Messier 24, Small Sagittarius Star Cloud

Messier 24
Messier 24: Small Sagittarius Star Cloud M 24 and Open Cluster NGC 6603 (left from the middle). Crop from DSS2 Color [147]

History

On June 20, 1764, Charles Messier recorded this bright spot on the Milky Way as the 24th object in his list. He described the 1.5° large spot as follows: «Cluster on the parallel line of the preceding [M 23] and near the end of the Sagittarius arc in the Milky Way: A large nebula in which there are many stars of different magnitudes: The light that is in this pile spreads is divided into several areas.»

NGC 6603
NGC 6603: Section of the DSS [160]

For a long time it was unclear which object Charles Messier meant by M 24. Some identified it with the large star cloud, others with the small star cluster NGC 6603, which is located in the northern part of it. However, it seems certain that the tiny star cluster is too faint to have been discovered with Messier's humble telescope. Also, his description doesn't fit at all. The star cluster NGC 6003 was discovered on July 15, 1830 by John Herschel

Edward Barnard encountered this cloud of stars again in 1905 while searching for dark nebulae, but made a mistake in the position (in epoch 1855: RA 18h 08m statt 18h 18m). Dreyer took over these incorrect coordinates and since he had not originally included Messier's number 24 in his first version of his «New General Catalogue», which appeared in 1888, there was no duplicate entry and so he later added it to the second version of his «Index Catalogue», which was later published added as IC 4715. The description «very large cloud of stars and nebulae» also fits M 24. [4, 196, 217]

Physical Properties

M 24 is not a real deep-sky object, but a large star cloud in an arm of the Milky Way, which spreads over a distance of thousands of light years and is perceived through a random gap of interstellar dust. It is comparable to NGC 206 in our neighboring Andromeda Galaxy (M 31). Today M 24 is mostly called the «Small Sagittarius cloud». The "Big Sagittarius Cloud" is about ten degrees further south in the direction of the center of the Milky Way.

Barnard 92/93
Barnard 92/93: Dark clouds within M 24. Section from DSS2 [147]

In the northern part of M 24 there are two prominent dark clouds: Barnard 92 and Barnard 93. Barnard 92 is the larger dark cloud with an extension of about 15 'in north / south direction and 10' in east / west direction. A single star with 11 mag (HD 312872) stands lonely and lost in the black void. E. E. Barnard described B 93 in his catalog published in 1919 as "meteoric". Originally it was assumed that these dark spots were empty holes or tunnels in the middle of star masses. The true nature of clouds of non-luminous dust, which blocks the light from stars behind, was not recognized until later. [4, 239] At the southern end of the B 93 is the small, open star cluster Collinder 469.

Name  : M 24: Small Sagittarius Star Cloud
R.A.  : 18h 16m 30s
Dec.  : -18° 50' 00"
Mag.  : 4.6 mag
Dim.  : 95' x 35'
«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 6603 18 18 24.0-18 24 24OCL (I1r)11.14.00!, Cl, vRi, vmC, R, st 15 (M Way)OCL 36, ESO 590-SC17, in M 24
IC 4715 18 18 48.0-18 33 00OCL (*Cloud)eeL cloud of st and nebM 24, ESO 591-**1, Sagittarius Star Cloud

Further infos at CDS: Messier 24, IC 4715, NGC 6603, Barnard 92, Barnard 93, Collinder 469

Finder Chart

Messier 24 is located in the constellation Sagittarius. It can best be seen in the months of June to August. Then the constellation is highest above the southern horizon.

Chart Messier 24
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
239«On the dark markings of the sky, with a catalogue of 182 such objects» Barnard, E. E.; Astrophysical Journal, 49, 1-24 (1919); DOI:10.1086/142439; Bibcode:1919ApJ....49....1B
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Messier 24, Kleine Sagittarius-Wolke

Objektbeschreibung

M 24
Sternwolke M 24 und Sternhaufen NGC 6603 (links von der Bildmitte). Ausschnitt aus dem DSS2 Color [147]

Am 20. Juni 1764 verzeichnete Charles Messier diesen hellen Fleck Milchstrasse als 24. Objekt in seiner Liste. Er beschrieb den 1.5° grossen Fleck wie folgt: «Haufen auf der Parallele des vorangehenden [M 23] und nahe dem Endes des Bogen des Schützen in der Milchstrasse: Ein grosser Nebelfleck in welchem viele Sterne unterschiedlicher Magnituden sind: Das Licht, welches sich in diesem Haufen ausbreitet, ist in mehrere Bereiche unterteilt.»

