Messier 77, Cetus A + NGC 1055

Messier 77
Messier 77: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope [215]

History

The galaxy M 77 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on October 29, 1780. Charles Messier verified the observation on December 17, 1780 and wrote: «A cluster of small stars with nebulae, in the whale on the parallels of the star δ [Ceti], third magnitude, which M. Messier estimated only to be fifth. M. Méchain saw the cluster on October 29, 1780 in the form of a mist.» [281] Wilhelm Herschel also saw a «poorly defined star surrounded by nebula» in his 7 feet focal length telescope in 1783. In his large 10 feet telescope he saw «a kind of greatly enlarged star cluster with a few bright stars in the middle». Only Lord Rosse recognized the spiral nature of this galaxy in 1850. [217] Halton Arp included the galaxy M 77 in his «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies» published in 1966 as Arp 37, since he suspected small companion galaxies in the bright nodes. A few smaller, much more distant galaxies can also be seen at the edge of M 77. [199]

Physical Properties

Messier 77
Messier 77: Image taken with the VLT of ESO in Chile [284]

At a distance of about 44 million light years, M 77 is the closest and brightest Seyfert galaxy, a group of galaxies with a very active core, lots of hot, ionized, brightly shining gas and a high rate of star formation. In the core there is a supermassive black hole of about 15 million solar masses, which is also a strong source of X-rays and radio radiation. Hence the name «Cetus A». [215]

Only half a degree away is the galaxy NGC 1055, which we can see directly from the side. This was discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on December 18, 1783. The distance is estimated to be about 45 to 50 million light years and the diameter to about 115'000 light years. It belongs to the same group as M 77. It could also be a starburst galaxy similar to M 82. [196]

The small, faint galaxy NGC 1072 is much further away with 114 Mpc (approx. 372 million light years) and does not belong to the group. The best observation time is September to December.

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 105502 41 44.7+00 26 32SB7.6 x 3.011.4995105
NGC 1068, M 7702 42 40.1-00 00 48S7.3 x 6.39.7113570
NGC 1072, IC 183702 43 30.9+00 18 30SBR1.5 x .514.2802111

Finder Chart

The galaxy group is located in the constellation Cetus (Whale), less than 1 ° from δ Ceti.

Chart M 77
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
284The edge-on galaxy NGC 1055; eso.org/public/unitedkingdom/images/eso1707a (2021-02-26)

Messier 77, Cetus A + NGC 1055

Messier 77
Messier 77: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]

Geschichte

Die Galaxie M 77 wurde Am 29. Oktober 1780 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Charles Messier verifizierte die Beobachtung am 17. Dezember 1780 und schrieb dazu: «Haufen kleiner Sterne mit Nebel, im Walfisch auf der Parallelen vom Stern δ [Ceti], dritter Grösse, die M. Messier nur auf fünfte schätzte. M. Méchain sah den Haufen am 29. Oktober 1780 in Form eines Nebels.» [281] Auch Wilhelm Herschel sah 1783 in seinem 7-Fuss Teleskop einen «schlecht definierten Stern, umgeben von Nebel». In seinem grossen 10-Fuss Teleskop sah er «eine Art stark vergrösserten Sternhaufen mit einigen hellen Sternen in der Mitte». Erst Lord Rosse erkannte 1850 die Spiralnatur dieser Galaxie. [217] Halton Arp nahm die Galaxie M 77 in seinen 1966 erschienenen «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies» als Arp 37 auf, da er in den hellen Knoten kleine Begleitgalaxien vermutete. Auch sind einige kleinere, viel weiter entferntere Galaxien am Rande von M 77 zu erkennen. [199]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Messier 77
Messier 77: Aufnahme mit dem VLT der ESO in Chile [284]

M 77 ist mit einer Entfernung von etwa 44 Millionen Lichtjahren die am nächsten gelegene und hellste Seyfert-Galaxie, einer Gruppe von Galaxien mit sehr aktivem Kern, viel heissem, ionisiertem, hell leuchtendem Gas und einer hoher Sternentstehungsrate. Im Kern befindet sich ein supermassives Schwarzes Loch von etwa 15 Millionen Sonnemassen, welches auch eine Starke Quelle von Röntgen und Radiostrahlung ist. Daher auch der Name «Cetus A». [215]

Nur ein halbes Grad entfernt befindet sich die Galaxie NGC 1055, welche wir direkt von der Seite sehen. Diese wurde am 18. Dezember 1783 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Die Entfernung wird auf etwa 45 bis 50 Millionen Lichtjahre und der Durchmesser auf etwa 115'000 Lichtjahre geschätzt. Sie gehört zur selben Gruppe wie M 77 Es könnte sich hier auch um eine Starburst-Galaxie ähnlich wie M 82 handeln. [196]

Die kleine, lichtschwache Galaxie NGC 1072 befindet sich mit 114 Mpc (ca. 372 Millionen Lichtjahre) viel weiter weg und gehört nicht zu der Gruppe. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Dezember.

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 105502 41 44.7+00 26 32SB7.6 x 3.011.4995105
NGC 1068, M 7702 42 40.1-00 00 48S7.3 x 6.39.7113570
NGC 1072, IC 183702 43 30.9+00 18 30SBR1.5 x .514.2802111

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxiengruppe befindet sich im Sternbild Cetus (Walfisch), weniger als 1° von δ Ceti entfernt.

Karte M 77
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
284The edge-on galaxy NGC 1055; eso.org/public/unitedkingdom/images/eso1707a (2021-02-26)