NGC 6302, Bug Nebula

History

The nebula was discovered in 1880 by Edward Barnard with his private 5 inch refractor at Nashville. He suggested the name «Bug Nebula». [196] Modern high-resolution images show that the nebula more looks like a butterfly why it is also sometimes called «Butterfly Nebula», a name that also used for the planetary nebulae NGC 2346 or Minkowski 2-9.

NGC 6302
NGC 6302: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope [521]

Physical Properties

The planetary nebula NGC 6302 lies roughly 3800 light-years away. The age of the nebula is estimated over about 2200 years. It stretches for more than 2 light-years.

The central star is hidden within a doughnut-shaped ring of dust, which appears as a dark band pinching the nebula in the center. The thick dust belt constricts the star’s outflow, creating the classic bipolar or hourglass shape displayed by some planetary nebulae.

The star’s surface temperature is estimated to be about 222'000 Kelvin. Spectroscopic observations showed that the gas is roughly 20'000 Kelvin, which is unusually hot compared to a typical planetary nebulae.

The nebula's outer edges are largely due to light emitted by nitrogen. The inner regions are areas where light is emitted by sulfur. These are regions where fast-moving gas overtakes and collides with slow-moving gas that left the star at an earlier time, producing shock waves in the gas. [522]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6302
TypePN
Right Ascension17h 13m 44.1s
Declination-37° 06' 12"
Diameter1.48 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude12.8 mag
Visual magnitude9.6 mag
Dreyer DescriptionpB, E pf (Swift: triple)
IdentificationPK 349+1.1, ESO 392-PN5, Sh2-6, Bug nebula

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 6302 is located near scorpio's sting in the constellation Scorpius. The best time to observe it is from May to July, when the part of the constellation is highest above the southern horizon at night. An observation site with a clear view to the south is required here, because the nebula, with a declination of -37° in Switzerland, comes barely 10° above the horizon when it is in the meridian.

Chart NGC 6302
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
521NGC 6302; esahubble.org/images/heic2011b (2022-06-09)
522NGC 6302; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/multimedia/ero/ero_ngc6302.html (2022-06-09)

NGC 6302, Käfer-Nebel

Geschichte

Der Nebel wurde 1880 von Edward Barnard mit seinem privaten 5-Zoll-Refraktor in Nashville entdeckt. Er schlug den Namen «Käfer-Nebel» (engl. Bug Nebula) vor. [196] Moderne hochauflösende Bilder zeigen, dass der Nebel eher wie ein Schmetterling aussieht, weshalb er manchmal auch «Schmetterlingsnebel» (engl. Butterfly Nebula) genannt wird, ein Name, der auch für die planetarischen Nebel NGC 2346 oder Minkowski 2-9 verwendet wird.

NGC 6302
NGC 6302: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [521]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Planetarische Nebel NGC 6302 liegt etwa 3800 Lichtjahre entfernt. Das Alter des Nebels wird auf etwa 2200 Jahre geschätzt. Er dehnt sich über mehr als 2 Lichtjahre aus.

Der Zentralstern ist in einem donutförmigen Ring aus Staub verborgen, der als dunkles Band erscheint, das den Nebel in der Mitte einschnürt. Der dicke Staubgürtel engt den Ausfluss des Sterns ein, wodurch die klassische bipolare oder sanduhrförmige Form entsteht, die einige planetarische Nebel aufweisen.

Die Oberflächentemperatur des Sterns wird auf etwa 222'000 Kelvin geschätzt. Spektroskopische Beobachtungen zeigten, dass das Gas etwa 20'000 Kelvin hat, was im Vergleich zu typischen planetarischen Nebeln ungewöhnlich heiss ist.

Die äußeren Ränder des Nebels sind größtenteils auf das von Stickstoff emittierte Licht zurückzuführen. Die inneren Regionen sind Bereiche, in denen das Licht von Schwefel emittiert wird. Dies sind Regionen, in denen schnelles Gas den Stern überholt und mit langsamem Gas kollidiert, das den Stern zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt verlassen hat, wodurch Schockwellen im Gas entstehen. [522]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
BezeichnungNGC 6302
TypPN
Rektaszension17h 13m 44.1s
Deklination-37° 06' 12"
Durchmesser1.48 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit12.8 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit9.6 mag
Dreyer BeschreibungpB, E pf (Swift: triple)
IdentifikationPK 349+1.1, ESO 392-PN5, Sh2-6, Bug nebula

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 6302 befindet sich in der Nähe vom Stachel des Skorpions im Sternbild Scorpius. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den Monaten Mai bis Juli, wenn der Teil des Sternbilds nachts am höchsten über dem südlichen Horizont steht. Ein Beobachtungsort mit freier Sicht gen Süden ist hier erforderlich, denn der Nebel kommt mit einer Deklination von -37° in der Schweiz gerade mal knapp 10° über den Horizont, wenn er im Meridian steht.

Karte NGC 6302
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
521NGC 6302; esahubble.org/images/heic2011b (2022-06-09)
522NGC 6302; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/multimedia/ero/ero_ngc6302.html (2022-06-09)