–15. 1. 2016 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli

Physical Properties

NGC 2916
NGC 2916: Edited section of the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

According to NED the galaxy NGC 2903 has the Hubble-Vauculeur morphological type SAB(rs)bc, which is an intermediate form from a spiral galaxy to a barred spiral and has a ring structure. Simbad lists the type SBbc as a barred spiral, escape velocities of 506 km/s to 556 km/s measured since 2000 and distances of 6.6 Mpc to 10.0 Mpc (21.5 to 32.6 million light years) measured with redshift and Tully-Fischer relation. NGC 2905 is is a bright star-forming region within the same galaxy [145, 194, 196]

NGC 2916 is a spiral galaxy of morphological type SA(rs)b? and from the Seyfert 2 type activity. Measured heliocentric velocities of 3716 km/s to 3722 km/s reveal a much higher distance, which is 40 Mpc to 54 Mpc (130 to 176 million light years). [145, 194, 196][145, 194, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 2903 09 32 09.7+21 29 57Gx (SBbc)9.79.012.60 × 6.0cB, vL, E, gmbM, r, sp of 2UGC 5079, MCG 4-23-9, KARA 347, CGCG 122-14
NGC 2905 09 32 11.8+21 31 07GxyP15.00.10vF, cL, R, psbM, r, nf of 2part of N 2903
NGC 2916 09 34 57.5+21 42 16Gx (Sb)12.712.12.50 × 1.7F, S, vlEUGC 5103, MCG 4-23-11, CGCG 122-21, IRAS 09321+2155

Finder Chart

The galaxy NGC 2903 is located about 1.5° south of the star λ Leonis in the constellation Leo. The best observation time is January to May.

Chart NGC 2903
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 2903
NGC 2903: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; Slipstream 30" f/3.3 Dobson + MallinCam video camera; ca 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm aperture: The visual impression can be roughly reproduced with a MallinCam video camera and an integration time of around three seconds. A tracking 30 inch f/3.3 SlipStream Dobsonian was used. The resulting image comes very close to visual vision with a 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos eyepiece.

— 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021

Galaxien NGC 2903, NGC 2916

Geschichte

Die Galaxie NGC 2903 wurde am 16. November 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt und als I 56 katalogisiert. Er entdeckte nordöstlich davon noch einen weiteren schwachen Nebel, den er als I 57 katalogisierte und der später von Dreyer als NGC 2905 übernommen wurde. Herschel schrieb dazu: «Zwei, in 1' Entfernung. Beide ziemlich hell, ziemlich gross, erscheinen wie einer sehr ausgedehnt». In derselben Nacht fand er auch etwa vierzig Bogenminuten westlich einen weiteren schwachen Nebel, den er als II 260 (NGC 2916) katalogisierte und als «schwach, ziemlich klein, wenig ausgedehnt» beschrieb. [464]

NGC 2903
NGC 2903: Galaxie in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+40+40+40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 2903
NGC 2903: Galaxie in Leo; RC 500 auf Herkules V48 Montierung; SBIG STL-11000M/C2; -25 °C Chiptemperatur, L ungebinnt 6x10 min - R/G/B 2x2 gebinnt: R 7x5 min, G 7×5 min, B 7×5 min; Sternwarte Son Bi, Mallorca; © 14.–15. 1. 2016 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 2916
NGC 2916: Nachbearbeiteter Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Die Galaxie NGC 2906 ist nach NED einen morphologischen Typ SAB(rs)bc nach Hubble-Vauculeur, welches eine Zwischenform von einer Spiralgalaxie zu einer Balkenspirale ist und eine Ringstruktur besitzt. Simbad listet den Typ SBbc als Balkenspirale, seit dem Jahr 2000 gemessene Fluchtgeschwindigkeiten von 506 km/s bis 556 km/s und Entfernungen von 6.6 Mpc bis 10.0 Mpc (21.5 bis 32.6 Millionen Lichtjahre) gemessen mit Rotverschiebung und Tully-Fischer Relation. Bei NGC 2905 handelt es sich um ein helles Sternentstehungsgebiet innerhalb derselben Galaxie. [145, 194, 196]

Die Galaxie NGC 2916 ist eine Spiralgalaxie vom morphologischen Typ SA(rs)b? und von der Aktivität vom Seyfert 2 Typ. Gemessene heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten von 3716 km/s bis 3722 km/s verraten eine viel höhere Entfernung, welche bei 40 Mpc bis 54 Mpc (130 bis 176 Millionen Lichtjahre) liegt. [145, 194, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypBmagVmagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation
NGC 2903 09 32 09.7+21 29 57Gx (SBbc)9.79.012.60 × 6.0cB, vL, E, gmbM, r, sp of 2UGC 5079, MCG 4-23-9, KARA 347, CGCG 122-14
NGC 2905 09 32 11.8+21 31 07GxyP15.00.10vF, cL, R, psbM, r, nf of 2part of N 2903
NGC 2916 09 34 57.5+21 42 16Gx (Sb)12.712.12.50 × 1.7F, S, vlEUGC 5103, MCG 4-23-11, CGCG 122-21, IRAS 09321+2155

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie NGC 2903 befindet sich rund 1.5° südlich vom Stern λ Leonis im Sternbild Leo (Löwe). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Januar bis Mai.

Karte NGC 2903
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

NGC 2903
NGC 2903: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; Slipstream 30" f/3.3 Dobson + MallinCam Videokamera; ca 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Der visuelle Eindruck lässt sich ungefähr mit einer MallinCam Videokamera und einer Integrationszeit von etwa drei Sekunden reproduzieren. Verwendet wurde ein nachgeführtes 30" f/3.3 SlipStream-Dobson. Das entstandene Bild kommt dem visuellen Sehen mit einem 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos Okular sehr nahe.

— 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021