NGC 6603
NGC 6603: 15' x 15' Ausschnitt aus dem DSS [160]

Lange Zeit war unklar, welches Objekt genau Charles Messier mit M 24 meinte. Einige identifizierten es mit der grossen Sternenwolke, andere mit dem kleinen Sternhaufen NGC 6603, welcher sich im nördlichen Teil davon befindet. Es scheint jedoch sicher, dass der kleine Sternhaufen zu schwach ist, um mit Messiers bescheidenem Teleskop entdeckt worden zu sein. Auch passt seine Beschreibung überhaupt nicht dazu. Entdeckt wurde der Sternhaufen NGC 6003 erst am 15. Juli 1830 von John Herschel

Bei M 24 handelt es sich nicht um ein echtes Deep-Sky Objekt, sondern um eine grosse Sternenwolke in einem Arm der Milchstrasse, welche sich über eine Distanz von tausenden von Lichtjahren ausbreitet und durch eine zufällige Lücke von interstellarem Staub wahrgenommen wird. Sie ist vergleichbar mit NGC 206 in unserer benachbarten Andromeda-Galaxie. Heute wird M 24 meist «kleine Sagittarius-Wolke» genannt. Die «Grosse Sagittarius-Wolke» befindet sich rund zehn Grad weiter Südlich in Richtung Zentrum der Milchstrasse.

Edward Barnard stiess 1905 bei seiner Suche nach Dunkelnebeln erneut auf diese Sternenwolke, verschrieb sich aber in der Position (in Epoche 1855: RA 18h 08m statt 18h 18m). Dreyer übernahm diese falschen Koordinaten und da er Messiers Nummer 24 ursprünglich nicht in seine ersten Fassung seines 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue» aufgenommen hatte, gab es keinen doppelten Eintrag und so fügte er diesen später in seiner zweiten Fassung seines später erschienenen «Index Catalogue» als IC 4715 hinzu. Auch die Beschreibung "sehr grosse Wolke von Sternen und Nebeln" passt auf M 24. [4, 196, 217]

M 24
Dunkelwolken Barnard 92 und 93 innerhalb von M 24. Aussschnit aus DSS2 [147]

In nördlichen Teil von M 24 liegen zwei prominente Dunkelwolken: Barnard 92 und Barnard 93. Barnard 92 ist die grössere Dunkelwolke mit einer Ausdehnung von etwa 15' in Nord/Süd-Richtung und 10' in Ost/West-Richtung. Ein einzelner Stern mit 11 Mag (HD 312872) steht einsam und verloren in der schwarzen Leere. B 93 beschrieb E. E. Barnard in seinem 1919 erschienenen Katalog als «kometenhaft». Ursprünglich nahm man an, dass diese dunklen Stellen leere Löcher oder Tunnel inmitten von Sternmassen seien. Die wahre Natur von Wolken aus nicht-leuchtendem Staub, welcher das Licht dahinter liegender Sterne abblockt, wurde erst später erkannt. [4, 239] Am südlichen Ende von B 93 liegt der kleine, offene Sternhaufen Collinder 469.

— 2021, Bernd Nies

Name  : M 24: Small Sagittarius Star Cloud
R.A.  : 18h 16m 30s
Dec.  : -18° 50' 00"
Mag.  : 4.6 mag
Dim.  : 95' x 35'
«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 6603OC18 18.4-18 25Sgr5.11.!, Cl, vRi, vmC, R, st 15 (Milky Way)
IC 4715C+N18 26.2-18 26Sgr30.eeL cloud of st and neb

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Barnard 92, Barnard 93, Collinder 469, IC 4715, Messier 24, NGC 6603

Auffindkarte

Karte
Karte mit Hilfe von SkySafari 6 Proerstellt. [149]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.