Messier 8, Lagoon Nebula

Messier 8 + NGC 6544
Messier 8 + NGC 6544: Lagoon Nebula M 8 and globular cluster NGC 6544 in Sagittarius; Pentax SDHF 105; 45min; Kodak 400; © 19. 6. 1998 Bruno Walther

History

The Lagoon Nebula is one of the most magnificent objects in the sky. The discovery is often attributed to Le Gentil in 1747, but it appears that the nebula was already recorded by Flamsteed in 1680 as a nebulous «extension in the arch of Sagittarius». De Cheseaux also referred in 1746 to a «Cluster in Sagittarius' arch», which presumably represented M 8. Charles Messier included the nebula in 1764 as the eighth object in his list of comet-like celestial objects.

Physical Properties

M 8 is a galactic nebula, an H II region, the birthplace of new stars. The most notable detail is the dark curved channel that crosses the nebula from NE to SW, seemingly splitting it in half. This canal is two arc minutes wide in most places, but it is not completely dark, but rather traversed by parallel running light filaments, mostly on the west side. The nebula owes the name «Lagoon Nebula» to this peculiarity, which was probably first used by Agnes M. Clerke in her book «The System of the Stars», published in 1890. The name doesn't seem entirely appropriate, as the dark cloud looks more like a canal than a lagoon. [4]

The exact distance from M 8 is still somewhat uncertain, due to the strong different darkening in this region of the galaxy. Distances range from about 3000 to 5200 light years. Probably the higher value is in the plausibility area. At this distance, the bright areas of the nebula, such as B. can be seen in Fig. 1, a physical extent of around 66x44 light years. If the weaker outer region is included, the nebula grows to around 115 light years. M 8 appears to be part of a larger nebula complex, which also includes the Trifid Nebula (north) and the nebulae NGC 6559 and IC 4681 (east). All of them are connected to one another by a delicate veil of gas and dust. [4]

Messier 8
Messier 8: Hourglass nebula in M8. The brighter and southerly of the two stars is 9 Sagittarii. From STScI DSS [160]

Hourglass Nebula in M 8

The western part of the nebula is dominated by two stars that are only three arcminutes apart. The southern star of the two is 9 Sagittarii with the spectral type O5 and magnitude 5.97 mag. This is probably the main star that makes the nebula shine, but other extremely hot stars may exist within the cloud, obscured by dark clouds. The brightest part of the nebula is only three arc minutes WSW of 9 Sagitarii: an hourglass-shaped knot with a diameter of about 30 arc seconds and called the Hourglass Nebula because of its appearance (see Fig. 2). This extremely bright part of the nebula is partly supplied with energy and made to glow by the star Herschel 36 (approx. 9.5 mag, spectral type O7, see Fig. 4) and partly by a star covered by a band of dust. The hidden star is only visible in the infrared, which is able to penetrate the dense clouds of dust. These stars may be less than 10'000 years young, roughly the same age as the Hourglass Nebula itself. An indication of recent star formation in this very active region. This part of the nebula also contains a source of radio emissions, which was first detected in 1973 by the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in Green Bank, West Virginia. [4, 15]

Messier 8
Messier 8: False-colored detail of the Hubble Space Telescope. North is roughly toward the top right corner. © STScI [171]

The HST detail of the Hourglass Nebula, shown in Fig. 3, reveals a pair of interstellar «cyclones» about 0.5 light years long. The hot O star Herschel 36 in the center and other hot stars are the primary sources of ionizing radiation. The strong radiation causes photo-evaporation on the surface of the surrounding clouds (shown as «blue haze» in Fig. 4), and powerful stellar winds, which tear the cool clouds apart. Analogous to the earthly weather phenomena, the large temperature difference between the hot surface and the cool interior of the clouds, combined with the pressure of starlight, can lead to strong horizontal shear forces, which swirl the clouds into a tornado-shaped structure. Although the appearance of the dark hoses of the cloud suggests a vortex movement, this rotary movement must be verified on the basis of further spectral measurements with new equipment from the HST.

Messier 8
Messier 8: Enlargement of the section shown in Fig. 3. © STScI [171]

The HST images also reveal a multitude of small structures in the interstellar medium: small dark clouds called «bok globules», arc-shaped shock fronts around stars, ionized scraps, rings, knots and jets. All signs that confirm the true nature of the Lagoon Nebula as the birthplace of new stars from dusty molecular clouds. These regions serve as a space laboratory to study the evolution of the stars and the interactions of the stellar winds with the surrounding gas.

