NGC 6751, Glowing Eye Nebula

NGC 6751
NGC 6751: Image taken with the WFPC2 of Hubble Space Telescope; Exposure Date April 21, 1998; Exposure Time: 30 minutes; Filters: F502N ([O III]), F555W (V), F658N ([N II]) [479]

History

This planetary nebula was first discovered on July 20, 1863 by the German astronomer Albert Marth. He was observing on Malta using the 48 inch reflector from William Lassell. The same nebula was also discovered on July 17, 1871 by the French astronomer Édouard Stephan with the 31 inch Foucault reflector at Marseille observatory. But he had misrecorded the coordinates and hence on August 3, 1881 he rediscovered it again. [277]

John L. E. Dreyer added 1888 Marths discovery as NGC 6751 to his «New General Catalogue» with the description «pretty bright, small». Stephans first discovery from 1871 with the wrong coordinates was added as NGC 6748 with the description «pretty bright, very small, brighter in the middle». Credit for his rediscover from 1881 was added to NGC 6751. [313]

In 1907 the object was recognized to be a planetary nebula by the Scottish-American astronomer Williamina Fleming. She was an assistant to Edwart Pickering, an astronomy professor at Harward University. [141, 196]

NGC 6751
NGC 6751: Image taken by Australian high school student Daniel Tran using one hour of telescope time for multi-band imaging with the Gemini Multi-object Spectrograph. [481]

Physical Properties

The nebula NGC 6751 shows several remarkable and poorly understood features. On the HST image in Fig. 1 blue regions mark the hottest glowing gas, which forms a roughly circular ring around the central stellar remnant. Orange and red show the locations of cooler gas. [479]

The PN shows a thick equatorial structure fragmented into multiple knots that enclose a fast expanding bubble with a filamentary surface structure. The knotty ring is surrounded by faint emission from a disk-like envelope. Lobes with embedded filaments form a bipolar outflow. The equatorial ring is tilted with respect to the line of sight and with respect to the bipolar outflow. A spherical halo surrounds the PN and there is material further out identified as a fragmented outer halo. NGC 6751 is located close to the galactic plane and its large-scale surrounding environment is shown to be a gas-rich region. There are indications that the PN is interacting with the interstellar medium. Emission components from an extended nebulosity located a couple of arcminutes away from the nebula (see Fig. 2) have radial velocities that are inconsistent with the rest of NGC 6751 and are confirmed as originating from the ambient material, not related to the PN. [480]

According to Simbad the visual magnitude of the nebula is 15.48 mag and the distance is given as 2585 pc. [145] The age of the nebula is estimated to be 3000 years and the bright inner portion of the nebula has a diameter of about 0.8 light years. The emission of the nebula are being ionized by the central star, which has a temperature of over 100'000 Kelvin. [481]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G029.2-05.9: NGC 6751, PK 29-05.1, ARO 101, Sa 2-382, Th 1- J, VV 219, VV' 477
Right Ascension (J2000.0)19h 05m 56s
Declination (J2000.0)-5° 59' 29"
Dimensions 20.5" (optical)
Distance 1.4 kpc
Radial Velocity-38.5 km/s ± 2.8 km/s
Expansion Velocity 40.0 km/s (O-III), 38. km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 344, CSI -06 -19031 0, EM* CDS 1043, HD 177656
C-Star Magnitude15.78 mag (B filter), 15.45 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeWC 4
DiscovererFLEMING 1907

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 6751 can be found in the constellation Aquila, roughly 1° south of the 3.4 mag bright star λ Aquilae. The best observing time are the months July through September.

Chart NGC 1535
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
479The Glowing Eye of Planetary Nebula NGC 6751; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2000/12/956-Image.html (2022-02-02)
480«Shaping the Glowing Eye Planetary Nebula, NGC 6751» D. M. Clark, Ma. T. García-Díaz, J. A. López, W. G. Steffen, and M. G. Richer; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 722, Number 2, 2010; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/722/2/1260
481NGC 6751 Glowing Eye Nebula; gemini.edu/gallery/media/ngc-6751-glowing-eye-nebula (2022-02-02)

NGC 6751, Leuchtender Augennebel

NGC 6751
NGC 6751: Aufnahme mit der WFPC2 des Hubble Weltraumteleskops; Aufnahmedatum 21. April 1998; Belichtungszeit: 30 Minuten; Filter: F502N ([O III]), F555W (V), F658N ([N II]) [479]

