Open Cluster Messier 50

Messier 50
Messier 50: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

History

The star cluster was discovered in 1709 by the Italian astronomer Giovanni Cassini. When Charles Messier observed Comet Biela on April 5, 1772, he encountered the star cluster again. In order to avoid confusing such nebulous stars with comets in the future, he added it as the 50th object on his list. The German astronomer Johann Bode found the star cluster again on February 12, 1774 when he was looking for Cassini's observation.

Physical Properties

M 50 is of the Trumpler type II3m and about 10 minutes of arc in diameter. A few further outlying stars reach up to 20x15 arc minutes. About 200 stars belong to the cluster. Robert Burnham Jr. describes «curving arcs of stars make a heart-shaped outline, nicely highlighted by a single reddish star about 7' south of the center of the cluster». Distance measurements give a distance of 881 pc to 902 pc (2873 to 2942 light years). The true diameter of the cluster is therefore about 9 light years. [4, 145, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 2323
TypeOCL (II3m)
Right Ascension07h 02m 47.8s
Declination-08° 22' 33"
Diameter15.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude5.9 mag
Dreyer Description! Cl, vL, Ri, pC, E, st 12…16
IdentificationM 50, OCL 559

Finder Chart

M 50 lies in the constellation Monoceros (unicorn). It is located approximately on the first third of the line Sirius (α Canis Majoris) - Procyon (α Canis Minoris), or approximately in the middle of Sirius (α Canis Majoris) - δ Monocerotis. The best time for observation is November to March.

Chart Messier 50
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Offener Sternhaufen Messier 50

Messier 50
Messier 50: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Geschichte

Der Sternhaufen wurde 1709 vom italienischen Astronomen Giovanni Cassini entdeckt. Als Charles Messier am 5. April 1772 den Kometen Biela beobachtete, stieß er erneut auf den Sternhaufen. Um künftige Verwechslungen solcher nebelhafter Sterne mit Kometen zu vermeiden, nahm er ihn als 50. Objekt in seiner Liste auf. Der deutsche Astronom Johann Bode fand den Sternhaufen erneut am 12. Februar 1774 als er auf der Suche nach Cassinis Beobachtung war.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 50 ist vom Trumpler-Typ II3m und etwa 10' Bogenminuten im Durchmesser. Ein paar weiter außen liegende Sterne reichen bis 20' x 15'. Etwa 200 Sterne gehören zum Haufen. Robert Burnham Jr. beschreibt «geschwungene Bögen von Sternen ergeben einen herzförmigen Umriss, nett hervorgehoben durch einen einzelnen rötlichen Stern etwa 7' südlich des Zentrums des Haufens». Entfernungsmessungen ergeben eine Distanz von 881 pc bis 902 pc (2873 bis 2942 Lichtjahre). Der wahre Durchmesser des Haufens beträgt demnach etwa 9 Lichtjahre. [4, 145, 196]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 2323
TypOCL (II3m)
Rektaszension07h 02m 47.8s
Deklination-08° 22' 33"
Durchmesser15 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit5.9 mag
Metrische Entfernung0.881 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung! Cl, vL, Ri, pC, E, st 12…16
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 50, OCL 559

Auffindkarte

M 50 liegt im Sternbild Monoceros (Einhorn). Er befindet sich etwa auf dem ersten Drittel der Linie Sirius (α Canis Majoris)Procyon (α Canis Minoris), bzw. etwa in der Mitte von Sirius (α Canis Majoris)δ Monocerotis. Die beste Zeit für die Beobachtung sind die Monate November bis März.

Monoceros: Messier 50
Karte Messier 50
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)