The color-coded images shown in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 were created between July and September 1995 with the WFPC2 of the HST through three narrow-band filters: red = ionized sulfur atoms, blue = doubly ionized oxygen atoms, green = ionized hydrogen. This color coding does not correspond to the natural colors, since ionized sulfur atoms [S II] shine red, doubly ionized oxygen atoms [O III] green and ionized hydrogen [H II] blue-green [H β] and red [H α]. [175]

Dark Clouds in M 8

In addition to the dominant dark volume in M 8, the American astronomer Edward Emerson Barnard discovered other dark clouds and listed them in his 1919 catalog «Catalogue of 182 Dark Markings in the Sky» [239]. Barnard 88 is a peculiar comet-shaped cloud north of the open star cluster NGC 6530. The name for the very irregularly shaped dark cloud near the bright star on the east side of the nebula is Barnard 89. South of the bright star 9 Sagittarii there is another, later discovered dust cloud the number Barnard 296. The location and appearance can be found on the location card. However, Barnard seemed to have overlooked some dark clouds. [4] The bright star 7 Sagittarii (5.3 mag) west of the Lagoon Nebula is an F3 star of the main sequence. At a distance of only 240 light-years it is far in the foreground and has no relation to the nebula. [91]

Messier 8 + NGC 6530
Messier 8 + NGC 6530: Lagoon Nebula M 8 with Cluster NGC 6530; 4.5" Vixen ED115 Reducer f:5.2, Canon EOS 20Da; 6x302s, 1600ISO; Obwalden; © 2006 Eduard von Bergen

Open Star Cluster NGC 6530

The eastern part of the galactic nebula Messier 8 contains the loose open star cluster NGC 6530 as the most prominent feature. It measures about 14 arc minutes in diameter. The brightest members are subgiants of type B0 IV. Using the Lowell 42 inch reflector, CO Lampland was able to identify 18 irregularly variable stars in the cluster and the surrounding nebula in 1919. These appear to be flare stars and those of the T-Tauri Type, which are still babies and have not yet developed to the stable main sequence stage. An HR diagram created by NGC 6530 shows a typically young cluster, which only extends from the spectral type O5 to about A0. Most of the faint stars are around four to five magnitudes above normal position. They are still in the process of gravitational contraction and may not yet generate thermonuclear energy - interstellar fetuses, so to speak. The HR diagram of M 8 is similar to that of NGC 2264 in the constellation Monoceros. Both are among the youngest known star cluster. The age is estimated at a few million years. As the spectra show only a slight reddening shows, suggests that the star cluster is in front of the Lagoon Nebula. NGC 6530 is moving away at a radial velocity of about 9 km/s. [4]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 6523 18 03 42.0-24 22 48EN5.845.00 × 30.0!!! vB, eL, eiF, with L ClM 8, NGC 6533, LBN 25, Lagoon nebula
NGC 6530 18 04 30.0-24 21 30OCL (II2mn)4.615.00Cl, B, L, pRi, f M 8OCL 19, ESO 521-SC21, in Lagoon nebula (M 8)
NGC 6533 18 03 42.0-24 22 48EN5.845.00 × 30.0eL, eiF, st fM 8, NGC 6526, LBN 25, Lagoon nebula

Finder Chart

The diffuse nebula M 8 lies over the spout of the Teapot, roughly on the same RA coordinate as Al Nasl (γ Sagittarii) and roughly one degree further north than Kaus Borealis (λ Sagittarii). Another method is to connect the stars Kaus Borealis (λ Sagittarii) - ρ Ophiuchi and to position the middle Telrad circle on about the first third. M 8 can be seen with the naked eye on a clear, dark night. The star 9 Sagitarii is 5.4 mag bright and 9 Sagitarii has 5.9 mag. Finding it is therefore quite easy. Since the nebula is quite large, it is best to choose an eyepiece with the lowest magnification. An O-III filter increases the contrast on slightly hazy nights. M 8 is best seen in the months of June to August.

