Globular Cluster Messier 2

Messier 2
Messier 2: Globular cluster in Aquarius; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (f=2500 mm / f10), SBIG ST-8300; 20L x 600 sec 1×1, 8R, 13G, 14B 2×2 x 600 secs; Bernese Highlands; © 2016 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

History

The beautiful, bright globular star cluster Messier 2 was first sighted by G. Maraldi in 1746 when he was looking for Comet Chéseaux. At the time, the appearance of the fleeting tail stars was more popular than it is today. Any nebulous items found during their search and pursuit were entered in the star map simply to avoid confusion with comets. In 1760 Charles Messier came across this globular cluster again and added it to his list as the second comet-like object.

Physical Properties

Messier 2
Messier 2: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [222]

Visually, M 2 appears as a spherical star cluster with an angular diameter of about 7 arcminutes - but stars up to a diameter of 11 arcminutes can still be seen in photographs. The total integrated brightness is about 6.4 mag, the brightest stars reach about 13.1 mag, which is about three magnitudes above that of the horizontal branch in the HR diagram.

At a distance of around 50'000 light years, the globular cluster is a good bit further away than M 13 in the constellation Hercules or M 5 in Serpentis Caput. The current diameter is given as about 150 light years. With around 100'000 members, it is one of the richer globular clusters. With a Shapley/Sawyer concentration class of 2, M 2 is one of the more compact star clusters. It is particularly impressive due to its location in a region of the sky that is relatively poor in stars. The brightest stars are yellow and red giants with an absolute magnitude of -3 mag. The total absolute brightness of M 2 is -10 mag. The integrated spectral class of the cluster is F0. The radial speed is very low at around 3 km/s. [4]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 7089
TypeGCL (II)
Right Ascension21h 33m 27.2s
Declination-00° 49' 22"
Diameter16.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude6.6 mag
Dreyer Description!!, globular, B, vL, gpmbM, rrr, st eS
IdentificationM 2, GCL 121

Finder Chart

The globular cluster Messier 2 is located in the constellation Aquarius, roughly five degrees north of the 2.9 mag bright star Sadalsuud (β Aquarii) about the same declination as the two stars Sadalmelik (α Aquarii, 3.0 mag) and Sadachbia (γ Aquarii, 3.8 like). As with almost all retrieval procedures, the choice of a large field eyepiece with the highest possible field of view (more than one degree) is recommended. In the months of August to October, M 2 is highest in the sky at night.

Chart Messier 2
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
222The largest of its kind; esahubble.org/images/potw1913a (2021-01-10)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 2

Messier 2
Messier 2: Kugelsternhaufen in Aquarius; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (f=2500 mm / f10), SBIG ST-8300; 20L x 600 sec 1×1, 8R, 13G, 14B 2×2 x 600 secs; Berner Oberland; © 2016 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

Geschichte

Der schöne, helle Kugelsternhaufen Messier 2 wurde erstmals von G. Maraldi im Jahre 1746 gesichtet, als dieser gerade den Kometen Chéseaux suchte. Zu der damaligen Zeit war das Erscheinen der flüchtigen Schweifsterne populärer als heute. Was dann bei ihrer Suche und Verfolgung an nebelhaftem gefunden wurde, trug man lediglich aus Gründen der Gefahr einer Verwechslung mit Kometen in die Sternkarte ein. Im Jahre 1760 stieß Charles Messier nochmals auf diesen Kugelsternhaufen und nahm ihn als zweites kometenhaftes Objekt in seine Liste auf.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Messier 2
Messier 2: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [222]

Visuell erscheint M 2 als ein kugelförmiger Sternhaufen von etwa 7' Winkeldurchmesser — auf Fotografien sind aber noch Sterne bis zu einem Durchmesser von 11' zu erkennen. Die gesamte integrierte Helligkeit beträgt etwa 6.4 mag, die hellsten Sterne erreichen etwa 13.1 mag, was etwa drei Magnituden über die des horizontalen Zweiges im HR-Diagramm ist.

Mit einer Entfernung von rund 50'000 Lichtjahren liegt der Kugelsternhaufen ein gutes Stück weiter weg als M 13 im Sternbild Herkules oder M 5 in Serpentis Caput. Der gegenwärtige Durchmesser wird mit etwa 150 Lichtjahren angegeben. Es handelt sich hier mit rund 100'000 Mitgliedern um einen der reicheren Kugelsternhaufen. Mit einer Shapley/Sawyer-Konzentrationsklasse von 2 gehört M 2 zu den kompakteren Sternhaufen. Er ist durch seine Lage in einer relativ sternarmen Himmelsregion besonders eindrücklich. Die hellsten Sterne sind gelbe und rote Riesen mit einer absoluten Helligkeit von -3 mag. Die totale absolute Helligkeit von M 2 liegt bei -10 mag. Die integrierte Spektralklasse des Haufens ist F0. Die Radialgeschwindigkeit ist mit etwa 3 km/s sehr gering. [4]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 7089
TypGCL (II)
Rektaszension21h 33m 27.2s
Deklination-00° 49' 22"
Durchmesser16 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit6.6 mag
Metrische Entfernung11.500 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung!!, globular, B, vL, gpmbM, rrr, st eS
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 2, GCL 121

Wo ist das Messier-Globuli im Wassermann?

Der Kugelsternhaufen Messier 2 befindet sich im Sternbild Wassermann (Aquarius), grob fünf Grad nördlich vom 2.9 mag hellen Stern SadalsuudAquarii) etwa auf gleicher Deklinationshöhe wie die beiden Sterne SadalmelikAquarii, 3.0 mag) und SadachbiaAquarii, 3.8 mag) . Wie bei fast allen Auffindprozeduren ist die Wahl eines Großfeldokular mit möglichst hohem Blickfeld (mehr als ein Grad) empfehlenswert. In den Monaten August bis Oktober steht M 2 nachts am höchsten am Himmel.

Aquarius: Messier 2
Karte Messier 2
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
222The largest of its kind; esahubble.org/images/potw1913a (2021-01-10)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)