Reflection Nebula Kr 2-1

Object Description

Kr 2-1
Kr 2-1: Reflection nebula in Perseus. North is left.; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 80-15-15-15 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

This nebula was discovered by A. Krasnogorskaya and published as Kr 2-1 in 1962. [423] Originally it was considered a planetary nebula, which is why it was recorded in 1967 by the two Czech astronomers Luboš Perek and Luboš Kohoutek under the designation PK 149-1.1. [146] In the following year the nebula was described by Kromov and Kohoutek as «a very washed out and irregular internal structure» and that there was «no certainty whether it was an emission nebula». [391] In 1977 it was recognized that the nebula does not fit the morphology of planetary nebulae as a possible reflection nebula. [393] This was also confirmed in 1982 in a study of CO molecular clouds, where strong CO emissions were also measured. [425]

A distance specification of this reflection nebula, which is listed under GN 03.47.9 in Simbad, is searched in vain. But the star (Gaia EDR3 251340116071393792) in the optical center of the nebula has a parallax measured by the Gaia probe of 0.8337 ± 0.0401 milli-arcseconds (mas), which corresponds to a distance of approximately 4000 light years. [147] Presumably the light reflected by the nebula comes from this star. On the photo in fig. 1, a dark molecular cloud can still be seen around the reflection nebula.

Further infos at CDS: GN 03.47.9

Finder Chart

The reflection nebula Kr 2-1 is located in the constellation Perseus. The best observation time is September to February.

Chart Kr 2-1
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
391«Morphological study of planetary nebulae. I. Observed forms of planetary nebulae.» Kromov, G. S.; Kohoutek, L.; Bulletin of the Astronomical Institutes of Czechoslovakia, Vol. 19, p. 1-11 (1968); Bibcode:1968BAICz..19....1K
393«New and misclassified planetary nebulae.» IAU Symp. 76, held at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA, june 6-10, 1977. Planetary nebulae. Observations and theory. Ed by Y. Terzian., 47-62 (1978); Bibcode:1978IAUS...76...47K
423«New diffuse and planetary nebulae» A. Krasnogorskaya; Astron. Tsirk., 230, 11-13 (1962); Bibcode:1962ATsir.230...11K
425«Catalogue of CO radial velocities toward galactic HII regions» Blitz, L. ; Fich, M. ; Stark, A. A.; Astrophysical Journal, Suppl. Ser., Vol. 49, p. 183-206 (1982); DOI:10.1086/190795

Reflexionsnebel Kr 2-1

Objektbeschreibung

Kr 2-1
Kr 2-1: Reflexionsnebel in Perseus. Norden ist links.; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 80-15-15-15 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Dieser Nebel wurde von A. Krasnogorskaya entdeckt und im Jahre 1962 als Kr 2-1 veröffentlicht. [423] Ursprünglich wurde er für einen planetarischen Nebel gehalten, weshalb er 1967 von den beiden tschechischen Astronomen Luboš Perek und Luboš Kohoutek unter der Bezeichnung PK 149-1.1 aufgenommen wurde. [146] Im darauf folgenden Jahr wurde der Nebel von Kromov und Kohoutek als «eine sehr ausgewaschene und irreguläre innere Struktur» beschrieben und dass es «keine Gewissheit gäbe, ob es sich um einen Emissionsnebel handle». [391] 1977 wurde erkannt, dass der Nebel nicht zur Morphologie von planetarischen Nebeln passt als möglicher Reflexionsnebel vermutet. [393] Dies wurde auch 1982 in einer Untersuchung von CO-Molekülwolken bestätigt, wobei auch eine starke CO-Emission gemessen wurde. [425]

Eine Distanzangabe dieses Reflexionsnebels, der unter GN 03.47.9 in Simbad aufgeführt wird, sucht man vergebens. Doch der Stern (Gaia EDR3 251340116071393792) in der optischen Mitte des Nebels weist eine von der Gaia Sonde gemessene Parallaxe von 0.8337 ± 0.0401 Milli-Bogensekunden (mas) auf, was einer Entfernung von ungefähr 4000 Lichtjahren entspricht. [147] Vermutlich stammt das vom Nebel reflektierte Licht von diesem Stern. Auf der Aufnahme in Abb. 1 ist um den Reflexionsnebel noch eine dunkle Molekülwolke zu erkennen.

Weitere Infos bei CDS: GN 03.47.9

Auffindkarte

Der Reflexionsnebel Kr 2-1 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Februar.

Karte Kr 2-1
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
391«Morphological study of planetary nebulae. I. Observed forms of planetary nebulae.» Kromov, G. S.; Kohoutek, L.; Bulletin of the Astronomical Institutes of Czechoslovakia, Vol. 19, p. 1-11 (1968); Bibcode:1968BAICz..19....1K
393«New and misclassified planetary nebulae.» IAU Symp. 76, held at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA, june 6-10, 1977. Planetary nebulae. Observations and theory. Ed by Y. Terzian., 47-62 (1978); Bibcode:1978IAUS...76...47K
423«New diffuse and planetary nebulae» A. Krasnogorskaya; Astron. Tsirk., 230, 11-13 (1962); Bibcode:1962ATsir.230...11K
425«Catalogue of CO radial velocities toward galactic HII regions» Blitz, L. ; Fich, M. ; Stark, A. A.; Astrophysical Journal, Suppl. Ser., Vol. 49, p. 183-206 (1982); DOI:10.1086/190795