Chart Messier 8
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

The Lagoon Nebula is already visible to the naked eye, appears clearly in binoculars and fully reveals itself in a telescope. In small and medium-sized telescopes, a UHC or OIII nebula filter helps to increase the contrast. Shapes as well as light and dark areas are clearly visible. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 26mm, 62x, 1.33° / OIII-Filter, Eduard von Bergen

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
15«Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes» by David Malin and David J. Frew; Melbourne University Press 1995; ISBN 0-522-84553-3
91Plunge Into The Lagoon by David J. Eichner; Astronomy 7/96, p.82
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
171Giant 'Twisters' and Star Wisps in the Lagoon Nebula; Press Release No. STScI-PR96-38; oposite.stsci.edu/pubinfo/pr/96/38.html
175Hubble Space Telescope Finds Stellar Graveyard; Press Release No. STScI-PR95-32; oposite.stsci.edu/pubinfo/pr/95/32.html
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
239«On the dark markings of the sky, with a catalogue of 182 such objects» Barnard, E. E.; Astrophysical Journal, 49, 1-24 (1919); DOI:10.1086/142439; Bibcode:1919ApJ....49....1B
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Messier 8, Lagunennebel

Objektbeschreibung

Messier 8 + NGC 6544
Messier 8 + NGC 6544: Lagunennebel M u und Kugelsternhaufen NGC 6544 in Sagittarius; Pentax SDHF 105; 45min auf Kodak 400; © 19. 6. 1998 Bruno Walther

Der Lagunennebel ist wohl einer der prächtigsten Objekte des Himmels. Die Entdeckung wird oft Le Gentil im Jahre 1747 zugeschrieben, doch es scheint, dass der Nebel bereits 1680 von Flamsteed als nebelhafter «Fortsatz im Bogen des Sagittarius» verzeichnet wurde. De Cheseaux bezog sich 1746 ebenfalls auf einen «Haufen in Sagittarius' Bogen», welcher vermutlich M 8 darstellte. Charles Messier nahm den Nebel 1764 als achtes Objekt in seiner Liste kometenähnlicher Himmelsobjekte auf.

Bei M 8 handelt es sich um einen galaktischen Nebel, eine H II-Region, dem Geburtsort neuer Sterne. Das bemerkenswerteste Detail ist der dunkle gebogene Kanal, welcher den Nebel von NE nach SW durchquert und ihn scheinbar in zwei Hälften spaltet. Dieser Kanal ist an den meisten Stellen zwei Bogenminuten breit, doch er ist nicht komplett dunkel, sondern von parallel laufenden hellen Filamenten durchzogen, grösstenteils auf der Westseite. Dieser Besonderheit verdankt der Nebel den Namen «Lagunennebel», welcher vermutlich erstmals von Agnes M. Clerke in ihrem 1890 erschienenen Buch «The System of the Stars» verwendet wurde. Der Name scheint nicht ganz passend, da die Dunkelwolke eher einem Kanal und nicht einer Lagune gleicht. [4]

Die genaue Distanz von M 8 ist noch etwas unsicher, dies aufgrund der starken unterschiedlichen Verdunkelung in dieser Region der Galaxie. Entfernungsangaben reichen von etwa 3000 bis 5200 Lichtjahren. Vermutlich liegt der höhere Wert im Bereich der Plausibilität. Bei dieser Distanz besitzen die hellen Bereiche des Nebels, wie sie z. B. in Abb. 1 zu sehen sind, eine physische Ausdehnung von rund 66x44 Lichtjahren. Zieht man die schwächeren äusseren Region hinzu, so wächst der Nebel auf etwa 115 Lichtjahre an. M 8 scheint Teil eines grösseren Nebelkomplexes zu sein, zu dem auch der Trifid-Nebel (nördlich) und die Nebel NGC 6559 und IC 4681 (östlich) dazugehören. Alle sind durch einen zarten Gas- und Staubschleier miteinander verbunden. [4]

Sanduhrnebel

Hourglass Nebula
Hourglass-Nebula in M8. Der hellere und südlichere der beiden Sterne ist 9 Sagittarii. Aus STScI DSS [160]