Geschichte

Dieser planetarische Nebel wurde erstmals am 20. Juli 1863 vom deutschen Astronomen Albert Marth entdeckt. Er beobachtete auf Malta mit dem 48 Zoll Spiegelteleskop von William Lassell. Derselbe Nebel wurde auch am 17. Juli 1871 vom französischen Astronomen Édouard Stephan mit dem 31 Zoll Foucault-Reflektor am Observatorium von Marseille entdeckt. Aber er hatte die Koordinaten falsch aufgezeichnet, weshalb er am 3. August 1881 denselben Nebel wiederentdeckte. [277]

John L. E. Dreyer fügte Marths Entdeckung von 1888 als NGC 6751 mit der Beschreibung «ziemlich hell, klein» in seinen «New General Catalogue» ein. Stephans erste Entdeckung von 1871 mit falschen Koordinaten wurde als NGC 6748 mit der Beschreibung «ziemlich hell, sehr klein, heller in der Mitte» hinzugefügt. Seine Wiederentdeckung von 1881 wurde NGC 6751 hinzugefügt. [313]

1907 wurde das Objekt von der schottisch-amerikanischen Astronomin Williamina Fleming als planetarischer Nebel erkannt. Sie war Assistentin von Edwart Pickering, einem Astronomieprofessor an der Harward University. [141, 196]

NGC 6751
NGC 6751: Das Bild wurde vom australischen Highschool-Schüler Daniel Tran mit einer Stunde Teleskopzeit für Multiband-Aufnahmen mit dem Gemini Multi-object Spectrograph aufgenommen. [481]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Nebel NGC 6751 zeigt mehrere bemerkenswerte und kaum verstandene Merkmale. Auf dem HST-Bild in Abb. 1 markieren blaue Regionen das heisseste leuchtende Gas, das einen annähernd kreisförmigen Ring um den zentralen Sternüberrest bildet. Orange und Rot zeigen die Orte des kühleren Gases. [479]

Der PN zeigt eine dicke äquatoriale Struktur, die in mehrere Knoten fragmentiert ist, welche eine schnell expandierende Blase mit einer fadenförmigen Oberflächenstruktur umschliessen. Der knotige Ring ist von einer schwachen Emission einer scheibenartigen Hülle umgeben. Lappen mit eingebetteten Filamenten bilden einen bipolaren Abfluss. Der Äquatorialring ist gegenüber der Sichtlinie und gegenüber dem bipolaren Abfluss geneigt. Ein kugelförmiger Halo umgibt den PN, und weiter draußen gibt es Material, das als fragmentierter äusserer Halo identifiziert wurde. NGC 6751 befindet sich in der Nähe der galaktischen Ebene und seine großräumige Umgebung erweist sich als eine gasreiche Region. Es gibt Hinweise darauf, dass der PN mit dem interstellaren Medium interagiert. Emissionskomponenten von einem ausgedehnten Nebel, der sich einige Bogenminuten vom PN entfernt befindet (siehe Abb. 2), weisen radiale Geschwindigkeiten auf, die nicht mit dem Rest von NGC 6751 übereinstimmen und aus dem Umgebungsmaterial stammen. [480]

Laut Simbad beträgt die visuelle Helligkeit des Nebels 15.48 mag und die Entfernung wird mit 2585 pc angegeben. [145] Das Alter des Nebels wird auf 3000 Jahre geschätzt und der helle innere Teil des Nebels hat einen Durchmesser von etwa 0.8 Lichtjahren. Der Nebels wird durch den Zentralstern ionisiert, der eine Temperatur von über 100'000 Kelvin aufweist. [481]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G029.2-05.9: NGC 6751, PK 29-05.1, ARO 101, Sa 2-382, Th 1- J, VV 219, VV' 477
Rektaszension (J2000.0)19h 05m 56s
Deklination (J2000.0)-5° 59' 29"
Abmessungen 20.5" (optisch)
Entfernung 1.4 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-38.5 km/s ± 2.8 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 40.0 km/s (O-III), 38. km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 344, CSI -06 -19031 0, EM* CDS 1043, HD 177656
Z-Stern Magnitude15.78 mag (B filter), 15.45 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypWC 4
EntdeckerFLEMING 1907

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 1535 befindet sich im Sternbild Aquila, etwa 1° südlich vom 3.4 mag hellen Stern λ Aquilae. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den Monaten Juli bis September.

Karte NGC 1535
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
479The Glowing Eye of Planetary Nebula NGC 6751; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2000/12/956-Image.html (2022-02-02)
480«Shaping the Glowing Eye Planetary Nebula, NGC 6751» D. M. Clark, Ma. T. García-Díaz, J. A. López, W. G. Steffen, and M. G. Richer; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 722, Number 2, 2010; DOI:10.1088/0004-637X/722/2/1260
481NGC 6751 Glowing Eye Nebula; gemini.edu/gallery/media/ngc-6751-glowing-eye-nebula (2022-02-02)