Der westliche Teil des Nebels wird von zwei Sternen dominiert, die voneinander nur drei Bogenminuten Winkelabstand haben. Der südlichere Stern der beiden ist 9 Sagittarii mit dem Spektraltyp O5 und der Helligkeit 5.97 mag. Hierbei handelt es sich vermutlich um den Hauptstern, welcher den Nebel zum Leuchten anregt, doch weitere extrem heisse Sterne existieren möglicherweise innerhalb der Wolke, verdeckt von Dunkelwolken. Nur drei Bogenminuten WSW von 9 Sagitarii liegt der hellste Teil des Nebels: Ein sanduhrförmiger Knoten mit etwa 30 Bogensekunden Durchmesser und wegen seines Aussehens Sanduhrnebel (Hourglass Nebula) genannt (vgl. Abb. 2). Dieser extrem helle Teil des Nebels wird teils vom Stern Herschel 36 (ca. 9.5 mag, Spektraltyp O7, siehe Abb. 4) und teils von einem durch ein Staubband verdeckten Stern mit Energie versorgt und zum Leuchten angeregt. Der verdeckte Stern ist nur im Infraroten sichtbar, welches die dichten Staubwolken zu durchdringen vermag. Diese Sterne sind möglicherweise weniger als 10'000 Jahre jung, etwa im selben Alter wie der Sanduhr-Nebel selbst. Ein Indiz für eine kürzliche Sternbildung in dieser sehr aktiven Region. In diesem Teil des Nebels befindet sich auch eine Quelle für Radiostrahlung, welche erstmals 1973 vom «National Radio Astronomy Observatory» in Green Bank, West Virginia, detektiert wurde. [4, 15]

M8 HST
Detailaufnahme in Falschfarben des Hubble Space Telescopes. Norden liegt etwa in Richtung der rechten oberen Ecke. © STScI [171]

Die in Abb. 3 gezeigte HST-Detailaufnahme des Sanduhrnebels enthüllt ein Paar etwa 0.5 Lichtjahre langer interstellarer «Wirbelstürme». Der heisse O-Stern Herschel 36 im Zentrum und weitere heisse Sterne sind die primäre Quelle der ionisierenden Strahlung. Die starke Strahlung bewirkt Photo-Evaporation an der Oberfläche der umliegenden Wolken (gezeigt als «blauer Dunst» in Abb. 4), und gewaltige stellare Winde, welche die kühlen Wolken zerreissen. Analog zu den irdischen Wetter-Phänomenen kann die grosse Temperaturdifferenz zwischen der heissen Oberfläche und dem kühlen Inneren der Wolken, kombiniert mit dem Druck von Sternenlicht, zu starken horizontalen Scherkräften führen, welche die Wolken zu einem Tornado-förmigen Gebilde verwirbeln. Obwohl das Aussehen der dunklen Wolkenschläuche eine Wirbelbewegung suggeriert, muss diese Drehbewegung anhand weiterer Spektralmessungen mit neuem Equipment des HST verifiziert werden.

M8 HST
Vergrösserung des Ausschnittes in Abb.3. © STScI [171]

Die HST-Aufnahmen enthüllen ebenfalls eine Vielzahl kleiner Strukturen im interstellaren Medium: kleine dunkle Wolken, genannt «Bok-Globulen», bogenförmige Schockfronten um Sterne, ionisierte Fetzen, Ringe, Knoten und Jets. Alles Zeichen, welche die wahre Natur des Lagunennebels als Geburtsstätte neuer Sterne aus staubigen Molekülwolken bestätigen. Diese Regionen dienen als Weltraum-Laboratorium um die Entwicklung der Sterne und die Interakationen der Stellarwinde mit dem umliegenden Gas zu studieren.

Die in Abb. 3 und Abb. 4 gezeigten farbcodierten Bilder entstanden im Zeitraum Juli bis September 1995 mit der WFPC2 des HST durch drei schmalbandige Filter: rot = ionisierte Schwefelatome, blau = zweifach ionisierte Sauerstoffatome, grün = ionisierter Wasserstoff. [175] Diese Farbcodierung entspricht nicht den natürlichen Farben, da ionisierte Schwefelatome [S II] rot, zweifach ionisierte Sauerstoffatome [O III] grün und ioniserter Wasserstoff [H II] blaugrün [H beta] und rot [H alpha] leuchten.

Dunkelwolken

Der amerikanische Astronom Edward Emerson Barnard hat nebst dem dominaten dunklen Band in M 8 noch weitere Dunkelwolken entdeckt und in seinem 1919 erschienenen Katalog «Catalogue of 182 Dark Markings in the Sky» [239] aufgeführt. Barnard 88 ist eine eigentümlich kometenförmige Wolke nördlich des offenen Sternhaufens NGC 6530. Die Bezeichnung für die sehr irregulär geformte Dunkelwolke nahe dem hellen Stern auf der Ostseite des Nebels lautet Barnard 89. Südlich vom hellen Stern 9 Sagittarii liegt noch eine weitere, später entdeckte Staubwolke mit der Nummer Barnard 296. Aussehen und Position können der Auffindkarte entnommen werden. Einige Dunkelwolken schien Barnard jedoch übersehen zu haben.[4] Bei dem hellen Stern 7 Sagittarii (5.3 mag) westlich des Lagunennebels handelt es sich um einen F3-Stern der Hauptreihe. Er liegt mit nur 240 Lichtjahren Entfernung weit im Vordergrund und steht in keiner Beziehung zum Nebel. [91]

Offener Sternhaufen NGC 6530

Messier 8 + NGC 6530
Messier 8 + NGC 6530: Lagunennebel M 8 mit Sternhaufen NGC 6530; 4.5" Vixen ED115 Reducer f:5.2, Canon EOS 20Da; 6x302s, 1600ISO; Obwalden; © 2006 Eduard von Bergen

Der östliche Teil vom galaktischen Nebel Messier 8 enthält als prominenteste Besonderheit den lockeren offenen Sternhaufen NGC 6530. Er misst etwa 14 Bogenminuten im Durchmesser. Die hellsten Mitglieder sind Unterriesen des Typs B0 IV. Mittels des Lowell 42"-Reflektors konnte C. O. Lampland im Jahre 1919 18 irregulär variable Sterne im Haufen und dem umliegenden Nebelgebiet identifizieren. Dabei scheint es sich um Flare-Sterne und solche des T-Tauri-Typs zu handeln, welche noch Babies sind und sich noch nicht zum stabilen Hauptreihenstadium entwickelt haben. Ein von NGC 6530 erstelltes H-R-Diagramm zeigt einen typisch jungen Haufen, der sich nur vom Spektraltyp O5 bis etwa A0 erstreckt. Die meisten schwachen Sterne liegen dabei etwa vier bis fünf Magnituden über der Normalposition. Sie befinden sich immer noch im Prozess der gravitationellen Kontraktion und erzeugen möglicherweise noch keine Thermonukleare Energie — interstellare Feten sozusagen. Das H-R-Diagramm von M 8 ähnelt dem von NGC 2264 im Sternbild Monoceros. Beide zählen zu den jüngsten bekannten Sternhaufen. Das Alter wird auf wenige Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Da die Spektren nur eine geringe Rötung zeigen, lässt vermuten, dass sich der Sternhaufen vor dem Lagunennebel befindet. NGC 6530 entfernt sich mit einer Radialgeschwindigkeit von etwa 9 km/s. [4]

— 1999, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 6523Nb18 03.8-24 23Sgr90.5.8!!! vB, eL, eiF, with L Cl; = M8
NGC 6530OC18 04.8-24 20Sgr15.4.6Cl, B, L, pRi, f M8

Auffindtipp für den Lagunennebel

Der diffuse Nebel M 8 liegt über dem Ausguss des Teapots, etwa auf der selben RA-Koordinate wie Al Nasl (γ Sagittarii) und etwa ein Grad nördlicher als Kaus Borealis (λ Sagittarii). Eine andere Methode ist die Sterne Kaus Borealis (λ Sagittarii)ρ Ophiuchi zu verbinden und den mittleren Telrad-Kreis etwa auf den ersten Drittel zu positionieren. In einer klaren, dunklen Nacht kann M 8 bereits von blossem Auge gesichtet werden. Der Stern 9 Sagitarii ist 5.4 mag hell und 9 Sagitarii hat 5.9 mag. Somit gestaltet sich das Auffinden recht einfach. Da der Nebel recht grossflächig ist, wird am besten ein Okular mit der geringsten Vergrösserung gewählt. In leicht dunstigen Nächten steigert ein O-III Filter den Kontrast. M 8 in den Monaten Juni bis August am besten zu beobachten.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Beobachtung

Der Lagunennebel ist bereits von Auge sichtbar, tritt deutlich in einem Feldstecher in Erscheinung und offenbart sich voll in einem Teleskop. In kleineren und mittelgrossen Teleskopen hilft ein Nebelfilter UHC oder OIII den Kontrast zu verstärken. Es werden Formen sowie Hell- und Dunkelgebiete deutlich sichtbar. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 26mm, 62x, 1.33° / OIII-Filter, Eduard von Bergen

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.